Achievement 6 Task by @neerajkr03: Understanding Curation and Community

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians and Steem Greeter team,

I am very thankful for all the support and guidance I have received so far. All achievement tasks have really helped me to understand the steem ecosystem. Thank you @cryptokannon for this post on achievement 6. It was a great reference and helped me in understanding and completing this task.

Here is my understanding about curation and community.

The important questions which I need to address are mentioned and explained below.

1. Do you understand how voting and curation work in Steemit?


Let's start with the reward pool first. The reward pool is fixed on Steem. When you upvote on a good content on Steemit (similar as like button on many social media platforms), you start to distribute rewards from the reward pool to users who post quality content, also called as authors.

image.png

There are two types of votes that is upvote, and downvote. If you like a post/content, you appreciate the content by upvoting. If you have more SP (Steem Power), your vote will have a large influence on the rewards than the user with less SP. It also depends on the voting mana you hold. It is initially set to 100%. For every 100% vote you cast will use 2% of your remaining voting mana. It gets recharged by 20% each day. You can use steemscan.com and steemworld.org to check your remaining voting mana.

A post/content can get downvote for any reason, most of the time if posts are abusive or post doesn't follow defined guidelines. It is up to you if you want to follow this etiquette. Also, users may leave a comment explaining why they downvoted, but sometimes they might not. If there is a reason mention in a comment, you can check if you did something wrong and if that can be improved.

If you are a new user, you can only upvote and downvote with 100% voting strength. It requires about 500 Steem Power to adjust the weight of your vote between 1% and 100% voting strength.

This process of reward distribution is known as curation. You can earn curation rewards from upvoting both posts and comments! The rewards are allocated so that 50% of the payout goes to the author of the post/comment, and 50% goes to the curator as per the default setting.

2. What happened if you vote a post before 5 minutes mark after posting?


At the time of publishing a post, 100% of the curation reward will remain in the rewards pool. Below is the breakup of the time, curation rewards % and % of rewards in the reward pool.

TimeCurator RewardsRewards that goes to the pool
After 1 minute20%80%
After 2 minutes40%60%
After 3 minutes60%40%
After 4 minute80%20%
After 5 minutes100%0%

So if you upvoted a post after 5 minutes of posting, 100% of the curation reward goes to the curator.

3. Who will you vote for Steem Witness ? and Why?


Steem is based on a new state-of-the-art blockchain technology called Graphene, which uses “witnesses” instead of “miners” to produce blocks.

DPOS (Delegated proof of stake) elected witnesses by the community produces blocks for the steem blockchain every 3 seconds. There are 20 witnesses work full time to maintain or secure the blockchain and they are compensated with steem power for each block they create. You can vote up to 30 witnesses. There are backup witnesses, who are scheduled proportionally to the amount of stake-weighted community approval they have.

image.png
Image source

I have already voted and would like to continue my support to @steemchiller who has made steemworld.org , @futureshock who has made steemscan.com and @justyy for Steemyy.com . These tools are very helpful in many expects which I have covered in achievement 5 tasks. I have also voted for few more witnesses as I found them active. I understand that currently, I don't have enough SP but I might be able to add value in future.

4. Which community will you join in Steemit, and why?


I joined Steem in mid of July 2020. At that time, I was not aware of this program so I was exploring communities of my interest. Currently, I have already joined 16 communities few of them I haven't explored much but below are the few communities in which I am very interested to participate, contribute and learn from other user's posted content.

SCT.암호화폐.Crypto: It's Korean community I guess. I found it's related to Crypto and there are very active contributors sharing good content which I translate and read in English. I am sure there will be many other community also contributing on same topic but I am still trying to find and any suggestion would be really helpful.

WORLD OF XPILAR: I travel a lot, explore new places and take pictures of the same.So I would be able to share my picture and will also be able to find great places and photos share by other users. I have travelled multiple times out of India so It may be helpful for me to plan my future trips.

GEMS: As this community supports general knowledge and appreciates content on multiple topics so I would be able to share my knowledge as well here.

Project Hope: To study and share content on technology, blockchain, cryptocurrency, AI, ML, economy and businesses.

Steeming Curators: I would like to follow all updated and participate in upcoming games and challenges.

DTube: I would like to share my travel, technology, finance and markets related videos.

Steeming India & Best of India: To connect with India Steemian so that we could learn, share knowledge, support and grow Indian community.

To the attention of @cryptokannon. Thank you!

Sort:  

Congratulations on completing all the achievements tasks brother!

Excellent work buddy @neerajkr03. You really took your time to explain curation to into details and I'm sure it will be much appreciated.

 4 years ago (edited)

Thanks for responding to achievement 6. Congratulations upon finishing all the achievement tasks of the pro-minnow program. Kindly create an article compiling all the achievement tasks from 1-6.

You have been upvoted by @yohan2on a Steem Greeter from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.


Follow @steemitblog for the latest updates on Steemit including writing challenges and contests such as #thedairygame, #thelucky10s, etc...

Hi @yohan2on,

Thank you!

This is just to update you that I have created an article compiling all the achievement tasks from 1-6 and posted yesterday.

Link to achievement tasks from 1-6 post.

Please visit this link.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59181.56
ETH 2521.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47