You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is crypto space MATURE ENOUGH for another BULL RUN? Let me share my concerns ...

in Project HOPE4 years ago

@crypto.piotr. Interesting article and take on the issue of bitcoin and blockchain hysteria. I also agree that what this industry needs is for the "crypo currency" growth rate to match the "block chain technology" maturity. If both are misaligned, then the "hype" is inevitable and the higher the degree of misalignment (like we saw in 2017), the higher the risk for hysteria.

Having said that, I do not think this form of hysteria is unavoidable especially with a technology like the blockchain. This is because, almost everyone understands its potential but very few understand what it will take to even get close to achieving that potential.

This has been the story of almost all ground breaking technologies such as artificial general intelligence (AGI) that I write about frequently. As far as this dichotomy exists, the hype/hysteria will persist. As far as the hype/hysteria persists, many will continue to loose their shirts in the game while the few who understand the game will continue to get richer. It's been a human tendency since probably the existence of the modern man and we've not evolved from it. As Daniel Kahneman says in his excellent book, Thinking Fast and Slow, we humans, tend to overweight avoiding a loss more than a gain, hence the fear of missing out on another crypto currency bull run will drive many to another crypto currency hysteria in the not-too-distant future.

This is not all bad news for the many however. We just have to spend time learning about the blockchain technology and making informed decisions on how it can scale (if at all it's possible) to sustain trillions of dollars in crytpo currency value. If your analysis (and learning) supports this belief, then by no means go ahead and jump in into any crypto currency hysteria, but if your analysis does not, then, like me, always wait for the drop to pick your crypto currencies. Like how picking an apple that has already fallen from a tree makes your life so much easier in the apple eating adventure than climbing a tree (and risking a fall yourself), your life will be so much easier no matter the level of hysteria.

Yours in learning,
@aiplusfinance

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Dear @aiplusfinance

I only realized now that I never thanked you for taking the time to read my post and share your thoughts with me.

I've also noticed that you didn't post on Steemit for quite sometime. You used to publish within PH community, but not any more :(
Also I've contacted you via Discord but you didn't reply to any of my recent messages :( Hope you're okey and you didn't give up on Steemit

ps.
Perhaps you would be also interested in checking out my recent post:
BLOCKCHAIN FOR DUMMIES - what would be your explanation?

Yours, Piotr

Hi @crypto.piotr,

Thanks for reaching out and the appreciation. It was an interesting article and happy to chime in my 2 cents.

I've actually not posted in steemit (not only in project.hope:-) for a while due to being busy on some other projects. I am one of those who don't just write for writing sake and generally prepare both in thoughts and materials before I write. I've just not been in that mental space in a while given other commitments. However, I expect to be back blogging on steemit (and yes, project.hope:-) soon.

Keep up the great job you are doing!

ps: I read and commented on the BLOCKCHAIN FOR DUMMIES - what would be your explanation? article. Take a read:-)

 4 years ago 

Thank you for taking the time to read my post and share your view with me @aiplusfinance

I've actually not posted in steemit (not only in project.hope:-) for a while due to being busy on some other projects

Was any of those projects related to crypto or blockchain? (Just curious)

However, I expect to be back blogging on steemit (and yes, project.hope:-) soon.

I would definetly like to see you posting more often within our PH community :)
Join our server (if you're using Discord): https://discord.gg/uWMJTaW

Stay safe,
Yours, Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74