Traditional Croatian Carnival Masks From Ćićarija

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year

Traditional Croatian Carnival Masks From Ćićarija

Again, due to the springtime in Croatia & my numerous activities in forest & garden, I haven't been able to post here on my blog but now I decided to come back here & to continue where I left off...

...I know it's been long time since the end of this year's carnival time in Croatia but still I have made some excellent photos of traditional Croatian carnival masks & activities & I believe they still deserve to be published here & shared with the community & the world!

_DAP9410.jpg
The specialty of these bell-carriers are the horns in which they really blow & produce the specific sound! I feel sorry I didn't record the sounds of these horns!

Ćićarija

Ćićarija is a mountain range laying beyond mountain Učka, to the North, just above my hometown Opatija, from Northern Istria towards Southern Slovenia. The highest peak is 1272 m high. There are only small villages on the mountain & less than 400 residents living in the Croatian part of Ćićarija. There are more residents living in the Slovenian part. Due to the small number of inhabitants, the nature of the mountain is very well preserved, as well as the cultural traditions.

_DAP9381.jpg
Ćićski zgončari are the bell-carrier group from the mountain Ćićarija made of the people from all the villages situated on the mountain.

_DAP9382.jpg
These bell-carriers are also followed by the children & women dressed in traditional clothes.

_DAP9396.jpg
Even thou tattoos are not really Croatian tradition, I like how the tradition is changed & evolving with the modern times & globalization so we can see here a member of a traditional bell-carrier group with a big tattoo on his hand.

_DAP9398.jpg
The best moment of shooting people is to catch their truly natural face expression.

_DAP9405.jpg
The full uniform

_DAP9409.jpg
After doing "zvončarsko kolo", these guys are blowing in the horns.


All the upper shots I made with Nikon D800 & Sigma 105 mm 1:2.8 DG Macro HSM lens & for the self-portrait below I used the same camera but different lens - Nikon AF Nikkor 35-70 mm.




In the next few days I will be publishing photos from other bell-carrier groups cause all of them have a different uniform which is really interesting to see.




In this article, which I published 5 years ago, I explained in details the Croatian Carnival traditions & my personal engagement in it: https://steemit.com/culturevulture/@careassaktart/carnival-festival-in-croatia


In the next few video which I've recorded, edited & published, you can see few traditional bell-carriers activities during the carnival time:

Bell-Carriers from Zvoneće coming to Mučići

Bell-Carriers from Viškovo coming to Bane

Bell-Carriers from & in Žejane opening the carnival time






Here I also can propose you to use some of the tools which can bring you some passive income or just save you some money - my referral links are aside below too:

Save money with #myworld #Cachback app: https://cbw.to/5qwe9f

There are also very special bank cards for trading many different goods working worldwide & also with crypto currencies:

#Revolut: https://revolut.com/referral/nikica7s3!DEC1AR

#Binance: https://accounts.binance.me/en/register?ref=13081977

#Wise: https://wise.com/invite/ath/nikicak7

Crypto service / exchange / wallet - #Uphold: https://wallet.uphold.com/signup?referral=a2497f43db

The best mobile app for Hive users for me is #Ecency & here is my referral:
https://esteem.app/signup?referral=careassaktart




Show what you got!

Take #Artwid! 😎

Instagram
Facebook
YouTube

Feel free to contact me via WA, Telegram or Signal - my number is +385 92 372 0382.

Let's not forget Discord, where my nickname is "CareAss"

_DAP9152.jpg


If you like my work, you could support me by upvoting, reblogging, commenting, following...


Big thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Heres a free vote on behalf of @se-witness.

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60944.89
ETH 2608.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67