Preventive MedicinesteemCreated with Sketch.

in Healthy Steemlast year

Steemit Thumbnails.png

Designed in Canva


How do you define Preventive Medicine?


If I were to describe preventive medicine in layman’s terms, I’d say it’s that branch of medicine where doctors and healthcare professionals provide advice and education to keep people healthy and ward off diseases. It’s all about staying one step ahead of diseases and waving them goodbye before they even think of knocking on your door. After all, isn’t it wiser to prevent a disease than to treat it?

appointment-hospital.jpg

Image by pressfoto on Freepik

It's fantastic that nowadays doctors don't just treat illnesses; they also advise on living a healthy life. Typical advice includes: regularly exercise, eat a balanced diet, quit smoking and drinking, reduce stress, and get enough sleep. All these things bolster our immunity and reduce the risk of heart and other diseases. Doctors also place significant emphasis on screening and tests for conditions like blood pressure, diabetes, and cancer. This allows for early detection, which can make treatment more manageable.


Do you believe that an annual medical check-up is essential? Please elaborate on your viewpoint.


Absolutely! In my book, getting yourself checked out at least once a year is both crucial and beneficial. It’s like taking a sneak peek into how your health is doing and nipping any potential health issues in the bud.

Life's getting busier by the day. We're all wrapped up in work and the hustle to make a buck, often neglecting our health. But once in a while, it's important to pause and give our bodies a once-over. Going for an annual check-up helps us understand the overall state of our health.

If there’s an issue with blood pressure, sugar levels, or cholesterol, the doctor can guide us. Plus, there’s the chance of catching hidden illnesses like cancer or heart disease early on. And remember, honesty is the best policy during these check-ups. The more transparent we are about our diet and lifestyle, the better advice we can get from our doctors.


In your opinion, what is the primary goal of Preventive Medicine? Please provide reasons to support your answer.


The ultimate goal of preventive medicine is pretty straightforward: to keep us hale and hearty and prevent diseases from getting a foot in the door. It’s all about being proactive rather than reactive.

group-scientists-wearing-lab-coat-working-laboratory-while-examining-biochemistry-sample-test-tube-scientific-instruments.jpg

Image by DCStudio on Freepik

If we take care of ourselves right from the start, there’s no need for doctor visits or popping pills. We can steer clear of severe health conditions. That’s why there’s a whole lot of screening going on, like blood tests, cancer tests, eye and dental check-ups. It’s like having a roadmap to your health - you know exactly where you stand and what you need to do to keep illnesses at bay.

Let's not forget vaccines – a significant aspect of preventive medicine. With vaccines, we can avoid deadly diseases like polio, tuberculosis, and measles. Hence, doctors always stress the importance of getting vaccinated on time.

Preventive medicine also stresses health education. This involves spreading the word about good nutrition, exercise, and the importance of mental well-being. Informing everyone about proper hygiene and sanitation is crucial. It's all about ensuring that everyone has the knowledge to look after themselves properly.


Do you regularly undergo any medical examinations? If so, could you explain the reasons behind it?


Thank God, I'm currently in good shape with no serious health concerns. However, there was a time, between 2008 and 2013, when I had to see a doctor every six months. Those of you who regularly follow my blog might've guessed what I'm referring to – yes, it's about my eyesight issues (more details in the post linked below).

thumbnail a perfect view.pngLINK TO THE POST

But to sum it up here: my eyesight started deteriorating in 2008, and I had to change my glasses every six months. I was short-sighted and had astigmatism. So, twice a year, I had to go for an eye exam. Thankfully, I underwent laser eye surgery in 2013. Now, my vision is good, if not perfect, and I don’t need glasses anymore!


I trust that you found the information in my article to be valuable. 😊


I would like to invite @patjewell, @josevas217, @radleking, @paholags, @malikusman1, @irawandedy, @radjasalman and @muzack1 to join this contest through this link, if they have not already taken part in it.


blog footer.png

Author: @waqarahmadshah | Date: 20-Oct-2023 | Achievement 1
Sort:  
 last year 

Hello @waqarahmadshah
Thank you very much for the mention.
Prevention is the ideal, it is what gives the greatest possibility of reaching old age and being whole, being able to take care of ourselves despite advanced age.
I think we have to become more aware of this, of prevention, because it prevents loss of time, money, and allows us to enjoy our lives more and better.

 last year 

Thanks for the comment, my friend. 🙂

 last year 

Going to a doctor on time, we are being cautious and we can avoid suffering from certain diseases. Medical checkups are not only treatment but also advice.It's good that you don't suffer from any illness and are complete.I wish you luck Thanks for your participation!!

 last year 

Thanks for stopping by my post. 🙂

 last year 

As the old saying goes, prevention is better than cure.

It is wonderful to know that you are one of the lucky ones whose eyes could be fixed with laser surgery. My husband is also one of them.
As for me, I am not so lucky. I only have 60% eyesight in my one eye due to my son shooting a play airplane, and it hid me in the eye. Boom!
Now I get special glasses from Israel every two years. Luckily, I only wear them when I am working on my computer or driving.

Good luck with the contest, and thank you for the invitation.

 last year 

Thanks for stopping by my post. Plus, I'm sorry to hear about your eye incident; it must have been tough.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67751.75
ETH 2620.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72