Achievement 2 by brendalisa01| Basic security on STEEMIT|mentorship by @cryptokannon

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Security usually has to do with keeping something safe from danger or harm's way. So, basic security on STEEMIT platform refers to how steemit keys can be protected to avoid one's account from being compromised or lost.

HAVE YOU RETRIEVED YOUR KEYS ON STEEMIT?
It is very important to note that you must you use your keys to access your steemit account and that without the keys, nothing can be done in the account.
After verification from steemit account, I was given my master password which I changed. It is used to retrieve all other keys such as; posting key, owner key and memo key. So, I can say I have retrieved all my keys.

DO YOU KNOW EACH OF THESE KEY FUNCTIONS AND RESTRICTIONS?
In steemit, the fact remains that each key has it's own functions. I will highlight the various functions of the keys:

i. Posting key
This is often used in one's daily interaction on the platform such as logging in, posting, commenting, resteeming a post, following people and even muting accounts.

ii. Active key
This key is needed when one wants to perform some transactions on the platform such as; transferring tokens like steem and SBD, power steem up and down, performing SBD conversion, placing an order for exchange, voting for witnesses, editing profiles and creating new user.

iii. Master key
This key is very important. It is the very first key given after registration and is used to generate all other keys. It is used mainly when you are doing account recovery.

iv. Owner key
This is a powerful key used to reset other keys like the masters, active and posting keys. It is also used to recover one's account and decline voting rights.

v. Memo key
This key is used to view and send an encrypted message.

HOW DO YOU PLAN TO KEEP YOUR MASTER PASSWORD?
The master password is very important as it is used to generate other keys in one's account. If lost or compromised, all tokens could possibly be lost. I plan to save it as a document and upload in my Gmail where I save other documents. I also plan on storing an offline copy in a digital offline storage device like a flash drive and on a printed paper and secure it in my safe box. I have done this too.

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO TRANSFER YOUR STEEM TOKEN TO ANOTHER STEEM USER ACCOUNT?
Transferring my steem token to another user takes a very simple process. To be able to do that,I first logged into my account with my posting key and clicked on my image at the top right and selected wallet.

Screenshot_20211008-160046.jpg

This takes me to my wallet. Then I signed into my wallet with my username and active key. Upon logging in, I clicked on the drop down arrow close to steem and selected transfer.

Screenshot_20211008-183817.jpg

Then I typed in the username of the account I want to transfer to and then clicked next.

Screenshot_20211008-163804.jpg

Finally,I clicked OK to confirm the transfer.

Screenshot_20211008-163939.jpg

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO POWER UP YOUR STEEM?
Power up is process where liquid steem is converted into steem power. This is done in the wallet. After signing into my wallet with my username and active key,I clicked on the drop down close to steem to select power up.

Screenshot_20211008-183805.jpg

Then I typed in the amount of steem I want and clicked power up.

Screenshot_20211008-164646.jpg

I am grateful to @cryptokannon. I am also grateful to @ngoenyi and @michaelu40 for their assistance. I really appreciate. I love you steemit🥰🥰🥰🥰

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Welcome to steemit dear
welcome to steemit continue to post your achievement using this guides
Lists of Achievements by Cryptokannon

You can check out our new community, where quality post must be upvoted before the expire, and give aways will be done monthly

Please Just visit Africa on steemit

Steem Promo Africa
Make posts And subscribe for free

You can join any community you wish using this to link Explore steem communities then you scroll down to community of your choices and subscribe (it's absolutely free)

Helloo @brendalisa01. I am Alejandro, one of the Greeter Helpers team members.

I stop by to inform you that I have successfully verified your achievement. You can now proceed with the program and perform your achievement #3, which is based on content etiquettes. Here I leave you the link to a publication about it, so that you can develop your next activity. Remember that the achievements' posts must be posted within the Newcomers' Community. Success for you.

Important information: remember that completing your tasks up to achievement #4 of the achievement program makes you eligible to be part of the support program for newcomers called 500SP Minnowsupport. I invite you to continue performing your other achievements.

TASK RATE
: 2

Notes: You need to attach your link to achievement 1.

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much sir. I appreciate

 3 years ago 

Hi, @brendalisa01,

Your post has been supported by @tarpan from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much 🥰🥰🥰 I so much appreciate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61180.86
ETH 2456.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57