Traditional Croatian Carnival Masks From Zamet

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year

Traditional Croatian Carnival Masks From Zamet

_DAP9470.jpg It's OK sometimes to upload one of the last shots as the 1st - it shows bell-carriers performing "zvončarsko kolo" which they usually perform on the end of the walkabout or, in this case - gathering parade.

I know it's a bit late but I promised myself to finish publishing the posts with the bell-carriers firstly & than I'll start posting some new photos... So, I hope you may enjoy the posts nevertheless.

_DAP9414.jpg "Zametski zvončari" are one of the biggest bell-carrier groups from Croatia.

_DAP9415.jpg

_DAP9454.jpg
The group flag-carrier has a very important role to play too!

_DAP9428.jpg
I really like to capture the face-expressions of these guys while they are in their carnival mood.

_DAP9441.jpg

_DAP9471.jpg
& they are very serious in performing their carnival duties!

_DAP9465.jpg
The most intensive emotional face expressions come out during "zvončarsko kolo". What you can also see in the next few shots below...

_DAP9466.jpg

_DAP9469.jpg
These guys are also extra passionate about their carnival activities!

_DAP9460.jpg

_DAP9468.jpg

_DAP9467.jpg

_DAP9473.jpg
Finishing "zvončarsko kolo" is a good moment to rest a bit before moving further on to the parade or the walkabout.

_DAP9420.jpg
Some members of this groups are specialized in blowing the horn & they do it randomly when they sense the right moment.

_DAP9455.jpg
Some wool & horns for the ending of this post.

Zamet is part of Rijeka today but in the past these two were separated places. Rijeka was always a town & Zamet was more a village. Today they are fully merged together so this group of bell-carriers are more urban but still wearing archaic traditional uniform & holding on to the carnival customs.


All the upper shots I made with Nikon D800 & Sigma 105 mm 1:2.8 DG Macro HSM lens & for the self-portrait below I used the same camera but different lens - Nikon AF Nikkor 35-70 mm.




In the next few days I will be publishing photos from other bell-carrier groups cause all of them have a different uniform which is really interesting to see.




In this article, which I published 5 years ago, I explained in details the Croatian Carnival traditions & my personal engagement in it: https://steemit.com/culturevulture/@careassaktart/carnival-festival-in-croatia


In the next few video which I've recorded, edited & published, you can see few traditional bell-carriers activities during the carnival time:

Bell-Carriers from Zvoneće coming to Mučići

Bell-Carriers from Viškovo coming to Bane

Bell-Carriers from & in Žejane opening the carnival time






Here I also can propose you to use some of the tools which can bring you some passive income or just save you some money - my referral links are aside below too:

Save money with #myworld #Cachback app: https://cbw.to/5qwe9f

There are also very special bank cards for trading many different goods working worldwide & also with crypto currencies:

#Revolut: https://revolut.com/referral/nikica7s3!DEC1AR

#Binance: https://accounts.binance.me/en/register?ref=13081977

#Wise: https://wise.com/invite/ath/nikicak7

Crypto service / exchange / wallet - #Uphold: https://wallet.uphold.com/signup?referral=a2497f43db

The best mobile app for Hive users for me is #Ecency & here is my referral:
https://esteem.app/signup?referral=careassaktart




Show what you got!

Take #Artwid! 😎

Instagram
Facebook
YouTube

Feel free to contact me via WA, Telegram or Signal - my number is +385 92 372 0382.

Let's not forget Discord, where my nickname is "CareAss"

_DAP9152.jpg


If you like my work, you could support me by upvoting, reblogging, commenting, following...


Big thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60944.89
ETH 2608.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67