Achievement 2- Understanding the Basic security for a steem account

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago (edited)

I have been guided and informed that a steem account security is very essential on this platform since it involves money transactions and storage. I have decided to learn of the basic security measures for my steemit account.

security-265130_1280.webp
Image: source

I went to my steemit wallet feature of my account then proceeded to keys and permissions feature where I found lots of information about the different keys.

The following are the keys I learned about

The private posting key

While using this particular key, a user is limited in using her account. It only allows a user to comment, post, upvote, follow and resteem posts. This key therefore allows only a few permissions as mentioned.

Screenshot_20200701-133503_1.jpg

Active key

This one is used in executing the more sensitive tasks such as transferring funds, converting Steem dollars, voting for witnesses.

Screenshot_20200701-135840_1.jpg

Owner key

This has lots of permissions than those mentioned above as it can be used to change the owner key and all those other keys. It's therefore important for me to store it offline and on external hard drive.

Screenshot_20200701-140341_1.jpg

Memo key

This is used in sending encrypted memos. That is through adding # tag before the memo text. Once an encrypted memo has been sent. It can be decrypted by the other user user using a memo key.

Screenshot_20200701-133711_1.jpg

The mater password.

This has more permissions than all other steem keys. It's the most powerful key and its not advisable for me to use it while signing in. With this key, I can use it to retrieve all other keys which I am supposed to use thought my time on steem while executing different tasks.

I am required to store my master password offline for example on an external hard drive.

This is also recommended to be used only when I want to recover my stolen account.

How to Transfer my steem to another user

I simply go to my steem wallet then click on the drop down icon at the steem feature
A drop down list was displayed which had many options. I selected the transfer feature.
Here is the procedure I took.
Number 1
Screenshot_20200701-152938.png

Number 2
Screenshot_20200701-153054.jpg

I then clicked next and proceeded to an option that required me to enter my active key.

Number 3
Screenshot_20200701-153318.png

How to power up my steem

After clicking on the steem feature I selected the power up feature which eventually led me to an interface that required me to enter the amount of steem that I wanted to power up.

Screenshot_20200701-153241.jpg

I had to confirm the power up action before proceeding.
Screenshot_20200701-153259.png

I was then required to enter my steemit password to confirm the transaction.
Screenshot_20200701-153158.png

Thanks so much to @yohan2on for the guidance and mentorship his rendering to me as I continue going through the different achievement stages of the prominnow programme.

@cryptokannon.. Here is my submission for the achievement 2 -basic security.

Sort:  

Hi @marjor there are 2 questions you haven't answered yet

Question 4
Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Question 5
Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

You can edit this post and add the answers to these questions on your post. Thanks!

 4 years ago (edited)

Okay! Thanks so much for that. Let me edit my post and include those answers.

Okay! Thanks so much
For that. Let me edit my
Post and answer them.

                 - marjor


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Okk you are welcome

Hi @marjor Congratulations! You have passed the Achievement 2 on Basic Security, now please get ready for your post on the next for Achievement 3: Content Etiquette here
See you soon!

Thank you am humbled 🙏🙏🙏

 4 years ago 

Congrats! You have passed the Achievement 2
You have been upvoted by Steem Greeters from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66293.76
ETH 3282.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70