They say "steemit has gone full authoritarian"

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

image.png

My opinion on recent events (and further)

When people write "steemit has gone full authoritarian", I read "the major change is that you get blacklisted if you post about competing platforms" which is actually not that big of a deal. I can't say hive is that much better when hive outright banned select asians from the airdrop for no real reason.

Coming from the average extremely active low-stake user, I think both chains have dubious authoritative regimes. I honestly think the hardfork happened mostly because of the steem (money) witnesses were getting but aren't getting anymore after the takeover. Hive might not exist if the people who made that initiative would still get a steem witness spot (money).

I mean, sure, noone likes how justin simply took over, I don't like it either, but technically the only thing different right now is how we can't post about competing platforms. But yeah, there is no trust. Except it was never there.

The thing I particularly hate about the takeover is how justin cheated by convincing exchanges into helping him... But my position is that I don't trust either of the chain's governance. Although it's not like the steem governance was ever, ever trustworthy in the first place.

Don't you average users remember this? Bidbots officially allowed then bidbots officially prohibited anyone? How is "bidbots prohibited" not an authoritarian move anyway. The witnesses themselves from any fork have always taught us we would only really get rewarded if we do what is good for them.

So from this perspective, there has been no change in power abuse. Only people directly connected with circles around the "top 20 witnesses" are in any pain right now. I'm sure some of you have read that "there are steemians who just post like nothing is happening becuse they don't care", and that proves my point. The average user is not affected at all.

Fortunately, the positive change from the past few months have remained on both chains - good authors get good rewards. Unfortunately, I know witness-related users generally don't give a crap about this.

Sort:  

I've been saying some of these things for the past two years so I'm sure some of you already expected this.

yeah I have noticed this too over the past year. I really don't like them banning accounts based on content, its gross.

You know, I always thought you were a splinterlands bot.

HIVE Could Face a Massive Class Action Lawsuit for Intellectual Property Theft

law.jpg

A group of rogue members of the Steem blockchain community have unilaterally copied the intellectual property of millions of content creators without even the slightest decency to even attempt to seek their consent...

It's a blockchain. It was already copied repeatedly without permission via other user interfaces. That's how blockchains work. This is absurd. How is user content appearing on hive.blog different that user content appearing on partiko, steempeak, esteem, etc.?

Those are frontends that get their information from the Steem blockchain.

that argument makes no sense
busy etc is using your content without asking for your permission
hell... if you can sue hive, I can sue steemit because i didn't give steemit express permission to show my content. submitting it to the chain does not mean I gave permission

Neither platform is perfect but the appeal of Steem to me was always the promise of a decentralized, censorship resistant platform. That promise was never realized of course but Justin essentially destroyed any foreseeable possibility of that with Steem. With Hive, at least the Ninja Stake (tm) is gone and everyone starts on a more even playing ground. Sure, the whales are still there but I think that is unavoidable in a platform where investment and payment are involved. It remains to be seen how the existing witness structure will shift and change there.

I haven't given up on Steem completely (yet) but for me, Hive currently holds more hope of that original promise of decentralization and censorship resistance than Steem does.

steem vs hive
monarchy vs oligarchy
me vs monarchy? I lose
me vs oligarchy? I lose

oligarchy and monarchy: "I WANT THE COMMUNITY TO BACK ME UP!"
the average joe: "yay one more platform where I can post my content"

So what have you lost by joining Steem and/or Hive? If it is such a loss, why are you here?

you missed the point. "governors always ridiculously favor themselves despite not being supposed to" is what I meant. get it? you always think only from the investor's perspective, so you end up missing out on the consumer's perspective and end up making less sense. imo you need to better understand things as a consumer

governance around here doesn't cover the basics. it never, ever has

"the average joe: "yay one more platform where I can post my content" was the most important thing of that comment, but all you could read and respond to was to the "I lose" part. come on man

why are you here?

ps: I'm pretty I've gotten into an argument with you before because of this kind of spiteful attitude

None of my comments were meant to be spiteful at all and i'm not sure why you feel that way about them. It was a legitimate question. If you feel you are losing by being here then what have you lost and what is the point of being here? If I felt being here was a loss to me, I would leave. To carry your "consumer" language further, it's a free market and there are virtually an unlimited number of social media platforms. The consumer thing to do is pick the one or ones that you feel are best. It's a free market (more or less).

The whole theory behind this system is that whatever is in the governors' best interest (and the interest of everyone else invested in this platform...and everyone who is a regular user is invested) is whatever makes the value rise. The bigger your stake, the bigger your loss or gain. There are no pure consumers here. Everyone is an investor to one degree or another. If there is no advantage to investing more then why invest more? If no one invests more, how does the value rise? Where the game gets rigged a little is by having a massive up front stake retained by the creators. I always felt with Steem that over time it would even out. And I think that was happening...albeit slowly. But not anymore.

Just being "one more platform" to post content to was never the appeal of Steem/Hive. It was the promise of censorship resistance and the cryptocurrency aspect (i.e. getting paid). Otherwise, there were already an unlimited number of platforms to post to. Steem finally completely failed at being censorship resistant which is why it has become a secondary platform for me and one which I will ultimately abandon if it doesn't get better.

"governance around here doesn't cover the basics". What do you mean by that? Ideally, a minimal amount of active governance is necessary at all (beyond witnessing blocks) and the community will police itself. That was starting to happen more and more on Steem too. It wasn't always perfect but it seemed to always be getting better.

None of my comments were meant to be spiteful at all and i'm not sure why you feel that way about them.

I apologize

The whole theory behind this system is that whatever is in the governors' best interest (and the interest of everyone else invested in this platform...and everyone who is a regular user is invested) is whatever makes the value rise.

noone ever got that part right. also that argument is only ever valid if the governance actually knows what's bet for the platform. which they don't. the governance here is the whales, of course, not the witnesses. dumb whales = zero value. which is the whole reason behind steem's price never ever rising

loss

I am getting something, which is a lot less than if the gov wasn't retarded. while we don't get good gov (we never have and maybe never will), this...

value rise

...won't happen. the fact that this won't happen is a major loss to me, to you and to everyone else.

we don't have free instant registrations so we will never have mass adoption
I could list 300 other mandatory additions but they all rely on free instant registrations

they didn't remove all the ninja mined stakes from hive... they let freedom keep his and bernie keep his....

Doesn't change my original point though. They still got rid of a pretty big chunk.

!shop
$trdo
!BEER
for you

Congratulations @eii, you successfuly trended the post shared by @felipejoys!
@felipejoys will receive 0.06062850 TRDO & @eii will get 0.04041900 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Congratulations @felipejoys, your post successfully recieved 0.0606285 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@eii earned : 0.040419 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56705.83
ETH 2400.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30