ACHIEVEMENT'S 2 BY jizzymendez | BASIC SECURITY ON STEEMIT | MENTORSHIP BY @cryptokannon

in Newcomers' Community2 years ago

When we hear of the word security I believe our brain interprets the meaning of that word. Well security has to do with safeguarding something from harm or measures taken to guard against espionage or crime. So,basic security on steemit refers to how one can safeguard his steemit keys to avoid his/her account from being stolen or compromised.

HAVE YOU RETRIEVED ALL YOUR KEYS ON STEEMIT?
It is important to know that for you to access your account in steemit. You must do that with your keys. Without your steemit keys, you cannot do anything in your steemit account.
After my steemit account was verified, I was given my master password which i also changed. The master password is used to retrieve all other keys which include: posting key, active key, owner key and Momo key. So I can confidently say that I have retrieved my keys.

DO YOU KNOW EACH OF THIS KEYS FUNCTIONS AND RESTRICTIONS?
In steemit, each key has its own function. So, I am going to accentuate the various functions of the different keys.

  1. Posting key: This is often used in one's daily synergy on the platform. If you want to login into your steemit account, make a post, edit a post resteem a post, comment, downvote or upvote, the posting key helps you achieve all this. You can also use the posting key to mute accounts and follow people.

  2. Active key: When you want to perform some transactions on the platform, active key Is needed. Active key Is used to transfer token like steem and SBD, power up and down, place an order or exchange, vote for witnesses, perform certain profile changes and perform SBD conversion. It is also used to create a new user

  3. Momo key: This is used to send an encrypted message and used to view an encrypted message.

  4. Master key: This is the first key given after registration and used to generate all other keys. This key is very important because it is mainly used when you are going through account recovery.

  5. Owner key: The owner key is a very powerful key. It is used to reset other keys like owner, active and posting keys. It is also used to recover ones account and decline voting rights.

HOW DO YOU PLAN TO KEEP YOUR MASTER PASSWORD?
The master password is very important as it is use to generate other keys in one's account. And If it is lost or compromised, you can lose all your tokens. So I plan to keep it in my storage device, like flash drives and on a printed paper and keep it in my box where I keep all my passwords.

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO TRANSFER YOUR STEEM TOKEN TO ANOTHER STEEM USER ACCOUNT?
Transferring my steem token to another account is a simple process. To do that first, I have to log in into my steemit account with my posting key. Then I clicked on my image at the top right and select wallet

Screenshot_20220122-182313.png

This takes me to my wallet. Then I sign into my wallet with my username and active key. Upon logging in, I clicked on the drop down arrow close to steem and select transfer.

Screenshot_20220124-194157.png

Then I typed in the username of the account user I want to transfer to, and the amount and clicked next. Finally, I clicked ok to confirm the transfer.

Screenshot_20220124-194734.png

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO POWER UP YOUR STEEM?
Power up is the process where liquid steem is converted into steem power. This is done in the wallet. After signing in into my wallet with my username and active key, I clicked on the drop down arrow close to steem, and then select power up.

Screenshot_20220124-195011.jpg

Then I typed in the amount of steem I want and Click power up

Screenshot_20220124-195912.png

Am grateful to @cryptoknnon
And am grateful to @michealu40 for his assistance

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

congratulations

You have successfully completed this achievement task, you can now proceed to complete the next achievement task at your own convenience. Learn more

Good luck
Rate 2

Check out this new publication of great importance

 2 years ago 

Hi, @jizzymendez,

Your post has been supported by @lovveday from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43