My Recipe of a Cucurbitaceae stew (snake gourd)

in Steemit Iron Chef17 hours ago

IMG_20240801_134941.jpg

Hi great great chef, it's nice to meet all of you again and today I want to share a recipe with you. I want to share how I made a stew with a snake gourd tomato.

IMG_20240807_032715.jpg

What is snake gourd plant?

It is a vegetable crop plant that belongs to the pumpkin family it is called Cucurbitaceae. Due to its physical appearance of being long and curvy like a snake, it is called snake gourd.

Nutritional value

It is rich in Proteins , Fats, Fibre, Carbohydrates, potassium, vitamin C and E

A good source of antioxidants, it also helps to reduce blood level, good in controlling weight gain, etc. All this depends on how you use it. It is of different species, some are very short and is called bottle gourd plant, some and not too long or short and it is called ash gourd.

Today, I want to show you how I used it for my stew.

It can be eaten as vegetable It does stir fried or boiled but while making stew with it it has to be with the ripped one.

So I have this plans in my home garden, I harvested the ripe ones and set aside for my stew making.

First of all I washed it open the pud and remove the ripe paste in each of it.

IMG_20240807_014141.jpg
Washed

IMG_20240807_014116.jpg
Removing the ripe paste


Then I blended it using blender to a very smooth and consistent paste as you can see it looks really like tomato.

Please note I did not add any colour to this paste you are seeing in this picture it is 100% snake gourd paste.

IMG-20240801-WA0025.jpg
Blended it to a paste

IMG_20240801_092514.jpg
Strained the water out


Then using a sieve, I strained the excess water out from it then put it aside for my stew.


The next step was for me to prepare my ingredients for the stew and I mis en place ingredients for chicken so I can marinate and steam the chicken.

IMG_20240801_123612.jpg
Mis en place

Ingredients for steaming chicken

  • Chicken
  • Pepper
  • Onion
  • Tumeric & curry
  • Rosemary, tyme, bayleaf and clove (blended)
  • Seasonings

IMG_20240801_123945.jpg
Marinated chicken


After marinating my chicken my steamed it till done, then drained the stock and keep it aside for the stew.

IMG_20240801_130034.jpg
My 100% snake gourd tomato

By this time, the straining of the snake gourd was done so I keep it aside for the stew, the texture was really and it has a good flavour.

To begin cooking my stew, I prepared my ingredients and mis en place.

IMG_20240801_133102.jpg
Mis en place for stew

Ingredients for stew seen in the above image include;

  • Vegetable oil
  • Chicken
  • Blended pepper, onion, ginger and garlic
  • Snake gourd
  • 1 tin of small tomato paste
  • Spices
  • Seasoning
  • Sliced onions
  • Chicken stock
  • Spicity jollof spice

IMG_20240801_133346.jpg

Add oil to a dry pot on fire, then go in with the tomatoes paste and the gourd paste then fry it together.


IMG_20240801_134108.jpg

Stir it consistently till it separate as seen in this image. Stir it to avoid getting burnt.


IMG_20240801_134115.jpg

Add onion to it and continue stirring for about 1 minute.


Add the chicken stock and spices and allow it to cook for another 3 minutes while turning at some intervals

IMG_20240801_134233.jpg

IMG_20240801_134405.jpg

Finally, add seasoning to taste and some spices


Finally, the snake gourd stew was ready to be consumed, so I boiled white rice to go for it. It was really tasty.

It was my first time trying the recipe.

IMG_20240801_134941.jpg
Stew

IMG_20240801_135047.jpg
Rice


Many people have their different ways of preparing face recipe. It was my first time to cook it and I stand to be corrected if there is anything I omitted or didn't do it rightly.

Hope you will like to give it a try, for those in my city, I have the seeds available, you can get it at anytime and plant it close to you.

Thank you for your support

Polish_20210708_192135556.png

Sort:  


1.gif

TEAM 7

Congratulations, your post has been successfully curated by Team 7 via @𝐢𝐫𝐚𝐰𝐚𝐧𝐝𝐞𝐝𝐲

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @scilwa, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @ abiga554
r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publication ha sido votado por @scilwa. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

 17 hours ago 

Who would have thought that this plant would look exactly like processed tomato paste. This is another way of escaping the high cost of tomato in the market and channel energy to planting “Cucurbitaceae” vegetable in our garden.😄

The stew looks yummy as seen, how was the taste like? I am curious.

It is nice to see you use culinary terms learned in gastronomy class.🤭 Keep it up and thank you for sharing this unique recipe!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54799.23
ETH 2353.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36