The first thing I learned to cook was "Chicken Curry"

in Steemit Iron Chef9 months ago (edited)

Assalamualaikum
(Peace Be Upon You)

20231223_004530_0000.jpg
Cover photo. Made on canva

Greetings, Everyone. I am taking part in this beautiful contest "The first thing I learned to cook". Thank you @mariami for organizing this amazing contest.


What was your first food, dish, recipe, dessert or why you learned to cook?


Honestly, I am not so expert in cooking. But due to circumstances, human beings can learn something that they never did before. It was the same as what happened to me.

It was the year of 2017. My mom went to the village for a few days. I was alone at home. I don't like to take my lunch at the restaurant. I suddenly wished to cook and I decided to cook chicken curry.

Chicken curry is one of my favorite recipes. I have never cooked chicken curry myself before. I watched my mom cook chicken curry and heard the process of cooking chicken from her.

The moments of cooking the chicken curry were enjoyable for me. I enjoyed those moments a lot. It was exciting for me to take up the first cooking challenge. I still remember that the chicken curry I made was not too bad. It was quite tasty.


It was empirical learning, you followed a recipe or you had a teacher who taught you so to speak


It can be called empirical learning, and it can also be said that this experience happened because of the situation.

Because the food outside is not that tasty or healthy, I thought it was better to cook it myself. Also, having experience in cooking will be fruitful for me. Then If I am ever alone later, I will not have to eat outside if I know how to cook.

My teacher is my mom. I learned from my mother how to use the ingredients in the chicken curry. If I forgot the recipe, I would call my mother and get the recipe from her. Even then, if I was stuck somewhere in cooking, I would watch recipe videos on YouTube.


Detail us how your experience was, did everything flow successfully or did you have any problems in the culinary process. Any anecdotes you want to highlight?


Experiencing something for the first time in life is a truly memorable moment. My first cooking moment was amazing and will remain an unforgettable moment in my life.

I was a bit anxious while cooking. I was thinking that my cooking might not be that good. It could also be inedible. But I was lucky that it didn't happen.

I had no problem with the culinary process. My mom's simple recipe guidance made my cooking easy. Although the chicken curry I made didn't taste like the chicken curry that made by my mom. She is an awesome chef. But as a first-time chef, it was fairly good enough cooking by me and it was tasty. I had rice with delicious chicken curry.


Did you feel satisfied with the results? Were your diners pleased? Do you continue preparing said dish? Have you improved in your preparation?


The result cooking for the first time in my life was satisfying for me. I really enjoyed the taste of the food.

After cooking chicken curry on that day, I have cooked that particular recipe a few times. There was some improvement in cooking. Since cooking was my hobby and I tried to cook in a normal way, there was no rush to make improvements. But I think I can cook better if I focus a little more and learn to use the spices.

“Cooking requires confident guesswork and improvisation—experimentation and substitution, dealing with failure and uncertainty in a creative way.”– Paul Theroux

I am sharing the recipe for Chicken curry with you.


Ingredients:


IngredientQuantity
Chicken2 Kg
Potato10 pieces.
Cumin paste2 teaspoon.
Garlic paste2 teaspoon.
Ginger paste3 teaspoon.
Turmeric powder1.5 teaspoon.
Dried chilli powder2 teaspoons.
Onion6-7 pieces.
Raw pepper paste8 pieces.
SaltQuantitatively.
Hot spice mixtureClove, Cinnamon and Cardamon paste
IMG_20231222_120957.jpgIMG_20231222_120202.jpg
Chicken MeatSpices
IMG_20231222_121900.jpgIMG_20231222_120230.jpg
PotatoesChopped Onions

At first, cut the chicken into pieces as per your requirement. Wash the pieces of meat several times with clean water and keep them in a bowl. Now prepare the potatoes, onions, garlic, and other spices. Especially ginger paste, garlic paste, chili powder, cumin paste, and hot spices paste can be kept together. These spices bring beautiful color and flavor to the chicken curry.


