Achievement 6 Task by @njaywan : Understanding Curation and CommunitysteemCreated with Sketch.

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago

I would first of all like to thank @cryptokannon for this post which guided me in completing this task. It gave me thorough understanding of how the reward system on the steemit ecosystem(eg. curation and voting) works. It also taught me how vital the roles of witnesses are to the blockchain mechanism of steemit. I also realised how to utilise steemworld to loan out some of my steem power through a process called delegation here and have total control as I can take back my loan allotment anytime I want. The fact that I can earn without actually being active? Thank you Steemit! I would now go on to share my understanding of curation and community.

How Curation Works On Steemit

Curation and voting are both interconnected as curation is initiated by voting on deserving contents. Just like several social media platforms where you can like various posts, steemit offers its users the ability to appreciate contents by voting. It is found at the bottom of the post as shown below.

vote.jpg

Once you vote for a post like I did above, you start to distribute rewards from the reward pool to the creator of the content (author). Distribution of the rewards depend on the steem power you have at the moment. This process of reward distribution is known as curation.

The ability to casts votes and influence rewards depends on the voting mana you currently possess. It is initially set at a 100% and deducts 2% when the vote is cast at full power of 100 percentage. It also recharges by 20% daily and users have to wait for it to recharge once theirs is exhausted. The voting mana also determines the amount of influence you have on the reward distribution.

As a new user, I can only vote at a 100% voting strength but users with at least 500 steam power can adjust their voting strength (that is, between 1 - 100%), as an adjustment bar shows up. This enables the user to decrease or increase their voting strength as they see fit. There is also the mana for downvotes which is 25% of the upvote mana. But one must take note that downvotes do not earn you any curation rewards.

In order to check your remaining voting mana, you should use third party tool like Steemscan and Steemworld. Allocation of the rewards is such that 50% of it goes to the author of either post/comment and 50% goes to the curator. However, the time of vote is an important factor in this equation.

Once a post is published, 100% of the curation rewards remains within the pool when the curator votes at the moment of posting. And as time progresses, this is what happens.

TimeCurator RewardsRewards that goes to the pool
After the minute mark20%80%
After 2 minutes40%60%
After 3 minutes60%40%
After 4 minute80%20%
After 5 minutes100%0%

This means that after the 5 minute mark, 100% of the curation rewards go to the curator of the post comment.

Witnesses of Steemit

Witnesses are elected by the community to produce blocks for the steem blockchain every 3 seconds. These witnesses need to be compensated by steem power as 20 of them work full time. There are extra backup witnesses and each user may vote for up to 30 witnesses. They run the steem blockchain and prevent attacks from hackers.

Personally, I would vote for @steemchiller and @justyy who have created SteemWorld.org and Steemyy.com respectively. This is because, they created these amazing tools and still produce blocks for the blockchain. As such, they are truly worthy of my support.

Why I chose to join some communities

There are several communities here on steemit within which members post good content. I went through these communities and I have joined a good number of them and here is the reason why.

Steem Africa : This is a community for all Africans and I'm interested to know about life within our continent.

Steeming Curators : I don't want to miss out on any ongoing or upcoming challenges.

World of Xpilar : I love quality pictures and I would like to see great photography within this community.

GEMS : I want to share knowledge with people as this community welcomes general knowledge.

Project Hope : I would like to know more about cryptocurrency, entrepreneurship and economy.

To the attention of @cryptokannon. Thank you for your attention.

#achievement6 #prominnowprogram #discord #newbie #steemexclusive #steem #cryptokannon

Sort:  

Hi @njaywan thank you for reaching achievement 6. That is a great reputable stage in this introduce course. It is great to know that we have formed a team to represent Ghana in the upcoming Diary Game: @steemghana-team and our WhatsApp group too https://chat.whatsapp.com/DnhYaNruvCVDdPOiM8SRlh. You can join the link so that we share together the way forward to win fantastic prizes avail for us in this contest. Try to also follow @steemitblog for more updates. It is my pleasure to see you as a Ghanaian. Thanks for your hardwork.

Thank you so much for complimenting my efforts @oppongk. I am glad you noticed my efforts. I will surely join the WhatsApp group as soon as I can.

 4 years ago 

You have been upvoted by @yohan2on a Steem Greeter from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.


Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community and other writing challenges and contest such as #theshoppinggame #thelucky10s and #thediarygame Season 2 that is starting tomorrow.

Thank you so much! I appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.09
ETH 3479.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50