Achievement 3 By @stan015 | Task : Content Etiquette

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

FlyerMaker_08052021_204132.png
img source: my design

INTRODUCTION
Hello Everyone! In this article, I will be explaining what plagiarism is, how to avoid it totally as it highly prohibited in this great platform, steemit.com, and I will also explain how to apply markdown by applying them in some of my texts/sentences in this article as I have learnt at markdown code for citation page.

So What Is Plagiarism?
" Plagiarism can be defined as copying another person's ideas, text or other creative work, and presenting it as one's own, especially without permission/reference." - English mobile dictionary

@cryptokannon stated in his lecture post that "Plagiarism is the appropriation of another person's work, be it text or image, without any attempt to give them credit. The goal of the plagiarist is to make it appear as if themselves are the source of the work." source

Base on my experience, I think that new members are mostly prone to plagiarism. During my first week in this great platform, I was using images without referencing the source and so on, little did I know that that is totally plagiarism. It will be good to know what could cost your post muted for plagiarism; base on my experience and thoughts:

  • using images without referencing or stating the source
  • Copying and pasting someone's content without referencing
  • In a contest, posting a content that relates to another participant's content who posted long before you is tagged plagiarism (in a movie review contest, I reviewed a movie not knowing that someone has reviewed same movie before me and unfortunately, we used the same image, I didn't reference, our contents were related as it was the same movie. My post was muted for plagiarism and I learnt)
  • Posting the same post/content multiple times in the same or different communities is tagged plagiarism, not allowed. (my participation in a contest was tagged plagiarism because I had posted same screenshots and explanations in that community before using them on the contest post)

Post new contents! Let it be original! Always reference borrowed contents/images. You can learn more on @steem.history's guide, The Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide (Revision 2.0) -Homage.

As thought and recommended by @cryptokannon in the task post, Achievement 3 : Content Etiquette, using markdown is very helpful to enhance the quality of a post. You can learn how to reference links at Markdown for citation and also, more could be learnt at mastering markdown

REMARK
I have read and understood the Steemit Etiquette on Steemit Community and will do my best to embrace them

ACKNOWLEDGMENT
I appreciate @bright-obias, @cryptokannon, @steem.history for their guides on steemit.com how-to, the verious tasks I have done so far are very much helpful to me. I appreciate all that have read to this part of my article, I hope you finds it useful. Your rates, views, reviews, thoughts and comments will mean a lot. I am not perfect, I stand to be corrected 💟.

My Introductory Post -achievement1

Sort:  

Hey @stan015, this is @aniqamashkoor A greeter helper

Congratulations you have completed your achievement 3 and I believe with the completion of this achievement and your previous experiences you must have learn that plagiarism is a crime in writing. And to avoid this we use sourcing and citing methods.

Please attach the link of your achievement 1 and remember you have to add this link in every achievement.

TASK RATE:3


I encourage you to complete your achievements till 4 to be a part of NEWCOMERS SUPPORT PROGRAM which is 500SP Minnow Support Program in the Newcomers' Community.

Happy steeming :)

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much, I will do just as you have directed

Sorry for missing voting window. Your catch up vote for this achievement added here

 3 years ago 

thank you so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54