Introduction from a Thomas seeking conviction : Achievement 1

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago

IMG_20200707_134307.jpg

Hmmm! I step into this community pulling a sack-load of doubts, pessimism along.
This is not the catchy headline you would have expected from a newbie, well, I guess the much talk and hysteria about online blogging and other ventures, “is ok, you get to be financially independent, network blah..blah” through unsolicited videos and messages or junk mails dropping into my space have made me take such pitches and their prospects with a little pinch of salt.
After all I haven’t seen a success story that I can relate to. So, guess the adage, “Seeing is believing”, best captures my mindset right now.
But am looking to the bright side, starting this journey and see where it lands me. A trial won’t hurt.
And hopefully, I’ll be a success story that other ‘Thomases’out there can relate to.

WHO AM I
I am Solape Lawal-Solarin, a graduate of History at the iconic Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife.
I am in my thirties, married and, reside in Lagos.

+234 706 350 0840 20190714_185459.jpg

EDUCATION AND CAREER
Like I said earlier I obtained a degree in History from OAU in Ile Ife in 2008.
I am a seasoned journalist with wealth of experience in print and electronic media. I am also happy to tell folks here that I’m a fellow of the prestigious Radio Netherland Training Centre (RNTC) in Hilversum, Netherlands.

IMG_20190619_201943_666.jpg

INTERESTS AND HOBBIES
I am quite a laid-back person, beneath the journalistic profile people mainly see lie a youthful heart, I would say is quite exuberant. I like social hangouts a lot, I love video games, am a big fan of PS 4 soccer and car racing.
However I have another part of me that leans towards reading, writing, travelling and a new found passion, book editing and review.
The latter only became part of my menu last year and I seized the opportunity when it arrived.
I was honoured to edit and review a book titled: Talc: A Haitian Zombie story.
It was written by renowned professor Jenna Chrisphonte, a Haitian American.

IMG-20191020-WA0018.jpg

WHY I TOOK THE BAIT
Really, I decided to join Steemit because I needed to maximize and profit from the many hours spent on social media platforms.
Why I believe facebook and other social platforms are quite engaging, the idea to profit from networking with peeps in this community through postings and comments kind of convinced me.
I am a ‘Thomas’like i said earlier but, I needed a conviction and, the only way to get it is by giving it a shot.
I must commend @talktofaith for pitching this platform beautifully to me. How she did it? Maybe it was a spell or something! I don’t know but, she nudged me to give it a try and, forced me to strike a deal to take her out for shopping if Steemit start rewarding my efforts (busts into laughter).
And lastly, I want to see what I can learn from this community and also share my own contents and creative posts too.

IMG-20190211-WA0001.jpg

HOW I GOT TO KNOW STEEMIT
I won’t dwell much on this, a big shout out to @talktofaith, she did a great job bringing in a ‘’Thomas’’ like me into the platform. Yeah, lest I forget, am repping Charles known as @focusnow.
Well, let’s start kicking, am excited and raring to go.
@cryptokannon ...hope I served you well?

#cryptokannon #introduceyourself

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

@thequill you are welcome to steemit. Now that you have finally joined, take your time to explore the community, make friends with the beautiful people here. Network, comment meaningfully on their post and participate in contests.
I look forward to reading your contents.

hey @talktofaith, finally am here..hmmm is kool, still exploring the community looking out for my interests you know..we gat to talk though, still gat some questions for you

 4 years ago (edited)

Welcome @thequill. You made a powerful introduction post. I am personally behind you and would do everything to make your stay here a nice experience. Engagement on this platform is key. Read other people's posts and comment meaningfully. Follow people, support them and they usually return the favour. Do contests and join Communities.
You have a big profile, education and exposure. I think you have all it takes to develop and publish great content. If you network here together with great content, success won't take long. I say a warm welcome to you. Sorry, it came a little late, had been busy since I came back.

Bro thanks, is not easy but, am really trying to keep pace with you guys. I am going to give it my best shot.

 4 years ago 

@thequill welcome to the steemit platform , its nice meeting you, there is nothing to doubt , steemit provides you the opportunity to earn, engage with friends and explore,
You made the right choice by accepting to be here.

Hope to know you more

❤❤❤
Faith

@dlioness, thanks, I appreciate your comment. I would definitely look out for your posts too and do the needful. How you doing? hope you kool

 4 years ago 

A seasoned journalist (blogger) your introduction speaks more about it, I like the way you analyze your post and I must commend you for that and once again you're welcome @thequill

@iamdanny, I am honored. Thanks for the comment. Guess you re the boss, am just following your model...laughs...bro nice meeting you. Already posted my second task..kindly view n comment bro

 4 years ago 

You're highly welcome. Just so you know I'm an aspiring journalist. Would want to report someday for the nation.

Welcome and have a great stay here. You'll love it. I'm loving it already.

Thank you very much for sharing
❤️❤️❤️❤️
Becky

hahhahhahha...You the becky! wts cooking? how u doing, I am happy to meet you, is all good, hope to learn one or two tricks from u..stay safe

You are welcome @thequill. Thank you for being a part. It's good to have you here. We are here for each other, and you know what? I love your introduction post.

@harrygwec, thanks, i appreciate. Nice meeting you too, look forward to working with you bro

 4 years ago (edited)

Hi @thequill. You are most welcome to the steemit platform and online community.

you have successfully accomplished achievement 1

Meanwhile, you can proceed to Achievement 2- Basic security.

Regards,
@yohan2on
#steemgreeter.

@yoahn2on, thanks, i am currently on it, I have posted it already, please bro, i need all your support thanks

 4 years ago 

You have been upvoted by Steem Greeters from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.

Wow! awesome, thanks, am happy, guess this should further spur me

Hi @thequill Welcome to Steem Community and Congratulations on completing your task on Achievement 1: Introduction through Verification. Please get ready for the next task on Achievement 2 : Basic Security
here
See you soon! 😊

Nice Introduction, we are so glad that you decided to give steemit a try. Hope you will like it here. Thanks to @focusnow and his team doing great spreading the words about steemit 😃

@cryptokannon, thanks, I appreciate. I am on the next task. Already posted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56166.62
ETH 2397.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37