Achievement 2 @meryn21 Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

basic security in steemit.jpg

Source

Hello Everyone,
Today I will complete an assignment of Achievement 2 about Basic Security on Steemit. Below is the presentation I made, enjoy the reading.

dividerv7.png

Question 1. Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?

dividerv7.png

Yes, I have.

Once I have succeeded in signing up in Steemit I got a bunch of keys that have a different function in each key. When I open my wallet with the password given, I can see in the section of Key and Permission some of the passwords given, so I can save it in a secure place on my own.

The names of the keys are below:

  1. Private key
  2. Private memo key
  3. Private active key
  4. Private owner key
  5. Master password

dividerv7.png

Question 2. Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

dividerv7.png

Yes, I do know the function of these keys function and restrictions.
Below is the function and restriction of these keys:

  1. Private Posting Key
    This is the key for special activities log in to the Steemit platform, and do interact with the community such as posting a post, writing a comment for other posts or reply comments in my post, giving upvotes to other posts, finding followers, and getting followed. By using these keys all the regular activities in social interaction with other Steemit users could be performed.

  2. Private Memo Key
    This key is used to decrypt or even encrypt the transfer memo once we try to transfer some funds from the Steemit account. I have not used this key yet actually, as I am new and I don’t have a plan yet to transfer funds shortly soon shortly.

  3. Private Active Key
    This is one of the important keys to be kept in secret as this key is to make a transaction in the wallet or other activities in the wallet. Within this, I could make Power Up Steem or even Power Down and also the activities such as transfer funds, convert SBD rewards, etc.

  4. Private Owner Key
    This private owner key is the most important one as this key has a function to recover all keys when someone tries to hack the account, we should immediately use this key to recover passwords and save our account and funds. Looking at these functions, I have my way to keep it safe offline.

  5. Master Password
    This is one of the main passwords which is used to generate a new password and this password could also recover the Steemit account. This Master password is important to be kept safely, don’t let anyone knows it as it has a function to take over someone’s account and take over all the fund in it. Then, If you generate your password you will get the new keys in a pdf file. I, myself kept this key safe and in an offline place.

dividerv7.png

Question 3. How do you plan to keep your master password?

dividerv7.png
As this password is very important, I planned already to keep it save in the offline place on my computer and I copy it and save it in my private offline directory such as my flash disk. I even keep it saved by printing it out and saving my files in a secretly offline place. I try to keep this password safe and not visible to anyone.

dividerv7.png

Question 4. Do you know how to transfer your Steem token to another Steem user account

dividerv7.png
Here below how to transfer my Steem account to another Steem user account:

Step 1.
The first step is that after signing in to my account on the Steemit platform, then I click on the wallet. And login to my wallet by using the private active key.

Wallet1.jpg

Step 2.
After the wallet open, I will then go to Steem, and click on the down arrow and choose transfer to the next click.

Wallet2.jpg

Step 3.
Then the window of transfer account will appear, write the account name user you want to transfer, for this time I choose to transfer to @senopatix dan the amount of Steem I want to transfer and fill in the memo key. Then click on Next to confirm the transaction, so now the transfer has been done.

Wallet3.jpg

dividerv7.png

Question 5. Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

dividerv7.png
Yes, I do know how to power up my Steem. This is the way how to convert my Steem into Steem Power so that it could be used to have more power control in a payout of post and increase the curation award.

This is below the way how to power up:
Step 1.
The first step is that after signing in to my account on the Steemit platform, then I click on the wallet and log in to my wallet by using the private active key.

Wallet1.jpg

Step 2.
After the wallet opens, I will then go to Steem, and click on the down arrow, and select power up.

Power up 1.jpg

Step 3.
The window of Power-Up will appear then click the amount steam in this case I have 0.725 Steem to power up.

Wallet4.jpg

Step 4.
Then I click the power-up button and will be appear vesting window to confirm the power-up. Then I have succeeded to power up.

Wallet6.jpg

Step 5.
Then I have done the Power Up, as shown below before and after Power Up:

Wallet5.jpg

wallet - done power ip.jpg

Step 6.
After Power-up, I can check my wallet to see the history of the evidence of power-up.

history power up.jpg

dividers-new-1.png

Thank you for reading my post on Achievement 2.
Hopefully, it will be verified soon.

I provide below the link of achievement 1 that has been verified:
Achievement 1

Thank you
Have a great day!

Sort:  

Hi @meryn21 , congratulations on your successful completion of your Achievement 2.

It is my pleasure to announce to you that you can proceed with Achievement 3 which is content etiquette

I also want to encourage you to complete all the Achievement posts in the newcomers community by @cyptokannon. Check here. This will place you in a position to take advantage of the helps rendered to all newcommers.

It's also very important for you to join #club5050. To join the club you need to power up at least 50% of your monthly earnings. You can also join #club75 where you will power up 75% of your earnings for 2 months or #club100 where you are to power up all your earnings for 3 months.

Thank you for completing this Achievement!

Rate- 3

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much for the verification. I really appreciate it.

 3 years ago 

Hi, @meryn21,

Your post has been supported by @ashkhan from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59838.11
ETH 2384.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51