"I simply downvote" - Response to Crypto.Piotrs Criticism of Transisto - The Downvote Knight MemesteemCreated with Sketch.

in OCD5 years ago (edited)

Doing my rounds on the SFR Discord to see the going ons and became aware of this situation.

wo0nx0.png

Obviously, need this up here to be the thumbnail.

Basically, @crypto.piotr was calling out @transisto who runs @likwid for downvoting a user that apparently wasn't using their downvote mana. Moreover, they haven't appeared to use it in the last week or longer which I will explain below but let's start with a quick meme.

I've been on this strange Batman phase after watching The Joker.

Besides making my sister-in-law and wife shake their head when I do the laugh from the movie, I've been trying to draw parallels to the world around me and it's going-ons. By the way, not even talking about the "tortured soul I'm dying inside" laugh but the maniacal laughter. I think I'm pretty good at it to be honest and considering trying out for a haunted house next season.



Send in the Clowns

After seeing the post and @whatsup comment, this one called out to me to create it. I had no choice but to comply. Including the quote as well...

"Because @transisto's the hero Gotham deserves, but not the one it needs right now. So we'll hunt him. Because he can take it. Because he's not our hero. He's a silent guardian, a watchful protector. A dark knight."

xm3opu.jpg

I really love how the screen snip captured:

"I simply downvote"

Had to joke around that would be my new recurring meme and SFR catch-22 category. Actually, I'm only kidding about one of those things.😜

I'm not going to spoil the movie if you happened to live under a rock and never watch it. Do yourself a favor and watch it. Seeing it for the second time really helped me pick up on things. The gist of the statement is that the true hero sometimes has to do questionable things. Things that people may not understand. This is opposed to the hero the people need which operates within lawful parameters.

No, I'm not saying we should give ourselves a high five as heroes of the blockchain. It's something all of us should be doing as stakeholders if we care about that stake to hold value and not be siphoned out by the exploitative. I don't want to get too deep into the philosphy and moral implications partly because it's late and I need rest for that challenges of my day job.

So, as to not re-invent the wheel, I'll include my comment below and may interject if I feel something needs to be clarified or an additional point should be made.

I will also include the script that was used to pull this users vote data. I will add that I would have obtained a much larger window into their habits but, unfortunately, it seems I am hitting a wall on the API side of the house. Enough technobabble, I'll put that below so the nerds can nerd out. My first remark below was in regard to the cropped words mentioned already.

To be perfectly honest, he could have stopped right there and not even extend the courtesy to these people.

We've encountered many downvoters that won't extend this courtesy. It's kind of a bummer. Sometimes, you can speculate. Like @ctime hitting a couple of my posts / comments after criticizing the potato but other times one is left in the dark. My opinion is he should be thankful he got any kind of feedback even if he didn't like it. Also, had an opportunity to discuss the matter.

Moving on..

I'm generally not in favor of content agnostic downvotes but these is something I can can get on board with because it's some bullshit reason people give for not using their downvotes to make Steem better.

A. They are a people pleaser that shirks duty for being liked and defers it to others.
Perhaps "responsibility" would be more apt.

B. They are a coward afraid of anything remotely controversial.
Some people avoid controversy like they would the Coronavirus. I am not one of them.

Both of these I have little if any respect for. If everybody had a mentality like that, this place would go to hell in a handbasket.

I believe this. Furthermore, it's kind of messed up to assume those "hated" flag guys will take care of that racket. Way I see it, it's selfishness being dressed up as being nice or even false piety. Maybe they want to be popular but the the sooner we all realize negative curation is something we should all put a bit of time in. Find a manipulator. Flag a manipulator.

udgp86.png
Note: Please, see our Abuse Definitions for specific guidelines.

Also, check out the sleek Flag Trail App designed by @reazuliqbal if you would like to assist in blockchain cleanup without lifting a finger. (after initial setup of course)

See? It's Easy.

Edit: I would *consider downvoting a never downvoter, not just because someone let their dv top off. To me its an interesting idea that merits further exploration imo

The rest of the comment was critical of @crypto.piotr for, in my opinion, not following due diligence in presenting the subject matter which I find can be counterproductive to what should be our mutual goal of keeping Steem clean.

I doesn't fall in any user or groups responsibility as it's something that has bearing on the sustainability and self-policing capabilities designed into our platform.

Before I get off my soapbox

Did you know you can get paid to find and downvote abuse? That's basically our spiel and I have recently picked up efforts to optimize our bot which I will document in a later update.

Basically, we have grown this project for 2 years and change and the intent is to foster and encourage decentralizing content moderation and empowering those that partake with visibility / stake that they we may grow together.

Believe it or not, this is not ever our final form as I am in the midst of developing a web app and have a few more ideas up my sleeve.

If you want to be on the ground floor, I would advise following me so that you will be apprised to new updates to include business plans once I secure rights to certain intellectual property.

Well, It's 1 AM here. So much for that quick post, huh?

Oh, I almost forgot. Time for the NERD THINGS!

