Achievement Task 6: Understanding Curation and Community by @udyliciouz

in Newcomers' Community2 years ago (edited)

photostudio_1650304460739.png... Created using PhotoStudio

Knowledge to Steem Effectively


If I were to write about the things I have learnt from my journey through the achievement tasks, it would be enough to create a post with a rich content. I think I should hold on to that thought, it would be useful when making my next post.
I really wish there was more, achievement posts. This last days was a real learning rollercoaster.

In this post, I will be discussing the concept of voting and curation. We will look at the best time to vote. We will also look at why and who to vote for Steem Witness. Which community to join and why.

Lets start with voting and curation:

Steemit as a platform loves quality posts, and to encourage the posting of high quality content, steemit rewards content creators who make great content. But to identify those who make high quality content, the concept of voting quality content know as proof of brain was introduced. With this system, the collective response of the people is used to measure the quality of a post. By voting on a post, you are telling the steemit Blockchain that this post deserves a reward. The more your Steem power and reputation, the more your opinion is respected in this regard. For people with Steem power up to 500 and above, when you vote on a post, a bar appears as if it was asking you to rate the post using a scale of 1 to 100. The higher you rate the post, the better the reward from steemit.

photostudio_1650307720267.pngSource screenshot of voting weight selector bar
On the other hand, For using your to help steemit identify good quality post through your votes, steemit also rewards this service by splitting the content creators reward in two, while he gets 50% for making great content, the remaining 50% is shared among those who voted the content. The sharing is proportional to the amount of voting weight that was placed on the content in question.
The content creator gets an Author Reward while the voters get a curation reward.

What is the most effective time to vote

I personally think it will take a true curator at least 5 minutes to read through a content and decide it's worth. Placing a vote earlier than 5 minutes to me is clear evidence that you did not really read it.
If you should vote a post before it is 5 minutes old, steemit will not reward you with the the full curation reward for that post. The graph below shows what you get for voting earlier than five minutes
photostudio_1650264087934.jpg
... Created using PhotoStudio

To get the full curation rewared, voting should be placed 5 minutes after posting.

Who I am voting in for witness and why

I placed my first vote on @steemchiller, after enjoying the SteemWorld.org and finding out that he is the brain behind it.

As soon as I can afford, I will provide a full RPC node to further support the whole Steem network. Of course, I will continue to develop amazing Steem tools and always help the community as best as I can.Source

Beside the fact that steemchiller interacts with Steemians as you can see in the link above, a good number of friends I have on steemit have been receiving votes from @steemchiller, though I have not got any, I just think he has the growth of steemit at heart And has been active as shown below.
photostudio_1650302769369.png
I also place a vote on Steem history

Selecting Communities to join

I started my steemit journey with the Steem alive Community, it felt very close as I could physically see most of its members during meetups, and the community had social media groups conducting training an example is the Steemalive classroom on telegram.
With instructors like @ngoenyi mentoring. I later added Steemkids to the list due to my love for kids and I had kids around which made participation very easy for me. Latter came Steem-Travelers, promo Steem and Steem women.
photostudio_1650304791797.png

This is a screenshot of a segment of my community list on steemit.
Each Community is a collection of like-minded Steemians who post content based on the communities area of interest.


Sort:  

I hope you have mastered the importance of your voting power and curation rewards. Choose a witness that develops useful and important tools on the blockchain. Lastly, join communities that you are comfortable working with. There are lots of communities that you can opt to, from your cooking recipes, your skills, your writings, and exciting contests. Explore and enjoy! For the latest updates and important announcements, don't forget to follow @steemitblog and visit the Steemit Crypto Academy for you to learn about cryptocurrency.

You have been verified for this task and you may now proceed to Final Task for Newcomers Achievement Program: Compilation of Achievements' Task post at your convenience. Please refer to the guide on the Newcomers Achievement Program on the Notice Board pinned post.

Curators Rate-3

Reminder

Use this upvote as your initial capital to join the #club5050 program which means to power up more than half of your cashout. Know that the Steem Greeter’s Team is very strict about this matter. We will check your wallet if you really followed the rule.

Club status: #club75

Screenshot 2022-04-19 19.07.53.png

Hola @udyliciouz, te felicito, has tomado la mejor decisión. Te deseo éxito en tus nuevas tareas y en tu carrera en Steemit.

•Te invito a nuestra comunidad DraftCrearte, una comunidad para expresar el artista que llevamos por dentro. Desde ya puede participar en los concursos de esta semana.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63196.13
ETH 3385.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45