Achievement 2 @hidraslick Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community2 years ago (edited)
Greetings people of the newcomers community, I'm here today to post for the achievement 2 of the community. After a little research I understood how does the keychain system works and how it helps with the account security. To make reading the post easier I divided both tasks into two blocks.

Keychain Information

This is what I understood about the different keys, their functions and restrictions, and the different security levels:

Keys usage
KeyUse
Master PasswordIs the password from which all the user's keys are made. Is the top level password, allows the user to do every function the other keys allow, also allows the user to recover an account when it is stolen.
Owner keyIs the top level key it is used by the user to recover an account when it is stolen.
Active keyIt is the key used by the user to do the financial tasks (transfers, conversions, power ups/downs, buying in market), also used to update the user's profile information and to change user's avatar.
Memo keyIt is The key used for encrypting and decrypting memos when a user is transferring funds.
Posting keyIt is The key used for for most common tasks within Steemit communities (publish, vote or resteem a post), also allows to follow or mute other users.

padlock7.jpg

Source.

My Understanding of Security and Power Up

Next, I want to give an answer to questions about these two areas of management of my account:

My answers
QuestionAnswer
1. Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?Sure, I have retrieve all my keys.
2. Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?Yes, following the instructions on this and this post I learnt about the keys and its different functions and restrictions.
3. How do you plan to keep your master password?Well, I have made many digital copies and put them on safe places, I also copied my keys on paper and save it on a safe that I have.
4. Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?It is an easy process. First I log into my wallet page using my Active Key. In there I click the dropdown menu on the right side of the token I want to transfer (Steem,SBD) and click on transfer. When the transfer window opens I type the name of the user I'll transfer the tokens to and the amount I want to transfer. Optionally I can include a memo in the transfer. Last I need to confirm the transfer.
5. Do you know how to power your steem?Yes, learnt it viewing this post. Similarly to transfering, once I'm log on my wallet page, I open the dropdown menu at the right side of Steem and select Power Up. In the window I select the amount of Steem I want to convert to SP and confirm it.

The process of Transfers and Power Up in images

Transfer

Transfer 1.png

First I need to log into my wallet page. In there, I click the dropdown menu on the right side of the token I want to transfer (Steem,SBD) and click on Transfer.

Transfer 2.png

In this window, I type the name of the user I'll transfer the tokens to. Next I set the amount and the token I want to transfer. Optionally I can include a memo in the transfer.

Transfer 3.png

To finish, I must check the data I entered in the previous step is correct, and then I confirm the transfer.

Power Up

Powerup 1.png

First I need to log into my wallet page. In there, I click the dropdown menu on the right side of the Steem token and click on Power Up.

Powerup 2.png

In this window I set the amount of Steem I want to convert to SP and click on Power Up to finish the process.

All images for this section were taken on my pc using Firefox 93 and edited using Microsoft Paint.

To finish I like to thank @cryptokannon, @steemitblog and @kiwiscanfly for the helpful posts I read about account security, power up and wallet usage, I want to thank @ngoenyi as well for all the help correcting the post. I also want to ask all readers of this post that if you find any other mistakes or errors on this post please let me know, so I can do the right changes.

About me:
Author@hidraslick
Achievement 1Link
Sort:  

Hello, you need to attach screenshots on how to transfer and power up your steem for questions 4 and 5

 2 years ago (edited)

Understood, thanks for telling me. I'll upload them as soon as I'm able. Edit: Done, I hope everything is well now.

 2 years ago 

Hello, I am reddileep from Greeter Fairy Team.

I am happy to announce that you have successfully completed your achievement task. Now you are eligible for performing your next Achievement Task and you can refer Lists of Achievement Tasks posts to understand about your next Achievement Task which was published by cryptokannon

Curators Rate: 2

 2 years ago 

Many thanks for this @reddileep and the people that helped and upvoted my post.

 2 years ago 

Hi, @hidraslick,

Your post has been supported by @reddileep from the Steem Greeter Team.

 2 years ago 

Thanks for letting me know, for your awesome work and for the support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58557.01
ETH 2992.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74