Unforgettable Trip #35 | Nagadheepa Ancient Temple | Beautiful Sri LankasteemCreated with Sketch.

in Italy11 months ago

Hello Steemians!😎


I hope you are all doing well. You may remember that last week I brought details about a tourist destination with Buddhist archaeological value. I am going to bring details about a Buddhist tourist destination that I have visited this week. This station is also located in the northern province of Sri Lanka. That is "Nagadhipa Ancient Temple". Let's move to the story without further ado.

Nagadeepa is a small island located in the northern province of Sri Lanka. The island can be reached after a 20-minute boat ride. The history of Naga Deepa dates back to 2600 years ago. This island got its name because the Naga tribe lived there. Lord Buddha visited Sri Lanka 3 times. Went to Nagadeepa when he visited 2 times. Lord Buddha visited Nagadeepa 5 years after attaining Buddhahood.

According to the chronicles, the reason why the Buddha came to Nagadeepa was to stop a war between the relatives of "Chulodara" and "Mahodara" that started due to an ornament made of gems. Buddha came and preached the Dhamma to those dressed for war and after that it was settled.

Today, this small island is a place of worship for Buddhists. They often come there and engage in religious activities.

In 1505 Ceylon was invaded by the Portuguese and it is said that the old temple in this place was destroyed by them.

I visited there in 2018. Nagadeepa is one of the best places to visit in the northern province of Sri Lanka. Also, the island of Delphi is located nearby and can be reached in just an hour's boat ride. You can see my report about Delft island by going to this link.

Gallery Time

Photo Topic Nagadheepa Ancient Temple | Beautiful Sri Lanka
Devices Huawei Nova 3i
Location Jaffna, Sri Lanka
Date 25/08/2018
Google Map Link https://goo.gl/maps/XGxkU3tfuiKZ6kzv6

I implore everyone who reads my articles to make a trip to the tiny island of Sri Lanka. So, this concludes my brief tale. Please remember to vote the article up. I look forward to seeing you again with another travel tale. Until that Bella Ciao!!!

My Introduction Post

Thank You ✨
Kusal Kanchana

Sort:  

Hi @kusal,
my name is @ilnegro and I voted your post using steem-fanbase.com.

Come and visit Italy Community

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

This post has been upvoted by @italygame witness curation trail


If you like our work and want to support us, please consider to approve our witness




CLICK HERE 👇

Come and visit Italy Community



These places are wonderful and you made beautiful photos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63086.21
ETH 3455.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50