One Hour of Cowboy Bebop

in OCD4 years ago

I love Cowboy Bebop, and this morning I spent an hour doing some Fanart.

Daily-2-20-0.png

Here are the process screenshots that I took for this post, so you can see how I approached the study. I enjoyed how it went, and if I were to try it again, I would go with something more like a simple - hard edged - vector like painting, instead of a gritty pixel painting, since that's technically not the style.

However, I did enjoy painting the shadows over the clothes, as well as the folds in the clothes, and the simple profile of the face, and the lasso tool on the hair.

Daily-2-20-1.png

Daily-2-20-2.png

Daily-2-20-3.png

Daily-2-20-4.png

Unfortunately, there is nobody to tag and bring onto Steemit with this one. Cowboy Bebop is in the realm of the ubiquitous fandom art, more than a specific person that can be reached and tagged on twitter.

A simple pleasure for this morning's exercise.

Probably should have done a study on this poster instead - <3
image.png

Cowboy Bebop is a wonderful series. One of those rare animes that comes to a satisfying conclusion, while still leaving you feeling like you could go for more. Great characters, funny, great music and all of those cool lofi channels from a few years ago.

Lots of neat things to say about the bebop.

Sort:  

Fascinating -- I wonder if it's considered poor taste to do studies of other artists in the OCD hive. [original content decentralization] and whatnot.

@acidyo Is this the case?

Thanks Manniman -- your profile portrait looks like a scanner darkly / waking life rotoscope work.

If I would be 1% as talented as you, maybe I would understand what you meant up there :D

Rotoscope is like when people paint over film frames like they are photos.

It looks like maybe you used some kind of AI art painting program on a photo -- I'd guess. Or maybe you commissioned someone, or maybe you painted it yourself.

Rotoscope is like if you took a video of yourself, and just painted or used an AI art program for each frame, then linked it together in animated sequence.

Like a GIF would be the easiest way.

Kind of a neat idea, actually.


Hey @rootdraws, here is a little bit of BEER from @manniman for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

100% upvote, it is one of my all-time favorites!

You can't go wrong with cowboy bebop. They did something special with that anime. It's one of the few that I'm very sad they didn't make longer.

Love Cowboy Bebop! There is a lot of very cool original artworks from offiacial artbooks with very cool autor commentary - I recommend that you look at them - they are very educational and fun.

Thanks for saying hello Arr -- I'll probably have to start collecting those autor commentary artbooks at some point. I imagine it would be cool to buy them, and then just go through and paint each of the pictures like a study == for the projects I really like, as you mention.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64506.46
ETH 3417.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50