Steemit Engagement Challenge S6/w1-list your childhood outdoor Games which are not famous Globally

in Hindwhale Community2 years ago

Hello Steem friends,

Am so excited am here today. congratulations to hindwhale for been selected to run in this season. It's a new season in the steemit Engagement Challenge. I would not want to miss this for any reason. The title of this week's contest brings to mind some childhood memories, don't worry am here to share some with you.



Introduction



Children love to play. And while growing up I played alot, infact at some point I wished never to be an adult. Hahaha. Children can play and even forget they have not eaten, that was my case while growing up.

Games are always fun for children and it is true that the kind of games played years back differs from the many games kids play today. There were several games I played back then and I would share some with you today.



Suwe Game



Screenshot_20221122-110657_1.jpg A picture of kids playing Suwe source

Suwe Game was a game I played as a child growing up. It's a game played on the floor. Suwe is a game played in Nigeria especially in the northern parts of Nigeria. I don't know if it's played another place in the world.

How Suwe Game is played

Six squares are drawn on the floor. Five of the squares are usually equal while the sixth square which is usually the last is the biggest square drawn.


Seeds are thrown starting from the first sharp by each person. When the seed is thrown on the first shape, the player is required to move round starting from square two, on one leg hopping. You are not to step on the square where the seed is thrown.

images.jpeg A couple playing suwe game source

But when the player gets to the sixth square, he uses his two legs to land on it as if he is resting. Then returns back again moving from the fifth square to the second square. When the player gets to the second square, he picks up the seed on the first square, then jumps out of the squares.


This process of seed thrown is repeated from 1-6 square. Once a player gets his throwing of seeds correctly on each sharp 1-6 he gets a point, by buying on of the Sharpe's as his own which is called house. This means that when the player gets to his house, he lands on his two legs resting before he continues.


It usually a very interesting game. I enjoyed it and females enjoy it most than the males.



Jackpot card game



playing-cards-g2cb07f005_1920.pngsource

How it is played

Jackpot card game is one of the games I played while growing up. It's game played with cards but this time it is played with just the shapes of the cards ignoring the numbers on it.


It's a team game. Played with atleast 4 person's. Two persons on each team plays the game. Each team decides on the signals to use whenever the sharp of the cards on either of the team mate completes 4 sharps.


For example let's say I am playing the game with my team mate and I have four triangles Sharp in my hands having no other card except these four triangles. I would signal my team mate and he would say the word Jackpot. Then I would open my card for everyone to see that it all tallies. A point goes to my team.

poker-g57a37dd19_1920.jpgsource


But if the other team suspects that my card shapes are complete, he says the word suspect which I have to open it for all to see. If he is right, then a point goes to the other team


Also if the other team suspects that my Sharpe's are complete but it's not actually complete and he says suspect, if I open my card and it doesn't tally then a point comes to my team.


This game is usually played on a table or on the floor, but each team member seats down facing his team member.


card-game-g335012bed_1920.jpgsource

Jackpot is a very interesting game. When the cards are shuffled, the cards are moved from on person to another closed unlike the normal card where it it played open at the center. Here there is no center.



Ten Ten



Screenshot_20221122-115924_1.jpg ladies playing ten ten game source

Ten-ten is a game played is another game played in my country Nigeria. This game is mostly played by women especially in the evening hours of the day.

Ten ten is played by atleast two persons. It's a game played by clapping the hands and moving the legs. The players are meant to move their legs opposite directions, clapping and singing the ten ten song. If your leg move to the same direction, your point is lost to the other player .



Rubber band game



rubber-bands-gab6087fad_1920.jpgRubber band source

The rubber band game is another interesting game played while growing up. It's a very simple game but I consider this game for skillful people hahah!

What is required of you in this game is that you have atleast two players. Each of you puts the rubber band on your palm, throws it on the floor.

rubber-bands-g663442e7e_1920.jpg Rubber band crossed source

When a players rubber band crosses on any of the rubber band on the floor as seen on the picture above, the player takes all the rubber band as his.

I remember back then I was not skillful in throwing rubber bands so I always come back home crying.



Conclusion



Seriously am so happy about this contest topic. Writing about it made me juts want to be a child again. My childhood was really fun especially during holidays.

I want to say a big thank you to Steemit team for this engagement initiative and to this community thank you for hosy such interesting contest topic.

Thank you for reading. I would like to invite my friends to join this contest. @lhorgic @chiabertrand @fredquantum

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Greetings, you have been supported by @hindwhale account for your post. To know more about our community, you can visit our introduction post here. To contact us directly, please visit our discord channel.


Moderator/Curator : @theentertainer

Support Our Witness

@hindwhale

Hind Whale Comment GIF.gif

Subscribe & Join Our Community
Telegram ----- Discord

You have taken me back memory lane. You see that rubber band i missed it oooh i played it very well then.

 2 years ago 

Wow! You are welcome!

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @ubongudofot

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much for your support..

 2 years ago 

Waooh all the outdoor games you have Discussed have been played by me. You have written so well about the topic. From your post I have started preparing mine. Best of luck to you.

 2 years ago 

It's so good to know that you would prepare your own entry shortly.

Aah so you Sabi play play like this, for you to have played all the games hmm

Interesting games you've got here. This ten ten was one of my favorite back in the days. We usually make a whole lot of noise clapping and singing the ten ten songs.
The guys sometimes feel jealous whenever we play this game because it was a game for just girls.

I really had fun as a child. Thanks for sharing your childhood outdoor games with us.

 2 years ago 

Hahaha you made me laugh because I just remembered how I got into a fight with my brother because he said I and my friends were disturbing his sleep.

 2 years ago 
CategoryRemarkScore
#Club750.75/1
Verified User1/1
#steemexlusive1/1
Plagiarism Free1/1
Bot Free1/1
Voting CSI > 51/1
Markdown Style0.65/1
Quality Content2.90/3
Total9.3/10
Feedback / Note
  • We always appreciate and support "Quality Content" in our "Hind Whale Community" and we also respect 🙏 your hard work, and we want to thank you for the participation, 👍🏻 Best of Luck.
 2 years ago 

Thank you so much for your review

Ooooooooh! You just brought back that childish part of me. All these games were the game I engaged in that made my childhood fun.

I so much played rubber band like no man's business, I played every other games you mentioned here.

I wish I could turn back the hand of time to have a feel of these games once again. You have presented beautifully. #steem-on

Wow I also love these games especially the rubber game this game made some people cry at times and also made some people rich with a lot of rubbers in their hands.

 2 years ago 

Hahaha I was one of those who always cried.

 2 years ago (edited)

Aqui en Venezuela jugamos uno similar a Suwe, se le llama el muñeco, es bien divertido saltar con un solo pie.

Todos están muy bien explicado @ruthjoe.

 2 years ago 

That's so good to know that a game is played similar to Suwe. Thank you for your support

Wow! It amazed me to know that; I have also played all the games listed here during my childhood. But, I'm still playing jackpot (joker) till now.
You know what? I tried to figure out the name for this "ten ten" game when I was preparing my entry but couldn't. Thanks for the name😊

Your article is filled with beautiful memories.
Best wishes!

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much, am glad I was of great help to you. Childhood memories are priceless

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53778.84
ETH 2224.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30