Achievement 4 by @vanessageorge: Applying Markdowns

in Newcomers' Communitylast year

DISCLOSURE: This post has information that could be constructed as spoilers from the article “Advice, like youth, probably just wasted on young” by Mary Schmich. I will supply the link to the article. Feel free to read it first.

If I could offer you only one tip for the future.

On June 1st, 1997, the Chicago Tribute printed a column written by American journalist Mary Schmich. With the title “Advice, like youth, probably just wasted on young” the journalist wrote an imaginary graduation speech and encouraged others to try doing the same.

That article was a masterpiece and it went viral even at a time when going viral wasn’t a thing. The article was copied and multiplied in various forms. Videos, songs, and even some speakers had the audacity to use the article, word by word, in schools and college ceremonies.

I urge you to read the entire article. For the purpose of my post, I will quote only one of the first lines.

“If I could offer you only one tip for the future, sunscreen would be it. The long-term benefits of sunscreen have been proved by scientists, whereas the rest of my advice has no basis more reliable than my own meandering experience.” – Mary Schmich

I never took Mary’s challenge and wrote an entire imaginary graduation speech, but I did think a lot about which one would be my only advice if I had one and only one to give.

I thought about so many things that were then discarded, feeling they were silly and helpful to no one. I’m certainly not going to be able to come up with something as brilliant as “wear sunscreen” even though sunscreen was never the real advice but to advice itself and the hazards of taking advice. My main concern was that I don’t want to be a cliché and say something beautiful that has no real value or meaning.

After much, much consideration, here it is: if I could offer you only one tip for the future, it would be, FACE YOUR FEARS.

As a person diagnosed with general anxiety disorder, I can tell you with confidence:

And the moments I am the proudest of were the ones when I faced and conquered my fears!
The moments of my life I regret the most are the ones when I didn’t do something out of fear.

This task is not an easy one, I know. If you are too afraid to face your fears, go find a loved one and hold his/her hand. You don’t have to do it alone. In fact, I recommend you always do it with someone. The best experiences in life are those we share.

Now, what about you giving it a try? If you could offer one, and only one tip for the future, which one would be?

Love,
Vanessa.

P.S: These are the markdowns used in this post:

  1. Align center image
  2. Headline
  3. Justify text
  4. Adding links
  5. Blockquote
  6. Align text in two cells
  7. Bullets
  8. Bold text

Screen Shot 2023-03-19 at 1.22.31 PM.png

Achievement 1 Link

Sort:  

Girl, you are going to do well on Steemit. There are no two ways about it. Just keep on doing what you are currently doing.
It will take time. Just don't stop!
I joined Steemit in 2016 and after a couple of weeks I stopped posting. I rejoined last year and I now know what Steemit is all about.
I can kick myself for giving up in 2016.

 last year 

Thank you for your kind words of encouragement! I really hope to be posting for a long time. :)

 last year 

I found your article interesting and useful. This will be the next Achievement 4 for me too, I'm just gathering some strength for it. By the way, I also read your story, with which you were the first to enter the 5 keywords competition. What can I say, you are quite a prolific girl, you write a lot. That's why I started following you. 😉

 last year 

Thank you!!!
I did learn a lot from the article below about markdowns. I hope it could be helpful to you too. good luck with your achievement 4 task! :)

https://docs.github.com/en/get-started/writing-on-github/getting-started-with-writing-and-formatting-on-github/basic-writing-and-formatting-syntax

Welcome!

I invite you to take part in the contest, 1 steem is guaranteed! Details are here: https://steemit.com/hive-153699/@steemit-market/steem-market-episode-2-the-prize-pool-is-30-steem

 last year 

Thank you for the invite! I will prepare my entry!

Greetings,

Welcome to the steemit platform.Thank you for completing the Achievement-4 task. Hope you feel comfortable and enjoyable sharing here. Please continue to the Achievement 5.1 task. Here I will send the guide:


Achievement 5.1 Task


  • Be Active, Be Original.
  • Say no to Plagiarism
  • Power up at least 50% Steem from your weekly payout.
  • Use your voting power.
  • Participate in All the latest projects from @ steemitblog .
  • Be a member of Club5050/Club75/Club100

rate 2

Feel free to contact me if you need any help:

Thank You
Ripon

 last year 

Thank you very much Ripon, have a lovely day! :)

 last year 

Es bueno ver que vas avanzando rápidamente, como siempre, cualquier duda, puedes escribir sin ningún problema. SALUDOS.

 last year 

Muchas gracias!!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61178.84
ETH 2749.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45