This is a little Python snippet. I use Beem to do what was supposed to be pull ALL the votes on the account.

a = Account('livinguktaiwan')
downvotes = []

for v in a.get_account_votes():
    if int(v['rshares']) < 0:
        downvotes.append(v)

8begwd.png

As you can see in the above, it only pull 126 votes out of 19719 cast. This is how the output of the votes look when you print them. Included the first and last.

{'author': 'gooddream', 'id': 535326633, 'last_update': '2020-01-21T08:25:09', 'num_changes': 0, 'permlink': 'how-to-get-ripped-off-by-a-taxi-in-da-nang-vietnam-sad-but-true', 'rshares': '276638629072', 'vote_percent': 3500, 'voter': 'livinguktaiwan', 'weight': 15415}
{'author': 'pennsif', 'id': 538047046, 'last_update': '2020-01-28T04:36:06', 'num_changes': 0, 'permlink': 'returnoftheprepper8proofofegg-da4wu99oiq', 'rshares': '304951916715', 'vote_percent': 3900, 'voter': 'livinguktaiwan', 'weight': 45056}

I verified that reversing the expression to greater than does get the upvotes so the logic is sound. I may try to develop a script to obtain the votes using account_history in chunks due to the limits. A lot of the things I used to do in the ol days are becoming a bit more challenging.

One thing that appeared anomolous to me was that when checking my account it only pulled 116 votes versus their 126. I don't know what exactly is going on but it seems that @holger80's library may not be in line with the RPC changes.

I could theorize as to why at this point. Is it because RPC node operators are feeling the pinch as we continue to grow or perhaps another reason. I'd have to do some research but it does appear some cost saving measures where implemented on the API.

If you have any insight into this, please let me know.

I suppose a possible way forward for me is to start streaming the blockchain data I need into a relational database but I would have to assess the technical requirements as my server hardware is fairly dated but maybe it could handle MIRA with at least one of the plugins I would need.

But, for now, sleep is my top priority. Good night yall!

swollMrFlaggy.png


Would you like to delegate to the Steem Flag Rewards project and promote decentralized moderation?

It's much more fashionable than self-voting.

Here are some handy delegation links!

50 SP 100 SP 500 SP 1000 SP

Also, here is my SteemAuto fanbase link if you would like to be one of my consistent supporters.


P.S. This was created using the eSteem Surfer Desktop App and really digging it. I highly recommend it if you are on a Desktop. P.S. Edited with Busy.

Sort:  

Downvoting someome for not downvoting is my new favorite reason for downvoting.
Maybe it could push them into my 2nd least favorite reason for downvoting which is revenge (least favorite is opinion disagreement).

You guys have a special place in my heart still from saving myself and others from the plague that was camille.

Sometimes I also read your posts on religion, and in your work with SFR I know you have a strong sense of ethics.

The wall I keep running into with flagging communities, is the conflict of interest.

By rewarding people to "clean up" and "restore" the reward pool, why would the hall monitors pass up an opportunity to earn more? Who polices the police?

Is it going to come down to which protection agency is the strongest, or the best paying? Or are the people expected to somehow organize themselves into a loose revolution if they don't like being flagged for not knowing the thousands of "because I said so" rules that change every day?

The culture of steem evolves every day, and the technology people are using with it too. Maybe I am just venting a bit, because I think you enjoy philosophy subjects a bit.

Let me know what you think if you can see things from the point of view of folks who don't like being blacklisted and revenge flagged for not jumping through someone else's rules.

Personally, I usually pick up other people's garbage in the park and streets when I see it. I don't reward street peddlers asking me for gas money every day. I don't feel justified to take money from their their earnings either though.

That is how I look at flagging average people who work hard to post original content but cross the line in the eyes of a random stranger. I guess that happens in real life too, but I don't really like seeing "wrong place, wrong time" casualties. It raises my alarm bells to want to help people out who are mistakenly picked on.

By rewarding people to "clean up" and "restore" the reward pool, why would the hall monitors pass up an opportunity to earn more? Who polices the police?

Now that you mention it. We do need a mechanism for auditing our bot vots. Thinking maybe a declined rewards curation showcase post. Maybe I'll use the @admiralbot account for that so feel free to give it a follow. Once it gets going, we can monitor and people can let us know if anything looks amiss.

Let me know what you think if you can see things from the point of view of folks who don't like being blacklisted and revenge flagged for not jumping through someone else's rules.

I hear what you're saying but there's a tension between well-intentioned flaggers and those that don't even help a little. I mean flag trail offers a lot of features. They don't wanna flag a higher stake user because fear of retaliation? That's an easy fix! Lot of it can be customized but people may just not be aware.

The good thing about flagging with SFR is the unity and camaraderie we have. If one of our guys gets flagged, there is the casualty-care channel where they can get some help although I haven't been monitoring it as closely as I should. Maybe get a discord web hook in general to watch for incoming flags on any of our members would be a better one. I'll have to give that some thought.

Well.. it's getting late. I'll hit the last couple tomorrow. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Hope my answers helped address some of the concerns.