Cooking process


Step 1
IMG_20231222_121220.jpg
Put enough oil in a hot pan. Keep the medium flame on the stove. Drop the onions into the hot soya oil and stir the onions with a spoon. Fry the onion like this until it turns red.
IMG_20231222_121220.jpgIMG_20231222_121508.jpg

Step 2
IMG_20231222_121534.jpg
When the onion turns red, add all the spices. Mix the spices nicely with a spoon. Continue this process for 1-2 minutes. Keep medium heat on the stove. Then add a cup of water or a little more water to the spices. After adding the water, keep stirring the spices with a spoon.
IMG_20231222_121544.jpgIMG_20231222_121622.jpg

Step 3
IMG_20231222_121738.jpg
After mixing the spices for 1-2 minutes, leave the chicken pieces in the spices. Keep stirring the pieces of meat with a spoon so that the spices can mix with the meat. After one or two minutes later add some onions. Now keep the meat with spices for 10 minutes. Stir the meat occasionally with a spoon and add a little water.
IMG_20231222_121819.jpgIMG_20231222_121853.jpg

Step 4
IMG_20231222_122721.jpg
After 10 minutes add potatoes to the chicken curry. Now stir the potatoes and the chicken pieces with a spoon so that the potatoes are coated in the spices of the broth. Stir the whole curry nicely with a spoon for a few minutes. Add a little water after a while.
IMG_20231222_123001_1.jpg

Step 5
IMG_20231222_123301.jpg
After 5-6 minutes add water to the curry for the last time. Then stir the curry a few times with a spoon and cover it with a lid. Keep the curry on the stove for 20-25 minutes. Sometimes you can remove the lid and stir the curry. After 20-25 minutes the water will dry up a bit and the broth for the chicken curry will be thick and you will get a nice aroma from the curry. Now the chicken curry is ready to serve.
IMG_20231222_134444.jpgIMG_20231222_123245.jpg

Conclusion


Chicken curry is a traditional food item in our country. The chicken curry is popular among many of us. We eat chicken curry on special occasions, on picnics, or holidays And since the price of chicken is somewhat reasonable and people from all walks of life like to eat chicken curry. It was a pleasant experience for me to cook chicken curry.

Camera Device- Realme C53


I am inviting @kouba01, @ridwant & @pea07 to take part in the contest "The first thing I learned to cook".


Support @pennsif and @pennsif.witness for the growth of this platform. Vote for @pennsif.witness here https://steemlogin.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=pennsif.witness&approve=1]


Thank you for reading ❤️

Sort:  
Loading...
 9 months ago (edited)
Saludos estimado amigo, vaya, veo que tu primera experiencia cocinando fue con un platillo muy rico y tradicional en tu region, ademas obtuviste muy buenos resultados. En muchas ocasiones, cuando las cosas no se planifican salen mucho mejor, fijate que tu te viste en la necesidad de cocinar al quedarte solo por el corto viaje de tu mama y gracias en parte a tu aprendizaje empirico y recordar su receta, pudiste desarrollar el tu arte culinario en un delicioso pollo al curry con un proceso sin mayores inconvenientes y que te dejo muy complacido en su acabado, hasta el punto que aun hoy lo recuerdas.

Me parece por demas interesante que esta experiencia, te condujo a aventurarte sin temor alguno a improvisaciones en la cocina y aunado a ello, que hayas perfeccionado tu receta del pollo al curry como nos muestras en tu impecable paso a paso y exquisito resultado.

Muchas gracias por tu participación, has dado un valor agregado con tu tradicional y exquisita receta que engalana la dinamica y estoy segura que much@s, la anotaremos en nuestro repertorio, incluyendome. Éxitos y Bendiciones.

PD: Corrige por favor el link del concurso para tus invitados, pues les sugeriste otro diferente a la dinamica en cuestion. Por aca te lo facilito.

https://steemit.com/hive-180301/@mariami/esp-eng-concurso-contest-lo-primero-que-aprendi-a-cocinar-fue-the-first-thing-i-learned-to-cook-was

Saludos cordiales!

Thanks for reading my post and making your wonderful comment. It will encourage me a lot. Sorry, for the wrong contest link. I update the link. Thanks a lot for your comment. ❤️

TEAM 4

Congratulations! This post has been voted through steemcurator07. We support quality posts and comments!
Curated by : @enamul17


Greetings @sohanurrahman Your culinary journey especially your first attempt at cooking chicken curry, is truly heartwarming. The courage to take on the challenge and create a dish you enjoy is a fantastic learning experience. It's wonderful to hear that you found joy in the process and that the results were satisfying. Your dedication to improving and continuing to cook the dish showcases a passion for culinary exploration. Keep up the great work, and may your future cooking endeavors be just as delightful 🍲👩‍🍳✨

Thanks a lot for your comment.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

TEAM 4

Congratulations! This post has been voted through steemcurator07. We support quality posts and comments!
Curated by : @enamul17


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.20
ETH 2416.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43