Blooming cacti - Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Okay, this is gonna be the last one of the blooming cacti from the last season (I still don't know how could I forget about those beauties). Now I am ready for the new season to start and I hope to see all those blooms (except thee that didn't make it) again and hopefully few more. There is a lot of plants that were way too small last year to bloom, or were freshly rooted cuttings. I see most of the cacti started actively growing already and started to plump back after I watered them last week. The dry winter rest always shrinks them like raisins.

Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis


Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis 5.jpg

This one I received with no name, but cactus guru said it is Lobivia.. so I guess it is :)
It is still a very small plant and I think it will stay fairly small. Here it still grows in one of those tiny coffee cups I got when I run out of pots. They are just the same size as those tiny 5 cm pots you can get cacti and succulents in, and the cactus is maybe 1,5 cm in diameter. If you look closer on the photos you might see small off shoots that started to grow on the sides. Still dug up deep in the soil. After a repot few weeks ago I uncovered them all so they get some more sun and fresh air to grow. It also has a proper, square cactus pot! Should be enough for 2-3 years I hope.

Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis 4.jpg

Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis 3.jpg

This little beauty can be also called ** Echinopsis ancistrophora subs. arachnacantha** (the names keep changing.. just like with orchids. Someone is bored I guess) and natively grows in Blivia and Argentina. The body stays dark green, but when stressed it can turn darker purple-brown, which I have already seen on my cactus. The summer sun is just merciless here.
Spines are small, harmless and almost flat. Just the way I like them.

I have two of those plants. The other one is smaller and didn't bloom. This bigger one managed to grow one large, hairy flower! Just look at those petals! They are so delicate and thin that the sun almost shines though. Nice dark red colour, pointy tips and a bit of sparkle - yep, it is beauty.
And as I mentioned in yesterday's post...I wonder if I could cross-pollinate it with some other cactus and get some cool colours out of it! They just, JUST need to bloom in the same time.

Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis 2.jpg

Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis 1.jpg


And since I already showed all the cacti that bloomed for me, I sat down and went thought all the posts and made a little list. Looks pretty cool I must say. Now you can see all the pretty flowers. Just mind you - those are not all cacti I own! Those are just the ones that bloomed.
If you want to see more, just click the image - it will take you to the full post.


Chamaecereus hybrid

Sulcorebutia Canigueralii

Mammillaria camptotricha

Mammillaria Glassii

Gymnocalycium baldianum

Mediolobivia mudanensis

Lobivia Arachnacantha

Rebutia hybrid

Mammillaria Bombycina

Mammillaria Gracilis Snowcap

Mammillaria haageana

Mammillaria backebergiana

Chamaecereus silvestrii

Mammillaria prolifera

Rebutia Fabrisii var. Aureiflora

Lobivia Wrightiana

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756

Parodia concinna

Mammillaria Copper King

Gymnocalycium Brushii

Mammillaria backebergiana

Gymnocalycium damsii

Echinopsis subdenudata

Happy Growing!

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

REGISTRATION | UPVOTE VALUES | NEW MEMBERS BONUS

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 23 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory
!BEER
4


Hey @ewkaw, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Super!!!
Congratulations on the flowering of cacti :-)))
Your idea with pictures of cacti is just great!

Thank you!
This one was from you :)) It is growing nicely!

I am very glad that everything is fine with him !!! :-)))

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Thank you! :)

Hi @ewkaw!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.730 which ranks you at #1637 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 1639).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 92 contributions, your post is ranked at #31.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Good posts

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34