Achievement 4 Task by @akcares : Applying Markdowns

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Hi guys, I am excited about the prospect of completing my achievement 4 tasks. Honestly, I am skeptical about this. The things I am seeing for this task are looking so challenging. I am seeing this as a challenge which I will try all me possible best to make the best of. I am grateful to @cryptokannon for putting up this post as a guide to enable me complete this task. I also acknowledge other key Admins of the newcomers community.

This task is solely about applying various kinds of markdown tools and formatting styles. I know that to make more easily readable posts and contents, one need to apply some basic formatting skills and techniques.

For this achievement task, I will be treating the topic of revolution and will be using one of my favourite human rights activist, Martin Luther King Jr as a subject matter. Somewhere along the line, I will just be writing my own thoughts and contents.

PicsArt_06-22-04.26.05.jpg

There are some established markdown procedures and format.

Creating Heading with Hash Signs

The first markdown tool I want to practice is how to create headings. By placing the #sign and a space before typing the wordings of the heading, you will be able to effective create a nice heading. The number of # signs determined the size of the heading. The more the hash signs, the less the size of heading.

The Revolution

The Revolution

The Revolution

The Revolution

Alternatively, to get heading 2 you can write the heading and then add three dashes or three equality signs underneath them respectively.

How the Revolution Happened (Creating Heading 2)

How the Revolution Happened (Creating Heading 1)

I needed the heading to be centralized, so I used some mark down format.

What Triggered the Revolution (Creating Centered Heading)

Since creating posts involves using texts, I can manipulate my texts in many ways. I know how to justify my texts. That is, every line ending together and starting together in a straight line.

A revolution is always an outrage against sustained oppression and ineptitude of most leaders. Once there is oppression and revolt is always imminent. This particular paragraph you are reading is formatted using the markdown tools as given in the tutorial. I am quite impressed by how effective this is as it makes the post to be quite neat, tidy and easy to read. With a properly justified post, the writer give an impression or cordination and attention.

Difference between Rebellion and Revolution ( Align text into two cells)

Rebellion is opposition to one in authority or dominance. Open, armed, and usually unsuccessful defiance of or resistance to an established government. An instance of such defiance or resistance.
***

In political science, a revolution (Latin: revolutio, "a turn around") is a fundamental and relatively sudden change in political power and political organization which occurs when the population revolts against the government, typically due to perceived oppression (political, social, economic) or political incompetence. Source

You can see the example below. This makes content look good.

History of Martin Luther King Junior (Creating Centered Texts)


Martin Luther King Jr. (born Michael King Jr.; January 15, 1929 – April 4, 1968) was an American Baptist minister and activist who became the most visible spokesperson, leader in the American civil rights movement from 1955 until his assassination in 1968. King advanced civil rights through nonviolence and civil disobedience, inspired by his Christian beliefs and the nonviolent activism of Mahatma Gandhi. He was the son of early civil rights activist Martin Luther King Jr and was also husband of Coretta Scott. Source

I believe this particular achievement task is awesome. I never knew I could do so much with my texts. Just look at how nice this paragraph looks. With simple commands I have been able to do this.

I am having real fun with this achievement task. Though, I believe it is the toughest so far. So let me take you to the next thing I want to do.
I think I have done justice to the revolution issue, I will now try to write my own words in the coming parts.

## Presenting Chemical Formula (How to Add a Subscript)

I can simply create a Subscript using markdown tools. Like the the chemical formula for carbon di oxide which goes thus: CO2 or Ozone as O3.

My Intended Earning (How to Create a Superscript)

Yes, quite interestingly, I have also learned how to create superscript. Like the amount of money I wish to be earning which is about 100100. Or when I wish to add a reference to my work, where I can easily add it at the end of the sentence as this ref

Creating Links to my Profile Page in Steemit

Steemit as a web based platform has some features that require using uniform resource locators and links. There are some basic formatting tools needed to manipulate links.
For usernames, I know that to change them to links, I can add the the symbol, "@" at the beginning of the name without any space. This changes the username to link. For instance, the username, apphiahaer, my friend, become a link when I write it as @apphiahacer.
Also on Steemit, any time a web address is added, it immediately becomes a link. To demonstrate this using https://steemit.com/@akcares

Still about links, I can add or his links inside some words with some group of commands. For instance the my name Akan Edo contains a link to my username.

States in Nigeria and their Capitals (Creating Tables in Steemit).

I want to list out the states and capital in Nigeria.
To create a table I will simply use a set of commands and input the necessary details. The markdown format just need to be edited to suit the kind of table needed.

Table

CountryCapital
NigeriaAbuja
GermanyMunich
GhanaAccra
SpainMadrid
EnglandLondon

Adding Codes

You might need to effect some minor formatting styles like bolding and italicizing. There are some mark down format used in achieving this.
I have used the formatting option for this line.

Martin Luther King Jr Quotes (Making Use of Quotation and Block Quotation

Some times, you might have to get someone's words exactly as they were said. Thus you will need to quote the expression.
So, with some markdown tools I was able to do this.

“Life’s most persistent and urgent question is, ‘What are you doing for others?"
"Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.”
“Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.”
“We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope.”
“Forgiveness is not an occasional act. It is a permanent attitude.”
“I have decided to stick with love. Hate is too great a burden to bear.”
“Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase."
“Life’s most persistent and urgent question is, ‘What are you doing for others?'”
“Love is the only force capable of transforming an enemy into friend.”
“Never succumb to the temptation of bitterness.”
“The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.”
“We may have all come on different ships, but we’re in the same boat now.”

Applying Line Break

There is also need to break a line of sentences apart. So, I would use the command
to include an extra line space as follows; Martin Luther king king Jr:
an activist, a social influencer, a trail blazer and a revolution leader.

Aligning Images

Images can be positioned at any area of the screen. Using some markdown methods, a picture can be kept at either the center, right or left side.


I have learned how to move a picture like this one above to any position on the screen.

Aligning Picture to the Left

At some point when I had fewer problems in life I was always glowing.

Aligning Picture to the Right

I remain grateful however to my creator because I have come a long way.

Aligning Picture at the Center


Life is stressful, but we are moving.

Aligning and Adding Link to an Image

I love this. I believe that with the right markdown tools, a post can be made quite attractive.

IMG_20190820_140329_739.jpg
A hustling young man.

Great guys, this is my post for Achievement 4 Task

@cryptokannon
@bright-obias
@ngoenyi

My mentor @utibeoeffiongart. Thank you.

Here is my achieevement 1 post link.
https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@akcares/reintroduction-post-for-achievement-1

Here is the post link to my achievement 2 task
https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@akcares/achievement-2-akcares-task-basic-security-on-steem

Here is my achievement 3 task
Achievement 3 by @akcares Task : Content Etiquette

#achievement4
#steemexclusive
#steemit
#nigeria

Sort:  

Hi i am Sumit one of the team member of Steem Greeter.

I am happy to announce that i have successfully verified your achievement 4 post. Now you are eligible for performing your achievement 5 which is about Understanding the Steem tools. You can refer this post for your next task.

Note:

Rate:3

 3 years ago 

Hi, @akcares,

Your post has been supported by @abuahmad from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Thank you for the upvotes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99