Traditional Croatian Carnival Masks From Frlanija

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year

Traditional Croatian Carnival Masks From Frlanija

Frlanija is a specific micro location between 2 municipalities - Matulji & Kastav - on the hills. It's mostly small family houses, a rich area with long family roots. Čakavski is the dialect spoken there too. Frlanski zvončati or the Bell-carriers from Frlanija are pretty new group which was gathered just 20 years ago so they don't have long history tradition except the enthusiasm & will to maintain the carnival tradition of the area but also to enrich & create new tradition. One other specific of theirs is that the go on their walkabout through the villages & towns around their area on Saturday when no other group is going.

Here are some photos of theirs:

_DAP9748.jpg
Like almost every bell-carriers groups, Frlanski zvončari are also led by the ladies & children

_DAP9753.jpg
This is a young boy, a bell-carrier too - the future of this group

_DAP9762.jpg
This member was for me extra special cause he had the biggest "mačuga" or the symbolic weapon he held in his hand. Later on I asked if it's made of a gourd & I was right.

One of the main "moves" in the bell-carrier ringing dances is clash with bells & buts against each other, bounce off, continue to shake the belts with bells.

_DAP9775.jpg

_DAP9776.jpg

_DAP9779.jpg

_DAP9770.jpg

_DAP9784.jpg

_DAP9783.jpg

_DAP9788.jpg
The bamboo stick carrier was running around the bell-carriers while were in "kolo" & he got in front my camera exactly when pressed the shutter but still I like the shot!

This year, I think this group was celebrating their 20th anniversary of existence so they had the honor to close the gathering parade in Matulji. Of course, they needed to do something special or any kind of a trick or "bad" thing so they lit the torch & than I got the chance to make some extra photos with special smoke effects while they were doing *zvončarsko kolo".

_DAP9794.jpg

_DAP9792.jpg

_DAP9791.jpg

When kolo ended the smoke was still around so I got some more nice shots!

_DAP9798.jpg

_DAP9796.jpg

When kolo is finished, the bell-carriers rest & the captain gives them wine or brandy to keep them warmed up & full of energy.

_DAP9802.jpg

_DAP9799.jpg

_DAP9800.jpg

_DAP9804.jpg

_DAP9803.jpg
Some people of course know the bell-carriers & they are very happy to greet them

Another specific about the uniform of these bell-carriers are asparagus in their hats among the flowers - that is also a symbol of upcoming spring & asparagus season. Anyway, the main duty & purpose of these guys is to chase away the winter & invite the spring & awake the new life cycle...


All the upper shots I made with Nikon D800 & Sigma 105 mm 1:2.8 DG Macro HSM lens & for the self-portrait below I used the same camera but different lens - Nikon AF Nikkor 35-70 mm.




In the next few days I will be publishing photos from other bell-carrier groups cause all of them have a different uniform which is really interesting to see.




In this article, which I published 5 years ago, I explained in details the Croatian Carnival traditions & my personal engagement in it: https://steemit.com/culturevulture/@careassaktart/carnival-festival-in-croatia


In the next few video which I've recorded, edited & published, you can see few traditional bell-carriers activities during the carnival time:

Bell-Carriers from Zvoneće coming to Mučići

Bell-Carriers from Viškovo coming to Bane

Bell-Carriers from & in Žejane opening the carnival time






Here I also can propose you to use some of the tools which can bring you some passive income or just save you some money - my referral links are aside below too:

Save money with #myworld #Cachback app: https://cbw.to/5qwe9f

There are also very special bank cards for trading many different goods working worldwide & also with crypto currencies:

#Revolut: https://revolut.com/referral/nikica7s3!DEC1AR

#Binance: https://accounts.binance.me/en/register?ref=13081977

#Wise: https://wise.com/invite/ath/nikicak7

Crypto service / exchange / wallet - #Uphold: https://wallet.uphold.com/signup?referral=a2497f43db

The best mobile app for Hive users for me is #Ecency & here is my referral:
https://esteem.app/signup?referral=careassaktart




Show what you got!

Take #Artwid! 😎

Instagram
Facebook
YouTube

Feel free to contact me via WA, Telegram or Signal - my number is +385 92 372 0382.

Let's not forget Discord, where my nickname is "CareAss"

_DAP9152.jpg


If you like my work, you could support me by upvoting, reblogging, commenting, following...


Big thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Fun to the fullest, it's a small city, I love it when they integrate, the amazing costumes, thanks for sharing greetings

Nice comment, sweetheart! :) I'm glad you came by!

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64