Сontest STEEM PLANTS : Week #48 - Passion Fruit Tree

Greetings, green friends!

After a long time of absence from Steemit, I've been trying to get back to my accustomed activities. One of them was this contest about plants, which I love! So, I will participate this week, and I'm committed to participate more often, especially considering there are a lot of plants at home.

Thank you, @strawberrry for bringing this content week after week, you're awesome! ♥
I set 10% beneficiary to @steemit.contest

♦ ♦ ♦

For this week, I will show you my Passion Fruit Tree ♥

As you may know, passion fruit is a tropical citric flavored fruit that is ball-shaped and has a juicy center full of seeds. The fruit comes in two varieties that are yellow and purple. Mine is yellow :D

image.png
Photo taken with my Nokia 1 Plus cellphone in my backyard

This plant has a story, as any other plant has, but the fact is that this plant has a particular story among all plants in my house.

There is a friend of my family, a sweet old man, that we love as he was a member of our family. He has been a friend of my grandmother since before I was born, and their friendship has lasted for decades. This man knew I wanted to plant a passion fruit tree because I mentioned I tried growing one a few unsuccessful times. To my surprise, he grew a sapling, and brought it home one day without previous notification. It was such a beautiful gift to me!

He helped me to transplant that sapling correctly, and taught me some things so I could do it by myself later if I wanted to. I learnt a lot from him that day, he gave me some tips to help the tree grow healthy by enriching the soil. Amazing!

This is a pic of another sapling I grew, but I'm showing it because the one I'm talking about looked pretty much like this:

image.png
Photo taken with my Nokia 1 plus cellphone at home

Two months later, something sad happened. My dad, who doesn't live with us at home, BUT was aware of all the watering and care I was giving to this plant, decided to cut it without my consent. Why did he do it? I'll never know, but he did, and if you're wondering what kind of man he is, let me tell you that if you're thinking he's a wicked man, you're right.

Anyway, my friend knew this, and in no time he brought home another sapling and planted it again with me. He's such a good man! The only thing he wanted was to see me happy with my tree, and he made that happen, because my tree started growing healthy and beautiful.

However, one year passed by, and the tree hadn't had any fruits, or even flowers... What was going on? I don't know, but a few months later, the rainy season started, and with it the tree gave birth to some big beautiful flowers, yay!
... but they didn't give any fruits, those flowers got dry and died, so the story continues, ha ha

A few more months later, some flowers blossomed again. This time, we noticed there were some cicadas around the tree. Yes, cicadas! Exclaimed my mom. They were supposed to pollinate the tree! That was the factor that we've been missing!

And yes, in fact, cicadas have to pollinate Passion fruit tree flowers so they can give birth to our fruits. Interesting, huh?

Well, we're close to the end of the story. We had a lot of passion fruits growing since then, especially on December and January. It has a few fruits growing now, and you can see them in the pic above.

I wish I had taken some pics of the big fruits from January's harvest, but I didn't. However, I just took a pic of the last 2 passion fruits I collected.

Here's the sweet evidence:

image.png
Photo taken with my Nokia 1 plus cellphone

Thanks for reading!
I invite @muhar-bd, @waqarahmadshah, and @miswarofficiall

Sort:  

Apakah itu markisah, Sangat enak sekali kita membuatin jus dari markisah, Semangat dan sukses selalu 😊

Yes! I love its juice, it is delicious! Thanks a lot for reading, dear ♥

The story of how cicadas play a crucial role in pollinating the Passion Fruit Tree is so fascinating! Nature is truly amazing, isn't it? 🙂

Plus, thank you for the invitation.

Yes, it is! I appreciate the comment, dear. I'm glad you read till the end. And you're welcome, I invited you because your posts are really good :)

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Hi, @opera.shoujo,

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.

Your post was picked for curation by @strawberrry.


Please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy,
or delegate to @ecosynthesizer to earn 100% of the curation rewards!
3000SP | 4000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP | 100000SP

Thanks a bunch!

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Thank you so much for validating my post! Blessings!

 last year 

Спасибо за участие!

My pleasure! I hope you like my story ♥

Hello friend, how good you managed to collect the fruit of the passion fruit plant, here in Venezuela we call it passion fruit, I actually did not know that the cicada pollinated so that it could have fruit. we always learn something new.

Yo también soy de Venezuela. Acá la llamamos "parchita". Y sí, para mi fue una sorpresa cuando me enteré de que las cigarras (o cigarrón) también podían polinizar plantas, y mire que le dieron vida a mi planta!
Gracias por leer mi post, se le aprecia.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.10
ETH 3209.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49