Sort:  

Sorry, chronic reading and rain rot, LOL! I've been studying alternate energy since 1980, so I picked up a thing or two.

I'm going to use the Earth battery on my walipini to heat and cool it. They are circulating through that tube will hold about 59 degrees if it's deep enough. Locally 18 in is enough I intend to go down about 3 ft. Where you are it would have to go deeper, wheee that numberis for you I'm not sure exactly where you are. I know it would be below the frost line where you run your water lines, so I'd put it a foot deeper than your waterlines are normally buried.

They use earth batteries in Arizona on the earthships for air conditioning. So it works either way.

Stay safe and blessed.

:)>

 3 years ago 

YES! Same sort of thing as a heat pump. The idea is to get 60 F temps to the surface and that works great for cooling and is easy to heat to comfortable room temp in the winter.

Apparently, we need to go down 8 feet for this earth battery to work for us. My husband just said that he would go down 10 to 15 ft because when we get a bad winter the frost goes very deep.

This is exciting! I have given my husband so many new tasks since I met you! :-P

ROFLOL! I'm glad I'm loading him up, I wouldn't want him to get bored! 15 feet is deep, my backhoe won't reach down past 8. But it is free Heat, or cool; as you need it.

I hope you get your Greenhouse! When I get around a building line I'll send you some pictures with a cattle panel roof. It makes an inexpensive way to have a good structure for a roof.

Be safe and keep prepping!

♡♡♡♡

 3 years ago 

HAHA! My poor husband.
That well digging tool we have is perfect for getting down as far as we need to. Our little well experiment is already 15 feet deep. It only took him an hour total to get that far. He probably would have hit water by now, but he took the week off after he had a minor surgery. I should have him back up to speed by Saturday....muhaha!

I currently have a small greenhouse , but it is not heated. I will be posting some pics of that soon.

There is an herbal called comfrey that accelerates healing. If you can find it locally, it will help him heal up faster, so you can work him harder, LOL!

They also use it for a fertilizer 'tea' in organic farming by fermenting. Might be a good plant for you to add, but buy the Russian variant. It must be propogated by root cuttings, so it won't take over like the regular type can. It also makes a good breakfast tea that is good for the GI tract.

I look forward to your post on the greenhouse, always good to see how people build fun things, LOL!

:)>

 3 years ago 

Haha! Good idea!

I love it when a plan comes together! Now you need is a whip and a chair to keep him going....

♡♡♡

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58757.77
ETH 2554.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52