Achievement 2 @hgw12 task : Basic Security on STEEM

in Newcomers' Community2 years ago (edited)

Good day everyone, I have successfully accomplished my achievement one and I hope to give it the best shot in completing my next achievement which is on The Basic Security on Steemit.

QUESTION 1
HAVE YOU RETRIEVE ALL YOUR KEYS ON STEEMIT?

Yes I have, I downloaded the PDF document containing all my keys and saved it in the appropriate place .

QUESTION2
DO YOU KNOW EACH OF THESE KEY FUNCTIONS AND RESTRICTIONS?

Posting key:This key is used on daily basics for daily activities on steemit for example Logging in to your account and perform social actions like voting, commenting and Posting.

Active key: Active key is mostly used in the Steemitwallet section to perform actions that has to do with money such as transferring tokens/funds, STEEM power up/down transactions, converting Steem Dollars and voting for witnesses.

Memo key:It is used to encrypt and decrypt memos when transferring funds and how to encrypt a memo is by putting a pound/# sign before it.

Owner key: Owner key is used to reset other keys, and it is also used to recover an account that has been compromised within 30days.

Master password/key: This key is very sensitive because it is used to derive the PDF document containing other keys including the Owner key. If someone else get access to your master password they can steal your account and all the tokens/funds in it so it is advisable properly guide it jelousy.

Question 3
How do you plan to keep your master password?

I have decided to keep my master password offline by printing it out and keeping it in a safe place and It is also on my Google drive and my external disk.

QUESTION 4
DO YOU KNOW HOW TO TRANSFER YOUR STEEM TOKEN TO ANOTHER STEEM USER ACCOUNT?

Yes I do and I will prove it with the following steps below;

STEP 1:For transferring liquid STEEM open your steemit wallet with private active key,(one of the keys in the downloaded pdf
IMG_20220603_080940.jpg

you will see a title called STEEM, At the bottom right beside the amount of STEEM you have you will see an arrow in form of a Tiny Triangle facing downwards click on it then Transfer.
IMG_20220603_234357.jpg

STEP 2: In this page fill it with The username of the person you want to transfer the STEEM to, The amount and The memo,In this page confirm the transaction by clicking on Ok .
Screenshot_2022-06-03-23-41-33-066_com.android.chrome.jpg

QUESTION 5
DO YOU KNOW HOW TO POWER UP YOUR STEEM?

Yes I do, I will show it below using the following steps;

STEP 1: To power up your STEEM open your steemit wallet you will see a title called STEEM, At the bottom right beside the amount of STEEM you have you will see an arrow in form of a Tiny Triangle facing downwards click on it then click Power Up.

IMG_20220604_032208.jpg

STEP 2: Then input the amount you want to power up and then confirm by clicking Power Up, After verifying the details, if there is any error you can click on Cancel icon and then start again but if there is no error, validate and confirm the transfer by clicking power up icon.

Screenshot_2022-06-04-03-18-52-586_com.android.chrome.jpg

I hope I was able to communicate the little knowledge I acquired on Basic Security and I hope is good

Thank you all for reading my post and I thank Greeter and Admin for the opportunity to share my little knowledge on here

@nikoyana @ngoenyi

#achievement2#nigeria#steemit#security#steemexclusive#newbies

Sort:  

Hi dear, you will need to show a screenshot of where you are practicing how to transfer steem to another user and to power up.

 2 years ago 

Ok ma

 2 years ago 

@ngoenyi I have done it ma

Hi @hgw12

Congratulations, your achievement 2 is verified.

You can advance and complete Achievement 3

Remember to use the #Achievement3 and #(your country) tags and post from Newcomers' Community.

I invite you to follow @steemitblog so that you are aware of the latest updates.

Rate 2

 2 years ago 

Hi, @hgw12,

Your post has been supported by @inspiracion from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45