Choices! What will it be? #54

in Steem For Ladies5 months ago
“We’re running late already!” my mum screamed from her bedroom.

Sometimes, I really don’t understand that woman. My sister and I have spent the past fifteen minutes waiting for her to finish wearing her make-up, yet she complained that we were late because she thought we were still in our room.

girl-5087960_1280.jpg
Source

My sister’s eyes and mine locked, and we just burst out laughing. I’m sure she must’ve heard our laughter, which made her ask for two minutes more to blend her make-up. My mother is very stylish, which is one thing about her that I’ve tried so hard to imitate but keep failing at. She doesn’t wear too much make-up, but would never forget her foundation, eyeliner, and how to have a well-shaped charming brows.

Me? It was always my dress, studs(earrings), and my lip balm. This was indeed good for a nineteen year old, like me.

My sister on the other hand was just like my mother. In fact, my mother would sometimes beg her to reduce the weight of the make-up she wears, and the piercings she had started getting all over her body.
This did not in any way affect the respect and unity in the family. My mum had actually promised on taking us on a tour round the town that evening.

My sister and I have been home for two weeks since we finished our exam, mum was worried we’d be bored to death. But who gets bored these days having a good internet connection and enough data to go online to learn, and be entertained?

We finally stepped out after all the dilly-dally and trust me, we had fun. I don’t do much of sugary stuff, but I had to break out of it this evening. As we drove further, drivers were becoming crazy about who to go first, and this was us at the traffic.
I’m super excited for the gift of the person we have for a mother. She is extremely careful when it comes to driving—firm and steady.

I enjoyed every part of this short tour, the cool breeze, the sight of people hustling for survival, children returning from school with their schoolbags on their heads to prevent the scorching sun. It was taking too long here in the traffic, but we had no other option than being patient.

I saw what looked like a little gathering on the right hand of the road and looked even closer. It was clearly a man on the ground begging a lady for some money. The sight wasn’t strange to me. I have seen beggars doing so countless times, but this one was exceptional.

From my view of what was happening, a lady had respectfully declined on giving the disabled man what he wanted, but the man was unwilling to let her go.

He was holding unto the helms of her dress which attracted the attention of a few people. I drew my mum’s attention to the scene, and my sister joined us soon.

Before we knew it, he grabbed one of her shoes from her legs. This was not becoming funny anymore. The man that held the woman’s hand started fuming, I suppose that was the husband. After all efforts proved abortive, the husband dragged her hand to leave, but she resisted, and went back for her shoe. When she got there, she landed a sound slap on the beggar’s right cheek. We were shocked, but impressed, that my sister laughed out loud.

traffic-7272520_1280.jpg
Source

The moment she took her hand off his cheek, she fell to the ground. The people rushed to get her, and at the same time obstructing my view. I tried bending over to see what was happening, but it was now harder. My mum opened the roof for us to have a better view of it since she was behind the wheel.

My sister made it much easier by asking me to view it.
The woman had been on the ground for the past four minutes, unable to stand to her feet. Was she crippled now? “Yes,” a pedestrian said looking back at me.

From my view again, the husband begged the beggar to do something. The beggar at this point wore a hard face, while the woman was crying.

As if that was not stunning enough, the wife leaned forward after so much persuasion and pressure to where the beggar was, and their lips met. “What?” My mother screamed.

This was it all, people started running, why? The beggar had vanished into the thin air with the lady.
Get in the car! My mum shouted. At this point, everybody was scrambling for their life. Before we knew it, my mum had swayed to another route, and we all prayed to get home safely with the speed she drove with for the first time.

It all happened at the traffic.

Would like to use this time to thank @patjewell for organizing this beautiful contest here. I’m also inviting @okere-blessing and @bela90 to participate in this contest.

Thanks for reading through.

Sort:  
 5 months ago 

LoL, 90 percent of woman love wearing makeups just like your mom so I think we means I used to make up. The beggar should have let go of the woman if she didn't have any intention of giving what he wanted, out of seriousness he fell down the woman which I believe she felt embarrassed, that was sad. The woman felling down I don't understand does it means that the beggar was not an ordinary person. I enjoy reading your post and I wish you the very best of luck.

 5 months ago 

Thank you so much.
The beggar wasn't ordinary. He disappeared with the woman.

 5 months ago 

Really 😁

 5 months ago 
Club Status#Club5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI[ ? ] ( 0.00 % self, 28 upvotes, 18 accounts, last 7d )
Steemladies0%
Burnsteem250%
AI contentHuman
Word count846
MOD's Observations/suggestions

greetings friend,
Thank you very much for your informative post. Thank you very much for participating in the contest and best of luck to you.

I would suggest you to refrain from self voting. Make proper use of your voting power by voting for other users.

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available. Vote here

 5 months ago 

Thank you.

 5 months ago 

Oh my word! You have a vivid imagination, young lady! (•ิ‿•ิ)

It makes me wonder how many stories there are to be told each day that are written in traffic.

Good luck with the contest!

 5 months ago 

Thank you so much, ma'am.
I look forward to writing more imaginative stories in your contests.

 5 months ago 

That will be awesome!!
I'm looking forward to them. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61180.86
ETH 2456.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57