ACHIEVEMENT 2 TASK @chiomavia: BASIC SECURITY STEEM

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

TZjG7hXReeVoAvXt2X6pMxYAb3q65xMju8wryWxKrsghkPV6e3nWoJ4VUuCC8kVGP1ZukUCpicTQnKE9peTkdEid9b9Na72KwwwjDmmMRq9w8mkvA858mmbaxbuRjQ36c3pW2SNoaRpPHx.jpeg

Greetings to my fellow steemians. Firstly, I sincerely want to thank this community for making steemit easy to navigate by introducing the achievement tasks.
Having been verified after completing my achievement 1 task, I wish to proceed with my 2nd achievement task, which is on Basic Security on Steemit.

Security is the state of being or feeling secured, protected and safe from harm. Basic security on Steemit, gives newcomers insight on how to secure their account and the usefulness of each of the permission keys in steemit.
Having read through all the information on different keys on steem, I would like to give my view on the asked questions.

QUESTION 1
Have you retrieve all your keys on Steemit?

Yes, the first thing I did after registration was to retrieve my keys. These keys are posting, active, owner and memo keys.

Screenshot_20211202-054511.jpg

QUESTION 2
Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions.

Yes, I know each of these key functions and restrictions. I have clearly studied and understood all the keys used on Steemit.
The functions and restrictions of these keys include:

  1. Master password: It is used to generate the other four keys. When I sign up steemit for the first time, I was given master password, which was used to generate the other four keys.
    3jpR3paJ37V8JxyWvtbhvcm5k3roJwHBR4WTALx7XaoRovoErbjY9HqPLD31YhpvMxBgT6Stk8sKEoTdYTF51CquEdhPpXJXExtCfLJmpq9BnGZB4osaM2NUbSiW7QuL8Sa1C.jpeg

  2. Posting key: It is used to login, post, edit, resteem, vote and comment on people's post. It is the most used key on steem it.
    It can only be used for social activities, it cannot be used to access or manipulate your wallet. It is restricted to transferring of tokens, steem power up and down.
    Screenshot_20211202-130816.jpg

  3. Active key: it is a very sensitive key and usually used to perform sensitive tasks such as transferring funds, power up and down and placing market order. Active key cannot be used in making post on steemit.

  4. Owner key: It changes all permission keys such as posting key, active key and memo key and also used for account recovery when lost.

  5. Memo key: it is used for encrypting and decrypting messages and conversion of document when transferring funds.

QUESTION 3
How do plan to keep you Master password?

Because there is no way to recover my account if my password or owner key is lost, I plan to keep my master key password 100% safe by storing it offline using my flash drive. I already have a printed paper of my master password. It is also saved in my email.

Question 4
Do you know how to transfer steem ?

Yes, I know how to transfer steem .
To transfer steem to another user simply follow this guideline,

  • login to steemit.

  • go to wallet.
    20211202_134526.jpg

  • click on drop down steem and click transfer.

  • enter the receivers username and amount of steem to be transferred.
    Screenshot_20211202-130850.jpg

  • click on next and complete the process by entering your active key.

QUESTION 5
Do you know how to power your steem?

Yes, to power your steem means to convert liquid steem to an investment form called steem power.
To power steem the following things are done:

  • Login to steemit

  • click on wallet.

  • click on the drop-down steem, click on power up
    20211202_134751.jpg

  • enter the amount of steem to be powered up, then click on power up. Complete the transaction with the active key.
    Screenshot_20211202-131117.jpg

I must applaud how far steemit go to ensure steemians account is safeguarded. If the safety precautions are followed strictly, nobody will loose their account, data and fund on steemit.
Thank you @cryptokannon for making the achievement task so that we newcomers can learn.
Thank you everyone for your support this far. I appreciate.
My regards.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Congratulations !

You have successfully completed achievment 2 task on "Basic Security on Steem". You can now proceed to Achivement 3 : Content Etiquette.

Curation Rate - 3


Follow @steemitblog for the latest updates and news on steemit platfrom and follow @steemingcurators for find more information about new contests and events.

 3 years ago 

Thank you

 3 years ago 

Hi, @chiomavia,

Your post has been supported by @svm038 from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59356.21
ETH 2723.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53