Achievement 2 : Basic Security on Steem.

in Newcomers' Community2 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemit Members, I hope all of you are well by the grace of the almighty creator. Well, it's your buddy again. And today my task is to talk about Basic security on Steem. According to Achievement no 02, I'll try to give you informative facts about it. And I'm gonna try to give my best so that you guys can understand everything without any doubt. So, let's get started.

image.png

Source

As a newcomer! We all face some problems through this complex systematic process. Apart from this, we feel awkward when we see so many passwords. At a glance, we can question ourselves how we will be able to use or save those passwords. For this problem, our honorable Admin of Newcomer's Community @cryptokannon posted detailed information about all the key codes. Thanks to her, she posted such informative facts for us newcomers. I learned a lot from that post. It was easy to understand. We just can read it twice or thrice and we'll be good to go.

On the other hand, when, we start to understand that this system! we can see this is very powerful and well designed. It can't be hacked like Facebook, Instagram, or other systems. Moreover, hackers can’t cause much damage to us, as they can’t get full access until they acquire the Master key. Those terms and passwords are the main reason behind this strong moreover powerful system. As a newcomer, we must acquire some basic knowledge about this Steem ecosystem. This platform is one kind of Blockchain platform. So, it must be secure and reliable. As a consequence, it has a few different types of passwords for security purposes. At a glance, we can feel it is complex to use but when we understand what's the purpose of each password, it becomes easy to work with. So, let's just hop up and discuss the eventual way those passwords work.

Posting key:

This key is something we need every day to login in Steemit platform. It allows us to post something, also it is used while we wanna comment down on our Steemit community member’s posts. We can give votes through this key code, Such as Upvote or Downvote. Besides that, we can also resteem and follow or mute other accounts.

Active key:

When we wanna transfer our funds to different accounts, the Active key will be the most eligible key for this task. It also allows us to do sensitive tasks such as power up or power down transactions. With this key we will be able to convert our Steem dollars, voting for the witnesses is another important task that cannot be done without active key code. Nevertheless, we can update our profile details, it also includes Avatar. Besides all, we won't be able to place a market order without this private active key code.

Owner key:

This key is the most powerful key above all. Because this key has the power to change any key of an account, it also includes the owner key. Well, this key is only used when it is necessary. Frankly speaking, this passcode should be stored offline, and we should only use this key to recover our compromised account.

Memo Key:

We use this key to transfer funds. Cause this key’s task is to encrypt and decrypt memos while transferring funds. To encrypt a memo, we can use a pound (#) sign before it.

Master key:

This key allows us to generate all the other keys. It should only be used while we are looking forward to recovering our account.

So, In the End, we can understand that Steemit performs through a strong and well-designed security system. Each key works in a different way. And it is easy, comfortable, and secure to work with.

According to my task, I gotta answer some of the questions. So, let’s get started.

Question NO 01: Have you retrieved all your keys on Steemit?

Answer: Yes, I have retrieved all my key codes on Steemit. While I was signing up in Steemit, the platform gave me a passcode and that was my Master key. After that, I logged in successfully with my master key then the steemit platform gave me a PDF file to download, which contains all of my passcodes. I saved it offline and I kept it in a secure place.

Question NO 02: Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Answer: yeah, I already have learned the functions and restrictions of those keycodes I acquired. In a jiffy, lemme tell just tell you guy’s when I use those keycodes.

Well, I use the Post keycode to log into my account and to post my vlogs, comments, votes moreover, I use this key to follow others. With this keycode, I can't access my wallet.

The Active keycode helps me to access my wallet and allows me to make any kind of transactions, whether transfers, power up, power down or update profile data.

The Memo passcode is used to transfer funds. Cause this key’s task is to encrypt and decrypt memos while transferring funds.

The Owner key is the most powerful key above all. Because this key has the power to change any key of an account, it also includes the owner key. Well, this key is only used when it is necessary. Frankly speaking, this passcode should be stored offline, and we should only use this key to recover our compromised account.

Question NO 03: How do you plan to keep your master password?

Answer: Umm! This isn’t hard enough to decide where I'm gonna keep my master password. This key code is one of the most important keycodes of all. So, lemme just tell you guy’s where I’m gonna keep my master passcode safe. I’m giving a list of some basic ways to store my master password so that I don't lose it.

  1. As every master keycode is lengthy and exceptional. I can just write down my master passcode and put it into my locker (without mentioning what is that key for).

  2. I have downloaded a softcopy of those keycodes which was generated by steemit.com (official website).

  3. I have noted down my keycodes to an excel sheet and locked them with a secret passcode.

  4. I copied that keycodes softcopy to my pen drive. So that I can easily access it. I kept that pen drive to my locker for safety.

  5. I also uploaded the keycodes to my google drive. So that I can easily access it from anywhere in the world.

  6. I prefer to use some locker applications which can manage our passcodes easily.

Question NO 04: Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Answer: Yeah. I know how can I transfer my steem tokens to another steem user account. Lemme just show you how I can transfer my steem token. So let’s get started.

STEP 01: We have to Login into our steem wallet through the private active keycode.

1.png

STEP 02: Then we go to the steem section and click on that dropdown sign. Then some options will emerge in a box.

2.png

3.png

After that our 1st step would be to click on the Transfer option. Then the next page would take us to a page like this given below.

4.png

When we see this small window open, then we will place the user name we wanna transfer our steem tokens and the amount we want to transfer in the amount box.

STEP 03: Finally our last step would be to check once again the information we gave and if everything is okay. Then, we are good to go. By clicking the Next button we are all set.

Question NO 05: Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

Answer: Yeah, obviously I know how to power up my steem. It’s a very easy and common process for a steem community member. We all use this process very frequently. So let’s just show you guy’s in a jiffy how I power up my steem.

STEP 01: We have to Login into our steem wallet through the private active keycode.

1.png

STEP 02: Then we go to the steem section and click on that dropdown sign. Then some options will emerge in a box.

2.png

5.png

After that our 1st step would be to click on the Power Up option. Then the next page would take us to a page like this given below.

6.png

And now, we just have to ensure an amount and click on a Power Up button. Boom! We are all set. We have completed our task. Moreover, the rest of this work is gonna be in the hands of steemit’s auto process.

So, In the end, I hope my content was helpful and informative for all the Steemit community members and I would love to share new posts with you guys. If you guy’s like this post! Just stay connected with me. Thank you all. Have a great day...

Best Regards,
@dantemaan01

Special Thanks To,

@tarpan
@focusnow
@svm038
@juichi
@radjasalman
@ngoenyi
@wilmer1988
@boss75
@hassanabid
@lovveday
@dilchamo

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Congratulations!

You have successfully completed this achievement task, you can now proceed to complete the next achievement task at your own convenience. Learn more

Good luck
Rate 2

Check out this new publication of great importance

 2 years ago 

Hi, @dantemaan01,

Your post has been supported by @lovveday from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42