Entry Steem Inspiration contest: An unforgettable day

in Steem Inspiration3 years ago

Was there an unforgettable day in my life?

They say it's the day you leave school, passed your exams. The day you find a job or get married or the day you know you are pregnant and give birth.
All these days I remember. They are unforgettable in a way, not a good way.
Marriage was a disaster, pregnancy and giving birth was and at that time life was hard and so was my first job. I worked at a library one ruled by a very religious mayor. It felt like surviving again. I knew I was no part of the society, that village, I felt like back at home again. The abusive home where I was only good to be kicked, molested and hatred. That home I literally escaped could only leave after my mother tried to strangle me again. It wasn't allowed by my father to leave without giving her a good reason to do so.
I was beaten up, choked, locked up (or is it in), I have been scolded at my entire life.
If you ask me what my most unforgettable day is I need to think, ask myself if there was an unforgettable day at all. Is there such a day in a life filled with horror because I remember it all. The phonecalls, being beaten up by my ex as I left the front door in the presence of my children, a neighbour molesting my front door with an axe because I wasn't interested in him, in-laws calling animal care out of envy, family who let me down and haunts me till today...

PhotoGrid_1622441413844.jpg

A memorable day...

It was as I had my own apartment thanks to my child but I guess The real day was the moment fear left me for knowledge. I no longer hid behind the sofa, tried to make others not complain about me. It was the day I decided to take what is mine. I claimed my territory to make the neighbours stop gossiping and bullying. I finally figured out my ex and family are more afraid of me than I am of them.
"You have to show yourself, give them something to talk about. Take what is yours," a friend said.
It was a wise lesson. I stopped being quiet, switched the radio on and played it loud, opened the curtains and we discussed outside what we would do next.
It worked from the first moment on. I finally gave them a reason to talk about and believe me that feels so much better than to be accessed to things you never thought, said or have done.

To me each moment I fight for me is unforgettable. I have a very good and detailed memory and I will never give up on myself. The prices I paid are higher than anyone can imagine and what I went through will be part of me forever and affects my children too.

This is my entry to the Steem Inspiration contest The unforgettable day hosted by @supo1.
Read the rules before you join.

Read an earlier mystory and know each moment is unforgettable.

your_gif_from_mp4togif_com_1622024534120.gif

Sort:  

You are a survivor. You went through bad experiences but you managed to overcome the situation and live the way you want to be.

Yes, that's what I tell myself. I am a survivor. I just need to find a way to live too.

Greetings, I'm glad you managed to move on and get rid of fear.
Not everyone succeeds and ends up being sicker than their attackers.

Thank you for your kind words. I wish you a great weekend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66