The Diary Game: Back to AVRC to Volunteer

in Steemit Philippines2 years ago

IMG_20221104_104640.jpg

The last time I'm able to volunteer at AVRC (or Area 1 Vocational and Rehabilitation Center) was last September. That time, it was our first to cone to visit after 3 years. Covid19 pandemic has made a reset on our lives as we are getting back to normalcy.

Our friends wanted us to join so my wife and I decided to set the schedule. Besides, we miss such voluntary work which I have been one of the primary volunteers way back. The pandemic has changed everything, and I'm a married man now. Also, the costs for the fare is expensive. Everything has doubled so we have to live according to the budget.

IMG_20221104_104424.jpg

When we got there, I decide to take lead. I haven't done this here for a long time. Last September, our friend has led the short lecture. We're actually visiting deaf students in this vocational schools. Aside from deaf people, other persons with disabilities are admitted. Our purpose are the deaf people because we are involved in sign language community.

IMG_20221104_104443.jpg

There are six students right there. Sadly, two students has already graduated. Some from these six students will be undergoing on the job training (or OJT) soon. So we are expecting less students soon, unless new ones will enroll.

IMG_20221104_104459.jpg

They are so attentive during the lecture. We actually discussed about smoking. I'm happy to hear that none of them are smoking. Some of them has tried smoking at a point in their lives due to curiosity. They didn't fall for the bait because they stopped immediately.

IMG_20221104_104614.jpg

Picture taking before we go.

IMG_20221104_104517.jpg

The weather is threatening. The sky is fine but the wind is becoming quite strong so we already left.

IMG_20221103_223808.jpg

After the voluntary work, we went to the mall to stroll, our friends will withdraw money, and we also bought to eat before we attend our weekend meetings in sign language.

My wife and I decided that we shall be supporting once a week or probably twice for a month. We are hopeful to do this often.

25% was sent to @null in support for #burnsteem25 #burnsteem

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Great to hear sir that you and your wife took the time to do volunteer work.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65231.30
ETH 2943.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66