Achievement 2: Basic Security on Steem by @jeffyjay

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago (edited)

If only I could be a detective, though learning of security in Steem made me feel like I was in a special agents training.


Like for starters, I just couldn't wrap my head around why all the keys? And why were they looking weird and long🤦🏽....I kept putting this achievement away, but hey it become kinda cool when I got into the details of the lesson. I used to use one password for all the places I go with google and now I have seen just how vulnerable my precious accounts and details have been.


So I have also decided not only to secure my Steem Account, but to revisit security on all my other accounts and platforms I'm registered on. If these were the only things I'd be taking out of steem, it is worth a bunch. Thank you for creating this achievement task.


D5zH9SyxCKd9GJ4T6rkBdeqZw1coQAaQyCUzUF4FozBvW7Q1jckdzN8ucTK3hdDnvyG1HsG5NZtGAuwYG9h25GkX1cVhrCB2z7ztgkByxRauiDsxjdKAfvtkVHNcJrGhKdD64e.png

What I learned about the Steem Keys

The keys all have different functions and some are more powerful than others. And that is something to keep in mind. And also, while some can perform the function of others, you would want to only use them when absolutely necessary as overuse of them will put them in danger entering into the wrong hands. The various keys I got and their functions are as follows:

image.png

The Posting key: this is a limited key that enables you to do daily activities such as posting, commenting, editing, voting, resteeming, follow or mute other users. This is the one that should be used for daily login. But it is a limited key and cannot be used for more sensitive tasks like transferring funds etc

The Active key: this key does more than the posting key. It enables you to perform sensitive tasks and at such can be used to transfer funds, power up or power down transactions, convert Steem Dollars, vote for witnesses, update profile details and avatar, and place market order.

The Memo key: this is the key used for encrypting and decryption of memos when transferring funds.

The Owner Key: this is the most powerful key with no restrictions and can be used to change any key of your account, including the owner key itself. It is used to recover an account when it is compromised.

Securing my master password:

I have stored it in writing and on a safe flash drive. Storing it online is not safe.


How to transfer token from my account to another user:

Go to my wallet page, click on the steem or Steem Dollar balances and click Transfer afterwards. Then type the username of the person I want to send it to. Enter amount to send, create a memo for it (optional) and click submit. And confirm with my Active Key.


How to power up Steem tokens:

From wallet, simply click "Power Up" to turn them into Steem Power. You can power them by clicking the "Power Down" option.

To the attention of @cmp2020, thank you @buikem for your guide on completing this achievement. I am ready for the next task. Hopefully it will be this insightful🤔

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

I find too much keys a big hassle.. I wish everything could work out with just one key like before

nice explanation on this subject :)

Thank you for reading it

 4 years ago 

You have been upvoted by Steem Greeters from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.


Follow @ steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community and other writing challenges and contest such as #theshoppinggame #thelucky10s and #thediarygame Season 2 that will start in August.


Congratulations! You have passed the Achievement 2 on Basic Security, please get ready for the next task on Achievement 3: Content Etiquette here
See you soon! 😊


Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community and other writing challenges and contest such as #theshoppinggame #thelucky10s and #thediarygame Season 2 that will start in August.

Checkout @steemingcurators daily showcase featuring all writing contests and other community challenges that ongoing on Steem Community.


Wow...thank you for this information

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44