ACHIEVEMENT 4 BY @chiomavia TASK: APPLYING MARKDOWNS.

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

INTRODUCTION

IMG-20211221-WA0025.jpg

Hello everyone, hope you all are doing great. Today, I will be making my achievement 4 post, which is titled applying markdown. Markdown are those technique bloggers apply on their post on steemit to make it readable. When a post is nicely formatted using markdown, it makes it easy to read and understand. In this post, I will be writing about my childhood Christmas memories while applying markdown.

IT'S CHRISTMAS AGAIN

IMG-20211221-WA0023.jpg

As a year new begins, everyone hopefully look forward to the end of it, while wishing to meet up with the target for the year. One good thing about year end, is that it doesn't not just end like that, it ends with lots of celebration. I must say December is specially reserved for family reunions, wedding, exchanging of gifts and lot's more. Most people only get to see their relations during Christmas. And hence, the bountiful preparations. As a child, Christmas is the time to get new dress, shoe, and accessories both from uncle's and parents. Every child truely look forward to Christmas, because of the fun and memories that comes with it. This got me reminiscing how fun Christmas was as a child.As an adult, Christmas is the time to travel to the village to see aged parents with lot's of goodies and probably explain to them why you didn't bring home a partner, especially if you are above 30years. Most male adults are faced with lots of pressure to provide for everyone in their lives during this season; parents, siblings, wife, children and girlfriends. Is not always an easy season for most of them because, they have lots of bills to pay. As an elderly person, Christmas is the time to see and spend time with their children and grandchildren.

“Christmas is the season of joy, of gift-giving, and of families united.” “Peace on earth will come to stay when we live Christmas every day." "He who has not Christmas in his heart will never find it under a tree." >

Some people only celebrate Christmas, but they do not really know what it means. In my terms, Christmas is the annual festival of the Christian church commemorating the birth of Jesus: celebrated on December 25 and now generally observed as a legal holiday. In as much as, 25th is the real date for Christmas, every other day starting from 20th December is considered Christmas to me.

CHILDHOOH MEMORIES OF CHRISTMAS.

Growing up in a typical African home, which includes my five siblings and parents, Christmas is always celebrated in the village. Few months before December each year, my mom always go to market to buy fabrics, children watches, eye glasses, shoeand children toy for us. I couldn't fathom why my dad always prefer we sew clothes, instead of buying already made like other children. Of course, you dare not complain because you might end up without Christmas outfit. The most annoying part is that, mom will still give those fabrics to a tailor that will sure make oversized clothes because they would want you to still wear those clothes as you grow up.
When school finally vacates for Christmas holiday, real enjoyment begins. I must say Christmas holiday is more fun in the village, as I, my siblings and cousins always do alot of adventures. We always go to the bush to pick star fruit (udara), eating a big tray of stew rice and chicken together with my cousins, visiting relatives, going for Christmas carol ,banga war and watching masquerade.

On the eve of Christmas, my mum spends most of her day in the kitchen frying chicken and making stew for Christmas. We are forbidden to go to Christmas Eve Mass because of the excessive throwing of fireworks.
Then, on 25th early morning, my older sister will dress us up for church with our new dress, new shoe, wrist watch, eye glasses, necklace and earrings. We always look so beautiful on that day. By the time we are back from church, Christmas rice and stew is ready. You eat and drink to your satisfaction.

“Like snowflakes, my Christmas memories gather and dance—each beautiful, unique, and gone too soon.”

I really enjoyed Christmas celebration as a kid and the memories live ever green in my heart.
But as I grow older, the excitement of Christmas keep diminishing. Is no longer exciting as it used to be. Last year's Christmas celebration was the boriest I have ever had. I am already making plans for this year's celebration. I surely hope it will be fun and better. Merry Christmas in advance.

Below are links to my achievement posts.

AchievementLinks
Task 1Link
Task 2Link
Task 3Link
Thank you for going through my post.

Cc
@cinnymartins
@cryptokannon

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hi, @chiomavia,

Your post has been supported by the the Steem Greeter Team.

Always practice those helpful markdowns to emblaze your Steemit blogs. It helps a lot in making your article presentable to your readers and the curators. My advice is, if possible you needed to memorize those necessary markdowns. For the latest updates and important announcements, don't forget to follow @steemitblog and visit the Steemit Crypto Academy for you to learn about cryptocurrency.

You have been verified for this task and you may now proceed to Achievement 5: Understanding The Steem Tools at your comfort. Please refer to the guide on the Newcomers Achievement Program on the Notice Board pinned post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.35
ETH 2687.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50