Contest - "A Perfect View"steemCreated with Sketch.

in Healthy Steem8 months ago

thumbnail a perfect view.png

Designed in Canva


Eyes are a tremendous blessing from God. Without them, our lives would feel incomplete. They are among our most precious assets; without them, we couldn't see the world. Through our eyes, we perceive colours, recognise shapes, and identify people. Our eyes bring joy when we see our loved ones and marvel at beautiful sceneries. We only truly value them when our vision becomes impaired or when we lose our sight entirely.


What does the phrase ‘‘20/20 vision’’ mean in medical terms?


In medical terms '20/20 vision' means your eyesight is normal. It suggests that what you can see from 20 feet away, someone with normal vision can also see from the same distance. This ratio is also known as the Snellen ratio and helps determine the sharpness of one's vision. For instance, if someone's vision is 15/20, it means that what a person with normal vision can see from 20 feet away, they can only see from 15 feet away.

Most people might have slightly weaker vision, but 20/20 vision is considered the ideal. If someone has 20/15 vision, their eyesight is exceptionally sharp. This means that what a person with normal vision sees from 15 feet away, they can see even from 20 feet away.


Have you ever used glasses?


Yes, I've not only worn glasses for eyesight but also experienced different prescription strengths over roughly 5 years. My story began in 2008, in the 8th grade, when I noticed blurred vision in my right eye. But since my left eye was fine, I didn't feel much different overall. After a while, however, I'd get a mild headache when trying to read the classroom board. When I shared this with my parents, they took me to a doctor. The doctor recommended an eyesight check-up.

Upon testing, it turned out I had -1.75D myopia in my right eye and -0.25D in the left. Myopia is a condition where distant objects appear blurry, while close ones are clear. Regardless, I was prescribed glasses, which felt quite odd at first. I was worried about being teased by friends, but over time I got used to them. However, even with the glasses, my headaches persisted, albeit less intensely.

My old pic.jpg

A snapshot from a decade ago, featuring me with my spectacles. 😁

Around 4 months later, despite wearing glasses, my vision blurred again, leading to another check-up. This time, my prescription had increased - though I don't recall the exact numbers. The doctor explained to my parents that I had Astigmatism. As my eye continued to grow, my prescription would change roughly every 6 months. Once my eye stabilised after turning 18, the condition could be corrected with laser surgery.

Being a science student, I am familiar with astigmatism as I had studied it during my M.Sc in Biochemistry. In simple terms, due to an abnormal cornea shape, light rays don't focus properly on the retina, making things look blurry. For those interested in a detailed explanation, I've shared a link to a video below.


Video Source

By 2013, my prescription had increased significantly. After completing my F.Sc exams, I decided to undergo laser surgery because my vision was so poor I felt almost blind without glasses. The surgery cost me 43000PKR at the time, equivalent to around 900 STEEM.


cost.jpg

An invoice detailing the expenses of my surgical procedure.


eye scan results.jpg

Images showcasing the findings from my eye scan before surgery.


patient data.jpg

An image displaying my patient data from the excimer laser procedure.


Thankfully, since the surgery, I've had no more headaches or eye strain, and it's been almost 10 years. My vision isn't perfect, especially in low light conditions, but it's manageable. During the day, my vision is almost perfect, though at night, lights appear slightly defocused, perhaps due to some residual astigmatism. But overall, I'm content as I don't need to wear glasses anymore.


Do you have any hereditary visual disorders?


Some eye conditions are hereditary, passed from parents to children. Common ones include cataracts and colour blindness. Thankfully, I don't have any such genetic disorder, nor does anyone in our family.


I trust that you found the information in my article to be valuable. 😊


I would like to invite @patjewell, @josevas217, @dove11, @steemdoctor1, @malikusman1, @irawandedy, @chasad75, @harferri, @chant and @heriadi to join this contest through this link, if they have not already taken part in it.


blog footer.png

Author: @waqarahmadshah | Date: 08-Oct-2023 | Achievement 1
Sort:  
Loading...

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @radjasalman



 8 months ago 

Thanks for the support @radjasalman. It really means a lot to me. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55