Achievement 2 @mesonia task: basic security on steem

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago (edited)

regulation-3246979__480.jpg
Image source

Being new to this platform, I understand that after introduction and familiarities, being sure of how to use and keep your keys safe is of vital importance.

It's just like buying a new apartment or moving into a new room and when given the keys, you have to keep them safe because without them, you're as good as Living in the streets

So, because I love my room here and the neighbourhood ....I decided to know my keys and keep them safe

That's why as @cryptokannon said, I'm making my achievement 2!!! A task of vitality!!

UNDERSTANDING MY KEYS
Posting key - The posting key allows accounts to post, comment, edit, vote, resteem, and follow or mute other accounts. Most users should be logging into Steemit every day with the posting key. You are more likely to have your password or key compromised the more you use it so a limited posting key exists to restrict the damage that a compromised account key would cause.

Active key - The active key is meant for more sensitive tasks such as transferring funds, power up/down transactions, converting Steem Dollars, voting for witnesses, updating profile details and avatar, and placing a market order.

Owner key - The owner key is only meant for use when necessary. It is the most powerful key because it can change any key of an account, including the owner key. Ideally, it is meant to be stored offline, and only used to recover a compromised account.

Memo key - This key is used for encrypting and decrypting memos when transferring funds. In order to encrypt a memo, use the pound/# sign before it.

cyber-security-2765707__480.jpg
Image Source

Questions and answers;

  1. Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?
    Yes, I have immediately my account was created

  2. Do you know each of the keys functions and restrictions?
    Yes, I do. Posting keys for everyday log in, active key when necessary for transfers, power-ups etc. Master password or owner key when changing the password. More explanation was given above

  3. How do I plan to keep your master password?
    I plan on having a safe digital copy and offline too in my diary.

  4. Do you know how to transfer your Steem token to another Steem user account?
    Log in to my wallet, By clicking on transfer button, insert the receiver's username, put in my private active key and send.

  5. Do you know how to power up?
    Logging in to my wallet, I'll click the power up button or icon, insert the amount and then I automatically have powered up.

@crytokannon I hope I answered the questions as I should 😊

Sort:  

Thanks for responding to Achievement 2 -basic security.

You may now proceed to achievement 3 - Posting Etiquette

Regards,
@yohan2on
#steemgreeter

 4 years ago 

Thanks for your hospitality @yohan2on...I'm on my way to the achievement world 3😁

Hi @mesonia, Welcome to steem blockchain.

Check out the new Ask.Steem Community at https://steempeak.com/c/hive-153264/created. You may love it.

In case you didn't already know, https://steem.center is a good resource to learn more about Steem. Also checkout https://steemworld.org and https://auto.steemdb.online/

Check out https://unsplash.com and https://pixabay.com for malware-free free images for use in your blog.

 4 years ago 

Thanks @ask.steem...its nice to know that you're looking out for me.

Mesonia
❤️

 4 years ago 

You have been upvoted by Steem Greeters from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.


Follow @ steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community and other writing challenges and contest such as #theshoppinggame #thelucky10s and #thediarygame Season 2 that will start in August.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43