Had to give myself a week before reading the response to cool my jets down. Some of my favorite artists/authors had been blacklisted, and I still have a bit of cow when I see their new art posts labeled as spam/theft/recycled.

Thank you for giving me a dignified response. As I expected, you are very diplomatic as always and able to be persuasive with objective reasoning.

I do not understand how the declined payout bot helps. Something that would audit SFR or all?

I am leaning closer to considering SFR as a way to dilly out my downvotes. Your team has good people skills, and that is a huge plus!

Thanks, @creativetruth. Things should get even better when I onboard my brother. We're doing a lot w relatively little and the big bottleneck is manpower / time.

I plan to pass the mantle somewhat to my bro Richard and teaching him what I know. I've learned trying to juggle everything with my full time job, developmentally challenged child and chronic pain conditions leaves me a bit over encumbered at times.

Hope I can harness the young buck energy of my bro while paving the way for for growth and bigger opportunities for all.

The big plan is developing a system where we can provide businesses moderation services. Think w the right framework. Something like that could be really big.

Yes, I can see a lot of potential in that. Let's hope the torch continues to burn brighter when you pass it on.

Thinking maybe a declined rewards curation showcase post.

Nah, you gotta make it burn.

I mean, everyone is doing it.

SFR doesn't run blacklists. Other entities can do that. We deal with people on case by case basis for the most part.

And we have compensated people for mistakes we made before.

SFR does have a pretty stellar team.

Do you think it's the leadership of SFR that allows it to have... not sure what the right word is, "friendlier and fairer" policies than other flagging groups?

Hey I'm right here! J/K

I'll respond to this in a bit. Want to make sure I give your unusually thoughtful replies the attention they deserve.

If you have any insight into this, please let me know.

«-INSPIRATION

Cranky Script

I like SFR but there is much more abuse going on than bidbot misuse, like sbi @ecoinstats @steemexplorers autoposting/selfvoting or stake based upvotes - buy my S-E token and I will upvote your posts, any ideas what to do with this shit? I'm downvoting it for long time but I'm getting tired

Loading...

@mmmmkkkk311 is attempting to use his flags to intimidate Steemians into abandoning their support for @steembasicincome.


He baselessly claims it is a "ponzi scheme" which just shows that either he doesn't understand how it works or (more likely) he just doesn't understand what a ponzi scheme even is! And the blatant hypocrisy in him trying to fight "vote selling" when that is exactly what he did with his bidbot! As as bidbot owner with over a dozen alt accounts he is in no place to judge what is right or wrong here on Steem. Now he is mad that his scam has ended. So like an upset child, he has decided to take out his anger (caused only by his own failures) on other innocent people. Making him nothing more than a big bully!

MK admits to running a bidbot

Actual account who was "wrecked by @mmmmkkkk311 (for holding sbi shares)"

bully.png

I am here to counter @mmmmkkkk311's bullying. I will upvote every post/comment that he downvotes. You can support my anti bullying upvotes by delegating (links below) Steem Power to @ilovemk311. And you can help keep this message visible by upvoting this comment or by purchasing SBI shares for @mk311isabully which will help to counter the downvotes that @mmmmkkkk311 will surely send my way. Which I highly encourage him to do as the more downvoting power he wastes on me the less he can use to downvote the real content creators here on Steem that would otherwise become his victims!

Choose a delegation amount

5 | 10 | 20 | 50 | 100 | 500 | 1000

external-content.duckduckgo-1.jpg

I ask YOU my fellow Steemians to help me take a stand for our Steem community.

With this jerk bullying innocent people we are seeing many great content creators leave due to the drama and negativity that @mmmmkkkk311's downvote campaign brings to the blockchain. While he claims he is trying to defend his investment he is actually unwittingly destroying it.

SBI is an initiative that has done nothing but help promote onboarding and community building here on the Steem blockchain. Let us not turn our back on it out of fear for getting downvoted. Instead lets stand up for this great initiative that has helped so many people and helped the Steem community to grow and thrive!

Thank you.

@mmmkkk311, you are full of shit. This platform is a staked-based platform. You should DV yourself because you are on the platform.

Why not stop attacking the @SBI community. Your belief is just that, a belief. You have no facts to back up your claim. You don't even have many people here that support your crusade as can be found in the post regarding your crusade. You are hurting your own investment, Mr. X, disgruntle, bid-bot owner.

Hi, @anthonyadavisii!

You just got a 16.18% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Since I see one of my comments "up in lights" here in your post @anthonyadavisii, you and the SFR team might want to know we do make progress with people. From time to time ...

https://steempeak.com/steemhunt/@roleerob/re-zainabfatima-q4rzyp

For those interested to see the "rest of the story" on this exchange, I did what I could, after her response, to encourage to "keep on keepin' on" ...

So ... One account at a time, progress is being made.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Hi @anthonyadavisii!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.389 which ranks you at #696 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 693).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 90 contributions, your post is ranked at #4.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @anthonyadavisii! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4500 comments. Your next target is to reach 5000 comments.
You got more than 6250 replies. Your next target is to reach 6500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48