Achievement 2 @anusha96 Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!
I have already posted my introduction post to this Steem Greet as my first achievement. Now I'm here to post my next achievement and hope to share my knowledge and ideas on basic security on Steem.

2020-07-14-15-20-07-233-1.jpg

I have retrieved all my keys on Steemit. I opened my wallet and go to keys & permissions. And got an idea about key system of Steemit. Then I revealed keys one by one including posting key, active key and owner key. I saved and stored them safely.

As I am a new Steemit user I have to learn so many things about this different keys and security measures. But I have read information and got sufficient understanding about them. Steem issued four keys which have different permissions to keep us safe.

The posting key which is used frequently for everyday logins. It gives permission for some sort of social actions like posting, commenting, voting and following people. But this key is unable to used for monetary actions.

Active key has permission for wallet related actions. So need to be more careful with active key.

The Owner key is required to change other keys. it's the most important key and should be securely stored offline.

Memo key is a bit of an outlier.

I know that keeping my master password safely is very very important because if someone has access to my master password they can steal my account and all those things. So we must save and keep it safe. I planned to keep my master password as an offline copy because I think it is safe method. I saved it on a file in my USB drive.

I have no transfer my Steem token to another Steem user account yet. But I know the method of transferring Steem token to another one. On our Steemit wallet has STEEM. There you can see how much Steem you have. First click on the drop down box and scroll down and choose "Transfer". Then fill the dialogue box which asked to, amount and memo. Then click next and you can continue the transferring.

I have no try to power up my Steem yet. I have read the article by @kiwiscanfly on Understanding your Steemit Wallet and got better understanding of how to power up my Steem.

Finally I would like to thank @kiwiscanfly and @cryptokannon for your guiding post. Because they were great support for doing this task.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Welcome to steem blockchain, @anusha96

As a newbie, here are some of the resources that may help you to grow on steem blockchain.

  1. https://steem.center - a resource to learn more about steem.
  2. htpps://steemworld.org - if you become active on steem, you are likely to use this resource daily.
  3. https://auto.steemdb.online - a very useful tool to auto vote your favorite steem user.
  4. https://stateofthedapps.com - you get an overall view of the dapps on steem blockchain. Check the dapps out to find out which one appeals to you.
  5. https://unsplash.com and https://pixabay.com - are good sources of malware-free free images that you can use in your blog.

Finally, don't forget to check out the new Ask.Steem Community at https://steempeak.com/c/hive-153264/created. You may love it. It is both intellectually and financially rewarding.

Congratulations! You have passed the Achievement 2 on Basic Security, please get ready for the next task on Achievement 3: Content Etiquette here
See you soon! 😊


Follow @ steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community and other writing challenges and contest such as #theshoppinggame #thelucky10s and #thediarygame Season 2 that will start in August.

Checkout @steemingcurators daily showcase featuring all writing contests and other community challenges that ongoing on Steem Community.


Thank you so much @cryptokannon. I already posted my Achievement 3 task and this is the link for it. https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@anusha96/achievement-3-by-anusha96-task-content-etiquette
Hope your valuable feedback comment there also.
And I am eagerly waiting for participating #thediarygame Season 2.
Thank you again!!!

 4 years ago 

You have been upvoted by Steem Greeters from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.


Follow @ steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community and other writing challenges and contest such as #theshoppinggame #thelucky10s and #thediarygame Season 2 that will start in August.


Thank you so much @steemcurator03 for voting me and your feedback comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41