Hoar Frost #club100steemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year

The hoar frost is on everything. I mean everything. Instead of the dry powdery snow that we usually get, we have been treated to a spectacle of clingy ice crystals. They call it hoar frost because it resembles a hoary white beard that covers everything and anything. Don't stand too still or it will grow on you too.

20230115_132803.jpg

To get hoar frost, you need to have subzero temperatures and lots of water vapour in the air. As the water vapour comes in contact with cold surfaces, it forms ice crystals. The more water vapour there is, the bigger the ice crystals grow.

In general, people like it, because it is pretty.

20230115_132625.jpg

I like it because it means there is a lot of moisture in the air. I hope that it keeps coming so that we can have some relief from the drought.

This is a #steemexclusive POWER UP! post for #club100

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 last year 

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

It looks strange, untypical. The little tree will survive the frost...?

Es sieht fremd aus, untypisch. Das kleine Bäumchen wird den Frost überleben...?

This is a Russian meteorological weapon - Siberian frosts, which are advancing on North America through Alaska.
Jokes are jokes, but there are idiots who shout that Alaska is Russian land. But these morons don't know the history at all.

 last year 

Hah! Yes, the Russians sold Alaska to the United States in 1867 for $7.2 million dollars. If they hadn't Great Britain would probably have just taken it from them and now it would be a part of Canada.

What did the Tsar spend the money on? A new castle? :-P

The tsar practically gave Alaska away for nothing. Alaska was almost ungovernable from St. Petersburg at the time. So he made the right move. Otherwise, people would simply have told the tsar - we are leaving you. But in a more crude form.

 last year 

It wasn't nothing at the time. $7million was a lot of cash back then. And the Americans mocked the idea. They called it "Seward's folly" and thought it was a ridiculous waste of money. Seward was the (US Secretary of State). They also called it "President Johnson's polar bear garden".

In hindsight, it was a good deal for both parties. At least Russia got the money because it really is true that Great Britain would have annexed it for themselves. It is the only reason why the Americans were willing to pay what they did for it.

 last year 

Yes, the tree will survive. Something like this might happen every year and when it does happen, the temperature is much warmer than it can get. It is -6 Celsius today. Very pleasant compared to the typical -30 Celsius that we experience at this time of year.

 last year 

The first image looks like fire coral. Beautiful!

 last year 

The hoar frost makes everything beautiful.

 last year 

:o)

Brrr 👍

 last year (edited)

When suddenly such hoar frost appears on trees and on all objects, it seems as if Mother Nature Herself decided to grow these crystals. Although, it was Nature that grew this frost on trees. Or Grandpa Frost. At school, in chemistry lessons, I also grew such crystals on small twigs dipped in various salt solutions. It seemed like magic.

Are the elements of the scenery covered with hoar frost hanging from the roof? Or are these natural icicles?

hoar frost - иней (rus)

 last year 

Hee, those icicles are my Christmas lights. The husband does not take them down until it gets a little warmer.

Yes, that's what I thought. Let them shine, amuse.

What is the size of your plot? I see the chain-link net that you have fenced your plot with. It is also always beautifully covered with hoar frost. You should have taken more photos of this grid

 last year 

I have a little bit over 3 acres. The fenced area is smaller than that.

Hi? @brittilicious

By our standards - you have a lot of land
We measure the infield with "hundreds". It is 100 sq.m. I officially have 16 "hundreds". You get 121. How do you use this land?

1 acre = 4046.86 sq.m. = 40.46 hundreds

 last year 

My lot is smaller than most of the lots around me. The subdivision I live in is mainly divided into 5 acre parcels.

What do I do with it? Well my house is on it for one. :-P

The land itself is an old hay farm. I am refurbishing the land by planting trees and shrubs. I also have my vegetable garden and my greenhouse. I have a number of perennial flower beds.

I have lived here for 5 years now and have battled drought to keep my trees and shrubs alive, but I look forward to seeing what I will have managed to accomplish after another 10 years.

I'm happy for you!
But you don't breed animals?
Probably, the main part of your site is in a free state.

I have a friend, she bought a house 5 years ago with plots of one and a half hectares (3.7 acres). She planted a lot of hazel bushes, a lot of all kinds of trees. This year he is going to buy rams. She lived in Moscow, now she has gone to live in a village, about 500km from Moscow. But it works completely in remote mode.
My wife is afraid of animals. Does not allow to breed animals.

 last year 

I do not have any livestock. Actually, it is in the neighbourhood covenant NOT to have livestock. We do not consider our lots large enough to support livestock. For example, the local bylaw requires a minimum of 10 acres to keep a horse.

I would say that the majority of my land is "parkland".

Oh, I get it.

 last year 

I can grow anything that I feel like, however, and run a business here if I choose. If I decide to in the future, I can build a much larger greenhouse or expand my vegetable garden. I do not need to grow things commercially though. I grow enough for myself and some extra for others. More than that and I would not be able to keep it all under control. So for me, my main goal is rejuvenating the soil and restoring the ecosystem.
At least for now.

I bet you could get amazing results if you backlit these crystals! But I'm glad you're good and warm, but you didn't bring in the troll....

"I'm a troll" is one of Von's favorite songs to sing along with, ROFLOL!

👍💗😊😁🤠💙

 last year 

I am not going outside to backlight any crystals. :-P It is too cold out there. Maybe next time.

I guess it's hard to walk around outside dragging the cord hooked to the electric blanket you're wrapped in, ROFLOL

😂😋🤠👍💗

 last year 

HAH! Yes. I tried snowshoeing for a bit yesterday and came right back inside. It was sunny, but the wind is ferocious. Today it is -25C and I don't even want to think about going outside. Still bright and sunny though.

Here it's about -5°C, with more ice due tonight! I'm still at the hospital with her, tired of sleeping on the rock hard couch!

But she's making progress....

👍🤠😁💗

Where'd you go girl? Missed you here on steemit!

😭😳🥵💗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82