The 5 Dysfunctions of a Team: Dysfunction One

in Project HOPE4 years ago

5 Dysfunctions

The 5 Dysfunctions of a Team is a book written by Patrick Lencioni. It is written as a fable about a CEO that joins a company tasked to rebuild a team of executives in a company that is struggling in a competitive market place. It describes, as a leader, how the CEO goes about building a highly functional team by using the 5 dysfunctions of a team model.

Although the leader in the fable is a CEO, you can use this model in any leadership situation and it is not necessarily limited to business.
If you are an entrepreneur, a leader or a business person, I highly recommend that you consider this model for building your own highly functional teams.

As humans, we are all imperfect and we are all different. Therefore the natural disposition of a team is to be dysfunctional. It takes work to make a team highly function and it starts by fixing dysfunction one.

Dysfunction One: Absence of Trust

The first dysfunction of a team is the Absence of Trust.
Without trust in a team, the team members will not freely speak their minds. They won't tell you how they genuinely feel.

To build trust, we need to remove our sense of invulnerability which is present in teams as we often walk on eggshells around difficult team members or difficult issues. We need to trust our team colleagues enough to be able to talk about our weakness in public. Do you feel you could discuss your weaknesses with your team members?

We should be receptive of critical feedback. Most people in life shy away from others telling them what they think about them. In a high trust environment though feedback is crucial. If you want to build a high degree of trust in your team then don't be scared to wash your laundry in public. Tell your team what you think of them too. It isn't a one-way street - feedback has to be reciprocated.

Building Trust in your Team

To build trust in this way, you will need to take yourself out of your comfort zone. If we always remain within our comfort zone then we will not find growth. Growth comes by tackling our demons and slaying the tasks that make us feel uncomfortable. You can tackle the sense of invulnerability that people create for themselves in a safe environment by making yourself vulnerable to your team members.

Absence of Trust

There are different ways that you can do this but one way is to take is straight on. Go around your team and ask the following questions for each person in the team so that everyone in the team speaks their mind about each of their colleagues.

  • What do you feel my biggest strength is? (Ok, even when tackling the demons it might make sense to start with a positive note)
  • What do you feel my biggest weakness is?
  • What thing do you think I do that annoys you most and you wish I stop doing?

Talking about each other's weaknesses is not easy but will help to break down the culture of invulnerability that many teams have.

Next Post

In the next post, I will continue this journey on how to build a functional team by removing the dysfunctions. They are all built on the foundation of establishing trust.

Sort:  

It seems to me that trust is something that must be present in our lives, whatever we do, from trust in ourselves, to the trust we put in others, and if we are talking about a team, all the more so. For a business to be successful, trust among its workers must be important and more so towards the leader of the organization. Both TRUST AND COMMUNICATION ARE KEY PIECES IN LIFE!

Absolutely - I am passionate about getting trust established across teams for them to work effectively together. Communication is also so important as we often forget who knows what.

 4 years ago 

@tipu curate

 4 years ago 

Dear @awah

One of those posts, which surely are worth checking out and reading through.

Is it anyother series? I wish you could always share link with me personally, so I would never miss any of your posts. Would that be an option? :)

Do you feel you could discuss your weaknesses with your team members?

Such an excellent question. One that will make me wonder tonight ...

Upvoted already :)
Yours, Piotr

Is it anyother series? I wish you could always share link with me personally, so I would never miss any of your posts. Would that be an option? :)

It is another series. I thought if I did it all in one post it would be a massive read and too much. I will build up the story slowly.

Of course, I will send you the link once the next post is ready.

Thanks for reading and commenting. :-)

 4 years ago 

hi @awah

I thought if I did it all in one post it would be a massive read and too much. I will build up the story slowly.

Indeed. If you do it in one post, then I would myself probably just scroll through it without reading much.

Good joice :)

Yours,
Piotr

Trust is absolute essential to any organization or structured team, without it all else is dust!

Without trust people often feel unable to say what they truly feel and this can be massively damaging for the team because of-course without honesty we are living in a false environment.

As long as feedback that may be a little uncomfortable is delivered in a well thought out critical manner it should be aired and can create a far stronger unit in the long-run. Often people are genuinely unaware of problems until they are highlighted, this benefits no-one.

Awesome topic my friend, fun to read, informative to know, I look forward to you sharing more strategies from the book, you have some amazing reading material that all makes for a far more productive, stimulated mind.

Take great care, keep on smiling :)

As long as feedback that may be a little uncomfortable is delivered in a well thought out critical manner it should be aired and can create a far stronger unit in the long-run.

You nailed it. Someone once said that there is no such thing as bad feedback but just feedback given badly.

I would prefer people tell me that they feel I was doing something wrong then feel scared to tell me but let me carry on doing something that everyone behind my back were talking about. It takes courage sometimes but will be rewarding.

Thanks for your comment :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98