Achievement 3 by @akcares Task : Content Etiquette

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Hello Steemians,

I trust we are all doing great. I would love you to take out time and read the following sections. I am certain you will not be bored. I feel happy that I am finally doing this after I have been putting it off for so long a time. Many challenges and things took my time.
I really hope I will increase the pace from now.

IMG-20210601-WA0000.jpg

I will be attempting to answer the question below.
What is plagiarism?

Plagiarism is the representation of another author's language, thoughts, ideas, or expressions as one's own original work. " Source

Screenshot_20210601-092817.png
A wikipedia page from where I got some input from.

Accordingly, in my own words, plagiarism is the act of using other people's original works, either their writings, pictures or otherwise, as being our own initiative and this involve a lack of referencing or acknowledging of the source.
What are the Types of Plagiarism?
In my research for this post, I have been able to discover that there are different types of plagiarism depending on some criteria. Let me lead you into what I found.

"Direct Plagiarism
Direct plagiarism is the word-for-word transcription of a section of someone else’s work, without attribution and without quotation marks. The deliberate plagiarism of someone else's work is unethical, academically dishonest, and grounds for disciplinary actions, including expulsion.

Self Plagiarism
Self-plagiarism occurs when someone submits his or her own previous work, or mixes parts of previous works, without permission from all the instructors involved. Self-plagiarism also applies to submitting the same piece of work in different places without previous permission.

Mosaic Plagiarism
Mosaic Plagiarism occurs when a someone borrows phrases from a source without using quotation marks, or finds synonyms for the author’s language while keeping to the same general structure and meaning of the original. Sometimes called “patch writing,” this kind of paraphrasing, whether intentional or not, is dishonest and punishable.

Accidental Plagiarism
Accidental plagiarism occurs when a person neglects to cite their sources, or misquotes their sources, or unintentionally paraphrases a source by using similar words, groups of words, and/or sentence structure without attribution.
." Source

I have made efforts to ensure that all borrowed information are properly referenced as seen above. This is according to the requirements and standard of Steemit as well as the protocols of citation.

Screenshot_20210601-092833.png
A page I got some of my information from.

Why do People Plagiarize?

I am aware that many people go into plagiarism. These persons certainly have their reasons though they are not justifiable. To me, I feel some of the causes of plagiarism is:
Laziness: Sometimes to avoid stress and hard work, we simply want to copy a thing and paste as being our own. We don't want to face the rigor of cracking our brains or researching. Worse off is that we don't even attempt to show that the idea is not originally ours.

Desire for Speed: We might want to quickly finish up and article or a write up and may not wish to take the time to build them ourselves so we simply copy ideas from others and do not have the patience to acknowledge these sources.

Lack of Content; Though this might seem harsh but it is the truth. There are times when we do not have sufficient or relevant content to post. It might be a contest or entry that we have no idea about but yet want to participate in. This makes some persons attempt to get people's work and post.

Ignorance: As lame as this may seem, some persons do not fully understand the concept of plagiarism. What constitutes plagiarism and how it can be avoided, is not obvious to these persons. Hopefully, this achievement task will be an eye opener.

Poor Attitude: Generally, people who consciously plagiarise do so as a result of their inherent poor attitude. They are simply not ready to do the right things so they take short cuts.

Screenshot_20210601-055501.png
Markdown codes for citing text.

How can You Avoid Plagiarism?
There are tools and methods one can use to avoid plagiarism. Here on Steemit, there a tool called the markup template. This template is used in imputing the source form which an item was gotten from. This item could be a picture or text.

For text that are copied, some rules of plagiarism apply. If the text was copied word for word, then a quotation sign (") must be used at the beginning and ending of the text. Also, it is wise to italicize the part that is being copied. At times a text or idea that has been copied may not be put in quotation if it is not rendered word for word, still the reference source must be indicated.

creator-sitting-desk-working-plagiarist-260nw-1355908733.webp
Image Source

vector-businessman-magnet-stealing-ideas-260nw-1847941024.webp

Image Source

From the two photos above, you can see the concept of plagiarism as it is being represented.
You can also see that I have cited the sources of my photos accordingly.

Screenshot_20210601-045327.png
Markdown codes for citing a photo.

Why is it Important to Avoid Plagiarism?

Avoiding plagiarism is a necessary thing because it has some important purposes. Firstly, not plagiarizing shows respect and regard for the person proof of brain. You recognize the owners efforts and initiative when proper referencing is done.

Also, avoiding plagiarism shows honesty and integrity on the part of the writer. It shows that you are not insensitive and greedy and that you do not absorb someone else's glory as your own.

Furthermore, refusing to plagiarize contents gives credence and originality to a post. These are many others are the reasons we should avoid plagiarism.

Personally, I admire originality. So I am one who will always strive to ensure that my post are well referenced and cited. I am working to ensure that I do not directly or indirectly involve in plagiarism. Soon, I will be using my own design pictures sometimes to make some post.

"I have read and understood the Steemit Etiquette on Steemit Community and will do my best to embrace them".

Here is my achieevement 1 post link.
https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@akcares/reintroduction-post-for-achievement-1

Here is the post link to my achievement 2 task
https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@akcares/achievement-2-akcares-task-basic-security-on-steem

@cryptokannon
@briaght-obias
@focusnow
@ngoenyi
@utibeoeffiongart
#achievement3
#Nigeria
#steemexclusive
#newbie

Sort:  

hi @akcares, I am pleased to inform you that your achievement 3 task has been verified, you may now move to the next achievement task which is about applying markdown.
I encourage you to complete all the Achievement posts by @cryptokannon. Click here.
Thanks for your successful completion of this task
task rate:2

 3 years ago 

Hi, @akcares,

Your post has been supported by @adeljose from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81