Heat, Hospital, and Humanity: Life on the Frontlines of Karachi's Intense Summers

in WORLD OF XPILAR7 days ago (edited)

camp 3.jpg

Karachi has been experiencing extreme heat for the past few years and also the winters have been incredibly real cold. You might think I'm stating the obvious, of course, it's hot in summer and cold in winter……but that's not the case. Each year, the temperature in summers keep breaking records, and the winters keep getting colder. The main reason for this is the lack of proper weather regulation and urban planning in Karachi. As a result, Karachiites have to face these extreme conditions every year.

Weather.jpg
weather.com

This year we experienced no different. In Karachi, the intense heat and humid climate has made it very much difficult for people to survive. Daily, hundreds of people are dying due to the heat.

From 7:00 AM, the heat starts and doesn't decrease until 7:00 PM. On the roads, only those in cars can somewhat manage to survive. For those on bikes or traveling by bus and public transport, life is becoming very difficult.

I also have to leave daily for university early in the morning, and believe me, it's damn hot that I don't even feel like going to the university anymore. As I mentioned, I am a medical student and am currently doing my rotations in the hospital. Nowadays, I am in the medicine ward, and most of the patients are suffering from dehydration and heat stroke. Many people come in with vomiting, diarrhea, and dizziness, often fainting from the heat. It's very challenging to take care of them because even breathing becomes difficult for us in this heat.

Hosopital 1.jpg


Our university hospital is a government facility, so we don't have many amenities. There is usually one fan for every three beds, which sometimes works and sometimes doesn't due to the frequent power shortages. The hygiene conditions are poor, and the patients' conditions are worse, but we still try our best to help them.

tire 1.jpgMe Sitting in the corner as I was about to pass outtire 2.jpg

It's so hot that every day, one of us doctors ends up fainting due to the heat. Despite this, we still have to serve others tirelessly, which is suffocating in the hospital. We have to report at 11:00 AM and get off at 3:00 PM. Working for four hours in an environment where you can barely breathe is something only we can understand.

Fans 1.jpg


Today was particularly challenging. I was attending to an elderly patient when she asked me, "Son, did you take a bath?" I replied, "Aunty, are you joking with me or asking seriously?" She was actually concerned because sweat was dripping from my hands, feet, face, and neck. The poor aunty felt so bad for me that she made some space on her bed and said, "Son, put down your bag and take a rest here for a while. We can start the treatment later.”

hos 2.webpSite 1.webp
site 2.webpsite 4.webp

Source


Normally, our shift ends at 3:00 PM, but I don't feel like going home in the blazing sun, so I stay in the air-conditioned library and fall asleep there. Believe me, it's such a restful sleep. People ask me how I manage to sleep sitting up, but I ask them how they manage to stay awake in this heat after working from morning to afternoon.

Heat 1.jpgheat 2.jpg

So, I nap in the library and rest until 5:00 PM. After waking up, I have some tea and a samosa to refresh myself. I wait for the heat and the sun to go down, and around 8 or 9 PM, I finally head home.

Sleep 1.jpgsleep 2.jpgWhen the Library is full

Anyway, the heat has taken a toll on everyone. The extreme heat has made life in Karachi challenging for everyone, but we continue to persevere. Our daily struggles highlight the need for better infrastructure and support to help us cope with these increasingly harsh weather conditions.

I am a part of many NGOs and non-profit organizations, and our current top priority is to improve the Civil Hospital. While patients do get some attention, those who accompany them from remote villages and towns cannot leave them behind and have to stay at the hospital. There aren't adequate facilities for them to stay, and they end up lying around the hospital in the heat and sun. It is heartbreaking to see them sprawled on the floor without any shade or comfort.

Our first priority is to install water coolers, provide shaded areas, and ensure free water for everyone in the hospital. There is a lot more we plan to do to improve the conditions.

camp 1.jpgcamp 2.jpg
camp 3.jpgcamp 4.jpg

Our university has already taken the first step by setting up a heat wave camp outside, where hundreds of people get free bottles of cold water every day. From 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM, anyone can get as much free water as they need from the heat wave camp. We are working hard to improve things, and I will keep you updated on our progress in my future posts. We are committed to making things better and providing relief for our people. Our resilience and dedication drive us to keep going despite the many difficulties, and together, we can make a difference.

If you got any good tips for staying cool or ideas for further improving conditions at the hospital, please do share them in the comments. Let's support each other and work towards a more comfortable and sustainable environment for everyone. Thank you for reading, and stay cool!

"Beat the heat with hydration—drink up, hydrate often, stay in the shade and safe!"


regards,
Dr @abdu.navi03

Sort:  

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

You've been doing excellent work. Keep on doing what you're amazing in; being yourself

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57606.89
ETH 3164.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28