My Favorite Vehicle Story

in India Speaks3 years ago

First of all I am happy to know that team India has a new community #steemindia, and I look forward to a good engagement in the community. I wish the community lot of power to thrive on Steem.

The community has come up with their first contest STEEMINDIA CONTEST#1: "Furnish Your Favorite Vehicle’s Story". I would encourage everyone to participate in the contest and win some exciting prizes.


So here's my response to the contest.


This story goes 5 years back when I shifted to Muscat for work. All my life back in India we owned a Car and commuting was never a hassle. Rather such a thing of lack of convenience would not even come to mind, and back in India, in Mumbai the public transport service is amazing. Be is Bus or Trains, the connectivity is good, the network is good. So even if you do not own a vehicle it is not a problem.

But when I shifted to Muscat, transport was all together a different scene. It is kind of mandatory for one to have a vehicle here if you wish to be independent in your travelling. The first set back that I had here was of travelling, because the public transport system is poor. Buses run majorly through highways only, there is no metro system yet in this country. 5 years back when I came there was no Uber service, the only thing available to commute was the local taxi, which would charge a bomb of a price. There is no meter system, so they would charge any random amount, which if I would convert to Indian rupees, my heart would sink. For a distance where I would pay 30 Rs in Mumbai here I would end up paying 300. And then the biggest challenge of all was the language, most of the cab drivers would only speak their local arabic language, and it would be the biggest challenge telling them where I wanted to travel.
I remember so many days, I would end up feeling so chained up frustrated and I would cry for this very little thing of mobilizing, which back home was never even a thought of concern.

The very first thing one needs to do here is buy a Car, but then again it is not so simple as it sounds. Getting a driving license is a bigger challenge then anything else in the whole process. It ideally takes one person almost 6 months to 1 year to get a driving license. If you are very very lucky you will get in the 4th or 5th attempt, else normally one goes through a minimum of 10 attempts before they give the license.

So finally after 10 months of settling in the country my hubby got his driving license and immediately the same day we went to the Car showroom to book our vehicle. We were so desperate that we could not wait for a day also. 10 months we were dependent on friends to go out anywhere. We could barely go out on weekends, because in those times since we were very new we did not even have many friends to accompany every weekend. Taxi we could not think taking it regularly else our half salary would go in paying the Taxi fares. Walking on the road here is not very normal, and summers you cannot do that with 50 degrees. It was like a real trap.

So you can understand my level of joy when my hubby got his license and the importance of our Car that we purchased. I had never bothered in my past for any vehicles as such, but this Car became very special to me. It was like getting my wings back, getting my freedom back. We had no more dependencies, we could go out any time anywhere at our own will and time.

The day we got the delivery of our car we celebrated by going out for a nice dinner. Seriously it was one of the best days of my life, I was almost in tears.
My baby, which I am so happy to have.
Screenshot_20220216-183422_Facebook.jpg

Screenshot_20220216-183401_Facebook.jpg

As soon as we got her home, I put a garland on it, did all the Indian tradition of welcoming something new at home, and I had kept some things ready to put in the car, so did all of that. My excitement was to the top and I am sure you understand the reason as well.
Screenshot_20220216-183429_Facebook.jpg

So that's the story of my favorite vehicle, my Car.
Screenshot_20220216-183410_Facebook.jpg

I will like to invite @sduttaskitchen, @layersinn and @aasifwani to participate in this contest.

Cc:@monz122
@steemcurator01
@steemcurator02

Thank you for visiting my blog. 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸

29074314-2B4D-4B6F-95BF-C36DA204CA63.gif


"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

A pleasant feeling to see you standing with team India again in this community and inviting others.
Your contest contents are superb, keeping Indian tradition alive at any corner of world like welcoming your car with garland and other rituals
A nice post.namaste 🙏🤗

 3 years ago 

Thank you. Our Motherland is always close to our heart no matter in which part of the world we live.

 3 years ago 

Congratulations for winning....This is my humble bless you got all success in your life which you want.

 3 years ago 

Thankyou so much for taking part and all the best for the rewards mam!

 3 years ago 

My pleasure, it was delightful to write on this one.

You are very lucky and have good thoughts. Prayers come out for you. Pray with heart and tongue. Whether you are in India or Muscat, keep on laughing and smiling.

 3 years ago 

Thank you for your good wishes

Thank you for bringing this development to my attention .

 3 years ago 

I hope you will participate

Excellent story. That vehicle became your favorite pet, you had to wait so long until you finally got it and it changed part of your life. Greetings.

 3 years ago 

When something comes after a good struggle and wait then it's all the more appreciated.

You have shared a great story about your favorite vehicle, It is really a nice and expensive car, you have taken a wise decision rather than spending 300 rupees for a ride. All the best

 3 years ago 

Thank you, cabs in Oman are really expensive, you cannot afford to take it on a regular basis like in India.

👍👍👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59204.66
ETH 2526.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52