Steemit Engagement Challenge / S11W2 - “The worst enemy, sugar."

in Healthy Steem11 months ago

Picsart_23-07-31_17-16-12-993_1.jpg

image was designed by me using PicsArt app

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Diabetes which is the result of excessive sugar in the blood, has been one of the deadly diseases around in the world scene. Several developmental steps have been taken as a lasting cure to it, but this have proved unsuccessful.

Many drugs have been provided to manage and control it, despite that, many deaths are occurig year round as a result of it.

So how can we protect ourselves from this dangerous illness if possible?

Let me use the contest tips to show how we can do so

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Do you know how much sugar you consume per day?

IMG_20230731_170316_799.jpg

I cannot give a simple direct answer to this. The reason is that most of the staple foods we have in my locality are carbohydrate that eventually breakdown into sucrose or sugar. Food like rice, garri, potatoes recently beans have been added to it. So with this, I may not be able to control the quantity of natural sugar intake that I consume but try as much as possible to reduce the quantity of those foods and in most cases, complement them with fruits.

However, for processed sugar, I can say to a certain extent yes. On an average, I take in about 34 grams of processed sugar daily. Although some days I do not take it at all.

I already know the dangers of taking processed sugar, so I try as much as possible to control its intake and avoid it entirely.

As one who is trying to maintain good health through regular exercises, I try not to take much sugar be it processed or raw sugar. It takes great efforts to loose one kg and as such, I am careful with what I take in.

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Do you have a family member who has problems with diabetes?

Yeah, I had a family member with diabetes. He was my husband's grandfather. I knew him for just a short while because he died the same year I married my husband on September 2007. He was diagnosed of having diabetes as far back as 1983, but lived and controlled it till his death in 2007. I could remember that he only ate unripened plantain as both swallow and as porridge. And he prepared his foods himself till his demise.

Another person I could remember having such problem was my sister's late husband. I lived with my during my higher institution and I was able to observe the man and his diet. He was mainly eating millet, soyabean, corn, raw tomatoes. And he prepared his foods himself too. I couldn't enjoy the foods because they were nearly raw. He was able to manage it till his demise.

Since then, there have not been any family member diagnosed with it again to my knowledge, not even from my own lineage.

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Have you had a problem with sugar?

Personally, I have not had any problem with sugar. I am always alert to my intake of sugar and take natural remedies In the case of so much intake, for instance if I eat cakes and other beverages in big quantities. I chew bitter kola, utazi leaf, I also drink some herbs prepared my me to keep myself safe.

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

What do you think about sugar as the worst enemy?

I think the use of the adjectival phrase worst enemy seems to be very extreme. I say so because, taking in sugar is also important for the development of growing child.

There are some individuals that have low sugar count in their blood which is also deadly since it kills silently and can be mistaken for another illness. In this instance, the patient is advised to take processed sugar to quickly recover and regain strength.

IMG_20230731_170355_918.jpg

I think the basic thing is that if we have a history of diabetes in our bloodline, we should seriously consider our intake of both natural and processed sugar.

Additionally for type 2 diabetes, we can always check to identify when pancreas is not doing ok. In my locality, one way of doing this is by urinating on the ground and wait to see if ants will cluster around it due to the sugar in the urine.

It is almost 80% true even when you go for orthodox diagnosis.

So like any other substance, if taken in excess, it is no more healthy. Abstinence can also be dangerous.

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Conclusion

Sugar is important for our daily living. It provides us with the needed energy to carry out work. Not having sugar in our body is deadly and excess of it is also very bad.

So we need to balanced in our intake of sugar while also understanding our body's need for it.

I invite @mesola, @goodybest and @wilmer1988 to take part. Here is the contest link. Good luck to you all

All images are my properties!

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

This is my introductory post here

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

@tipu curate

;) Holisss...

--
This is a manual curation from the @tipU Curation Project.

Wow, what an excellent post. Sorry for the lost of your loved ones, I'm glad you know that excessive intake of sugar is bad, haven known your healthy lifestyle I know you will not joke with an enemy of your health. I wish you Goodluck ma.

Loading...
 10 months ago 

Sugar was the cause of many diseases, including obesity, diabetes, and tooth decay. As a result, it is our responsibility to limit our sugar intake.

 10 months ago 

its so alarming how many of us do not pay much attention to our sugar intake and levels alike.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66209.23
ETH 3496.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16