You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: They say "steemit has gone full authoritarian"

in OCD4 years ago

Neither platform is perfect but the appeal of Steem to me was always the promise of a decentralized, censorship resistant platform. That promise was never realized of course but Justin essentially destroyed any foreseeable possibility of that with Steem. With Hive, at least the Ninja Stake (tm) is gone and everyone starts on a more even playing ground. Sure, the whales are still there but I think that is unavoidable in a platform where investment and payment are involved. It remains to be seen how the existing witness structure will shift and change there.

I haven't given up on Steem completely (yet) but for me, Hive currently holds more hope of that original promise of decentralization and censorship resistance than Steem does.

Sort:  

steem vs hive
monarchy vs oligarchy
me vs monarchy? I lose
me vs oligarchy? I lose

oligarchy and monarchy: "I WANT THE COMMUNITY TO BACK ME UP!"
the average joe: "yay one more platform where I can post my content"

So what have you lost by joining Steem and/or Hive? If it is such a loss, why are you here?

you missed the point. "governors always ridiculously favor themselves despite not being supposed to" is what I meant. get it? you always think only from the investor's perspective, so you end up missing out on the consumer's perspective and end up making less sense. imo you need to better understand things as a consumer

governance around here doesn't cover the basics. it never, ever has

"the average joe: "yay one more platform where I can post my content" was the most important thing of that comment, but all you could read and respond to was to the "I lose" part. come on man

why are you here?

ps: I'm pretty I've gotten into an argument with you before because of this kind of spiteful attitude

None of my comments were meant to be spiteful at all and i'm not sure why you feel that way about them. It was a legitimate question. If you feel you are losing by being here then what have you lost and what is the point of being here? If I felt being here was a loss to me, I would leave. To carry your "consumer" language further, it's a free market and there are virtually an unlimited number of social media platforms. The consumer thing to do is pick the one or ones that you feel are best. It's a free market (more or less).

The whole theory behind this system is that whatever is in the governors' best interest (and the interest of everyone else invested in this platform...and everyone who is a regular user is invested) is whatever makes the value rise. The bigger your stake, the bigger your loss or gain. There are no pure consumers here. Everyone is an investor to one degree or another. If there is no advantage to investing more then why invest more? If no one invests more, how does the value rise? Where the game gets rigged a little is by having a massive up front stake retained by the creators. I always felt with Steem that over time it would even out. And I think that was happening...albeit slowly. But not anymore.

Just being "one more platform" to post content to was never the appeal of Steem/Hive. It was the promise of censorship resistance and the cryptocurrency aspect (i.e. getting paid). Otherwise, there were already an unlimited number of platforms to post to. Steem finally completely failed at being censorship resistant which is why it has become a secondary platform for me and one which I will ultimately abandon if it doesn't get better.

"governance around here doesn't cover the basics". What do you mean by that? Ideally, a minimal amount of active governance is necessary at all (beyond witnessing blocks) and the community will police itself. That was starting to happen more and more on Steem too. It wasn't always perfect but it seemed to always be getting better.

None of my comments were meant to be spiteful at all and i'm not sure why you feel that way about them.

I apologize

The whole theory behind this system is that whatever is in the governors' best interest (and the interest of everyone else invested in this platform...and everyone who is a regular user is invested) is whatever makes the value rise.

noone ever got that part right. also that argument is only ever valid if the governance actually knows what's bet for the platform. which they don't. the governance here is the whales, of course, not the witnesses. dumb whales = zero value. which is the whole reason behind steem's price never ever rising

loss

I am getting something, which is a lot less than if the gov wasn't retarded. while we don't get good gov (we never have and maybe never will), this...

value rise

...won't happen. the fact that this won't happen is a major loss to me, to you and to everyone else.

we don't have free instant registrations so we will never have mass adoption
I could list 300 other mandatory additions but they all rely on free instant registrations

they didn't remove all the ninja mined stakes from hive... they let freedom keep his and bernie keep his....

Doesn't change my original point though. They still got rid of a pretty big chunk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56705.83
ETH 2400.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30