Achievement 2 @viczwa Task: Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago (edited)

IMG_20200829_174202.jpg
Image source:Unsplash Free Images

Question 1
Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?

Yes I have retrieved all my keys on steemit. On signing up I was prompted to save each of these keys. There was a short explanation showing what each key was for

Question2
Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Yes I do. Below is an account of each.

Master Key
This is the key that is essentially the key to other keys. The main role of the master key is to generate the other keys.
It was the first password I received in order to get into my account but thereafter I retrieved my other keys under the passwords and keys tab which was under the wallet tab in my profile.

Profile---Wallet---Passwords and keys

I was advised that this key would only be necessary again in the case that I need to recover my account. Also any person who gets this key essentially can get into my account and do as they like. So I make sure I keep it offline and separate from my other keys just in case someone gets access to my other keys. At least they won't have control over my whole account.

Posting Key
I deliberately put this key second because it was the very next key I used. It is essentially the key I use to do my creative and supporting activities. Using this key I only have the ability to post, vote, follow, comment, resteem and edit. I cannot carry out activities that aren't related to content building and support

Active Key
This key allows me to carry out financially related activities in my account. This relates to:

  1. Transferring steem or steem backed dollars (SBD) to other accounts

  2. Powering up steem to steem power (SP)

  3. Powering down steem power (SP) to steem backed dollars (SBD)

  4. Buying or selling steem or steem backed dollars (SBD)

This key also allows me to edit my profile

Owner key
This key has the power to change any password including the owner password. Anyone who gets a hold of this key can essentially access every other part of my account, making it the most dangerous key to be left exposed. I keep mine offline separate from other keys just in case someone finds my other keys. If they ever find the other keys, this one won't be present.

Memo key
This key is meant to encrypt and decrypt memos when I transfer funds.

Question 3
How do you plan to keep your master password?

I plan to write it down on a piece of paper that I will keep safely stored far from prying eyes

Question 4
Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Yes I do actually. Under the wallet tab I find a section headed steem which carries under it a drop down arrow which carries options, one of which is to transfer funds

Question 5
Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

Yes I do. From the wallet tab I find an option under steem (the drop down arrow) which gives me the option to power up

I enjoyed creating this post and would like to especially thank @cryptokannon for the information made very easy to find and @beautychicks for providing support always.

I look forward to the next task

Sort:  

Heyy @viczwa!! Great job securing your account by keeping your keys safe. Now you understand the individual keys and know how to use them as well. Good job and looking forward to seeing your other achievement posts.

 4 years ago 

Thank you so much for the encouragement. You'll definitely see my other achievement posts

 4 years ago 

You may proceed to the next achievement task.
You have been upvoted by cryptokannon, Steem Greeters from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.


Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community and come join our #thediarygame Season 2 you can get steem for commenting too with #onepercent lucky upvote program.
Steem on!


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01