Achievement 2 @lizzy-bee Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago
Hi everyone! Nice to post another article on the steemit blockchain, and in the Newcomer's Community. I was introduced to Steemit by @damzxyno. This is a link to my Achievement1 Introductory Post.

This is my post for Achievement2, It's on Basic Security on the Steem Blockchain. I had my friend @damzxyno transfer me some Steem Tokens so I could have a real practice for the #Achievement2 tasks. When I was done, transfered back the remaining Steem Token. Enjoy!!

Question 1: Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?


Yes, I have retrieved all my Steem keys. Immediately after creating my steemit account, I was given a key which I discovered later to be my Master Key. When I tried using my master key to log in, I was prompted that I was using a non-posting key to log in to Steemit. So I was given the options either to generate my complete Steemit keys stored in a pdf or go to my Steemit wallet to access and view my posting key. I chose the Download a PDF with keys and instructions option, and had my complete offline copy of steemit keys.

Question2: Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?


Yes, I have carefully read the Achievement2 Task post by @jyoti-thelight. I have read the FAQs on steemit. And I have practicalized using the keys, especially in the course of performing the #achievement2 task. So I can say I have a fair knowledge of the Keys' functions and limitations.

POSTING KEY:
Function: This is the simplest of all my steemit keys. It is used basically for performing all blogging activities such as posting, blogging and reblogging, commenting on posts, following and unfollowing other users, blocking and unblocking other users and, upvoting and downvoting posts or comments.

Restrictions: The posting key is the most restricted of all keys. It can't control the funds in my steemit wallet.


ACTIVE KEY:
Function: The active key is used for wallet related activities such as transfer of steem, transfer of SBD, Powering up or Down. It is also used for account setting related activities such as profile updating, and setting profile avatar.

Restrictions: The active Key is only used for wallet transactions. You can't use it to post on steemit, and you can't use it to generate back your other keys.


OWNER'S KEY:
Function: The owner key is used for resetting active and posting keys on steemit. This is essential when my steemit account is compromised which I will try as much as possible to prevent.

Restriction: The owner key can not be used to post on steemit.

MEMO KEY:
Function: It is used for sending and viewing encrypted memos.

Restriction: It is can't be used for posting, commenting, doing wallets related transactions or retrieving steemit password.

Question 3: How do you plan to keep your master password?


My master password is the most important password on my steemit account. I saved it specifically in my Google drive account and on several flashdrive I own. This way, I know if any of my password is compromised, I can easily use my master password to recover them. With the brad distribution of my Master password, I'm bound not to loose it.

Question 4: Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?


Yes! I had my friend @damzxyno transfer me 5 steem to practicalize this task. I logged into my steemit wallet with my posting key. Then I saw the 5 steem transfered to me reflecting in my wallet. Then I click on the arrow beside the number of steem I had. Then a drop down menu showed me different options. I clicked on the transfer button.



Then I put in the amount of steem I want to transfer and the name of the person I wish to transfer the Steem to.



I crosschecked the informations I put in the boxes earlier and confirmed the transfer by clicking ok.



Now I signed in again, but this time with my active key in order to sign the transaction.



Few minutes later, the transfer showed in my wallet history.

Question 5: Do you know how to power up your STEEM?


Yes! I used the remaining 1 steem in my steem wallet to perform this task. The steps are similar just like the above transfer I made. I clicked on the arrow beside the amount of Steem I have left, but this time, I clicked on the power up option.



I click on balance link below the amount box in order to use all the steem I have to power up.



Then I confirmed the transaction and used my active key to sign the transaction same way as I did when tranfering the Steem. Now, my Steempower has increased by 1.001 steem.



This is my Achievement2 post, thank you!
Sort:  

Congratulations on successfully completing achievement 2. Now you may proceed to the next achievement task about content etiquette.

Don't forget to follow @steemitblog for the latest updates and news on steemit platform.

Wish you a great journey ahead!
Thank you!
Best Regards!

RATE 3

 3 years ago 

Hi, @lizzy-bee,

Your post has been supported by @sm-shagor from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64993.01
ETH 3517.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38