Steemit Engagement Challenge S11W2 - "My dream recipe"

in Steemit Iron Cheflast year

Hello Everyone !
I hope you are doing well...

Ever since I learned how to cook, I've dreamed of making this recipe. As someone with a sweet tooth and a fondness for making desserts, it has always intrigued me. My mom has tried this recipe, and it came out deliciously. However, despite my desire to try preparing it myself, I've never had the opportunity to do so.

✔️ What's that recipe you've always dreamed of cooking, but for some reason you haven't managed to prepare?

Going back to my school days, I remember our Srilankan Muslim friends bringing us "Watalappam" (Sri Lankan Jaggery Pudding) during the time of Ramazan. Their sweet treats always filled me with joy and left me eager to try making it myself. However, the perfect texture of the Jaggery Pudding seemed elusive, and I never got the chance to give it a shot.

image.png
source

Once my sister-in-law invited us for dinner. She had made a jaggery pudding for dessert. But her attempt of flipping the pudding didn't go as planned. She didn't want to serve it to us, but I gave it a try. Even though the shape of the pudding is ruined it had the right balance of sweetness and a blend of other flavors making it truly an amazing treat. It was her first attempt at making a jaggery pudding, I felt she had done a great job!

Let's see what the ingredients needed:

  • 500g Kithul Jaggery
  • 9 Eggs
  • 280 Ml of Coconut Milk (First extract)
  • 200 ml of water ( 1 glass of water)
  • Cardamon /Nutmeg / Cinnamon stick (aromatic spices which enhance the taste. Add a small amount of each )
  • Cashews (Optional)

Method of preparation:

Step 1 - Crush the jaggery into small pieces.

Step 2 - Add water to the crushed jaggery

Step 3 - Now add Cardamon / grated Nutmeg / Cinnamon stick (Remove the shell of the cardamons and add in)

Step 4 - Heat up the mixture on low flame and stir well until the jaggery melts and blend in with water. Let it cool completely.

Step 5 - Wisk 9 eggs and add the beaten eggs to the cooled jaggery mixture.

Step 6- Add coconut milk to the mixture, and mix well.

Step 7 - Strain the mixture to make sure there are no lumps.

Step 8 - Pour the mixture into a container and remove the foam on top before covering it with foil.

Step 9 - Steam for 40 to 45 mins, in medium flame.

Step 10 - Serve the Sri Lankan jaggery pudding garnishing it with cashews.

image.png
source

This is how wish to serve my "Watalappam"

✔️ Have you tried to prepare this recipe? (Tell us about your experience) If you haven't tried to prepare it, tell us your reasons.

No, I haven't tried it yet. But I eagerly await an opportunity to make it. Finding good quality Jaggery here in Colombo is a bit of a challenge. Everywhere I look, I find sugarcane jaggery which is very hard to crush. Once, my mom had a bad experience while making Jaggery pudding. The jaggery we bought had very tiny sand particles. After going through the whole process, we found out that it was not edible. We had to throw away all our ingredients, efforts, time, and money.

image.png
source

The right quality of jaggery can sometimes be found in village areas. When the jaggery melts in hand, it is said to be the right quality. It easily gets crushed, unlike sugar-based jaggery. When it's available, I bring it home, but then I face another challenge – when there are ingredients, there is no time. It's a problem that I often encounter at home. Consequently, I end up consuming all of it with tea or coconut roti.

So, because of these reasons, I have missed out on preparing my dream recipe.

✔️ Have you ever tried your dream recipe?

Yes, it's a dessert that is often available at Sri Lankan parties and weddings, but I prefer it homemade. The friend who brought it to us also made it at home. It had a delightful taste that I haven't experienced on any other occasion. The Jaggery pudding my mom and sister made was also delicious enough to satisfy my sweet tooth.

image.png
source

I think I should try making it myself, and I'm confident that I will do justice to my dream recipe!


I conclude my participation by inviting @yuceetoria @dasudi and @pepo84 to participate in this contest.

Sort:  

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

 last year 

Saludos y bendecido tu día querida amiga, gracias por regalarnos la receta, pudín es unos de mis favoritos me encanta, pero nunca he intentado hacerlo, trataré de intentarlo, te deseo muchísima suerte para el concurso, abrazos.

 last year 

Thank you so much! Yeah, now you can try too :)

Have a nice day...!

 last year 

Igualmente para ti.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61346.78
ETH 2637.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58