Achievement 2 @clockspeed20 Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

ALL IS LOST THAT WAS GONE

An unforgiving strand of eyelash poked into my now teary eyes as I let go off my brand new vivo Y21 device. It dropped with a resounding thud but it didn't matter to me as I came to the horrific reality that it was all gone; my Steem, Steem Power all of it, gone with my lost phone some weeks back. All effort to recover my Steemit account proved abortive as it kept demanding for my master key which I had in my lost phone but hadn't backed any up.

"Hope you have retrieved all your keys?" @focusnow had asked me over a chat some months back when I signed up.

"Yes boss", came my mischievous reply. I giggled to myself, it always amused me how easy it was to lie. Not that I meant to lie though. He had tutored me and several newbies via an intentional WhatsApp presentation on each key, it's function and restrictions.

I can vividly reminisce that memorable session when he made us understand how the posting key was for everyday logins and how this frequently used key allowed us post, vote, comment, resteem other posts, mute as well as follow other accounts.

"You all should be mindful though, that the frequent use of the posting key can easily compromise it"

The Memo key, he had told us, was used in the process of transferring funds, to encrypt and decrypt memos. To actually transfer funds one needed a different key known as the Active key which could also be utilized to power up/down transactions, place a market order or vote a witness.

"The most important key of all", @beautybb had further emphasized during the class, "was the Owner key". It's a no brainer why that is. I understood from her meticulous explanation that this very key could be use to generate or alter the other keys.

"The only thing more important that your owner key", she went on still, "is your Master password. This is because it can be used to generate and reset even the owner key".

"Hope you have retrieved all your keys?!" The voice resounded still in my head with an audacious tone finessed with mockery.

I shut two reddened eyes and bit hard into my lips. I had planned to store my keys offline, in print form to be specific. Procrastination has always gotten the better of me and now I had no choice but to face the music. My brain echoed the bitter sound of a judgemental ukulele, distorted in every rhythm by its loose strings which reminding me yet again of my irreversible loss.

More regrettably was the fact that I had just powered up my Steem Power for the first time. I had over 75 Steems in liquid form and had converted all of it into Steem Power by clicking on the Wallet button.

Screenshot_20220104_211148~2.jpg

This brought out my Steem, Steem Power and Steem Backed Dollar info in that order, with a drop down box indicated by a small reversed triangle and highlighted in green.

Screenshot_20220104_214201~2.jpg

I clicked specifically on the drop down box for the first subject, the Steem which popped up several options.

Screenshot_20220104_214043~2.jpg

I clicked Power up. I was asked to confirm how many Steem I wanted to power up.

Screenshot_20220104_214109~2.jpg

Screenshot_20220104_214109~3.jpg

I converted them all then hit the Power Up button.

Screenshot_20220104_214119~2.jpg

I had the option to add a memo which I didn't found necessary and hit the Okay button straight up. It was that easy!

Screenshot_20220104_214133~2.jpg

Just when I had understood my Steemit Wallet fully, I lost all of it and as I had no control over the hands of time, all is lost that was gone.

Alas now, I have no choice but to start all over again, with a firm resolve to back up all my keys offline, especially in print form and above all double up my consistency to regain all I have lost.

Sort:  

Hi @clockspeed20

Congratulations, your achievement 2 is verified.

You can advance and complete Achievement 3 and meet its requirements to continue advancing and increase the opportunity to receive support from Steem Greeters and be eligible to apply for 500 SP minnowsupport.

Remember to use the #Achievement3 and #(your country) tags and post from Newcomers' Community.

I invite you to join the Steemit Crypto Academy Read here to know more

I invite you to be part of the # club5050, where we must power up an amount equal to or greater than the withdrawn Steem.

I invite you to follow @steemitblog so that you are aware of the latest updates.

Rate 3

 3 years ago 

Hi, @clockspeed20,

Your post has been supported by @inspiracion from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51