You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who is still on steem?

in OCD4 years ago

I think it is way to soon to make such rash judgements about where Justin is going with it. In my opinion most of the negative actions Justin took were a reaction, to having his stake tampered with, a full on smear campaign and a lot of negativity in general.

Both groups continued to escalate and very little conflict resolution was involved.

He has stated he will turn governance back over to the community.

I am concerned of the lack of real curation, lack of developers and of course some of the rumors being presented as truth that have taken place.

We are literally 1 month and 4 days into this poorly handled mess. I guess neither team is one I would want to entrust with a large investment if we can go from zero to nuke in that period of time.

I started on Steem though, so I will give it my power down period to calm down. Maybe things will change, but at this time, it would be hard for me to want to start again on a new project.

Sort:  

I agree 100%, the actions Justin took initially were a reaction, but he also said oh I'm going to do this that and the other, and went and did the opposite and that's after the initial reaction. Both sides have played some sort of card in this which I have not agreed with.

"I am concerned of the lack of real curation, lack of developers and of course some of the rumors being presented as truth that have taken place"
^^ something I didn't even think of, to be honest, I was only thinking of the people side and the community. But great points and for sure worth taking into consideration.

I hope this split does not mean we lose you, you were a very active part of the community and I hope at least one of the platforms will be able to hold on to you :-)

Thanks for your input

I am really unimpressed with both teams at this point, but I am willing to watch it calm down.

There is plenty of wild west activity in crypto in all projects.

We shall see who gets their shit together and makes a plan... If anyone.

its all kinda b puts a dampener on my dreams of steem becoming the backbone of web3. You are right, there is plenty of wild west activity in crypto in general, lol i just didn't think I would get caught up in it...looks like I'm a lot more foolish than I thought.

I guess time will tell - let's hope it all works out for the best some how

All the witnesses he saw as threats are gone, yet all the sock puppets remain in control of the witness list for the most part, maybe a few aren't, like the top 3? Then more accounts have been created in the past week or so and voted into the high ranks by Sun.

They have actively been asking for community witnesses to step up and when they do, they have been supporting them.

Many of the former community witnesses are still actively spamming and milking both platforms and a few are offering real tools and keeping them functional.

Character. intelligence and critical thinking show up in times of conflict. Who just believes the story and who takes a step back and looks at it from both sides.

In fact if you were paying attention many of the sock-puppets have been replaced with the few left here who are trying to hold something together, again... It's been a week since the fork.

The way you think, dear, is amazing. I wonder why people cannot step back and just think things over from the beginning.

With the success of the smear campaign against steemit, I now question how much of history that we have accepted as humans are actually the whole truth.

True, the actions of the witnesses attempting to soft-fork the Steemit stake during the transition may have been rash and short-sighted, but then again, all Sun did was prove their concerns valid in his response. His ability to seize control in collusion with a couple exchanges abusing their clients' investments was atrocious evidence that they may have been right.

That's one way to view for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60147.86
ETH 2985.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83